Skip to main content


Sheridan Libary and Learning Services logo

All Guides | Library Home | Chat with Us

APA for Business Sources: Home

Common business citation examples

Note to Sheridan students

The APA Style Guide for Business Sources has been modified from the APA Manual of Style (6th ed.) for Sheridan's Pilon School of Business students. Your professor may have different citing expectations than the rules outlined below. Always check at the beginning of term and before starting assignments that the citing rules you are using are appropriate for your class.

Where did you find the information?

Academic Search Complete

Referencing multiple authors
Rubaltelli, E., Lotto, L., Ritov, I., & Rumiati, R. (2015). Moral investing: Psychological motivations and implications.
     Judgment & Decision Making, 10(1), 64-75. 
     Retrieved from http://login.library.sheridanc.on.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com.library.sheridanc.on
In-text quote
(Rubaltelli, Lotto, Ritov, & Rumiati, 2015, p. #)
In-text paraphrase
(Rubaltelli, Lotto, Ritov, & Rumiati, 2015)
Subsequent citations by the same 3-5 authors (for more details: http://blog.apastyle.org/apastyle/2011/11/the-proper-use-of-et-al-in-apa-style.html )
(Rubaltelli et al., 2015) or (Rubaltelli et al., 2015, p. #)

Books24X7database

E-Book 
Sykes, M., Malik, A. N., & West, M. D. (2012). Stories that move mountains: Storytelling and visual
     design for persuasive presentations
[Books24x7version]. 
     Retrieved from http://common.books24x7.com.library.sheridanc.on.ca/toc.aspx?bookid=51255
In-text quote
(Sykes, Malik, & West, 2013, p. #)

 

Video 
Port, M. (2011). Develop your personal brand identity [Video file]. 
     Retrieved from http://common.books24x7.com.library.sheridanc.on.ca/toc.aspx?bookid=42004
In-text quote with timestamp 
(Port, 2011, 1:16)

Business eBook Collection database 

E-Book 
Noble, D. F. (2012). Gallery of best resumes: A collection of quality resumes by professional resume writer.  
     Retreived from:http://login.library.sheridanc.on.ca/login?
     url=http://search.ebscohost.com.library.sheridanc.on.ca/login.
     aspx?direct=true&db=e020mna&AN=395431&site=ehost-live&scope=site 
In-text quote
(Noble, 2012, p. #)

Business Economics and Theory Collection

Article in a database
Widdicombe, E. (2015, February 2). The athleisure class. The New Yorker, 90(46), 19. 
     Retrieved from http://go.galegroup.com.library.sheridanco.on.ca/ps/i.do?id=
     GALE%7CA414154521&v=2.1&u=ko_acd_shc&it=r&p=ppBE&sw=w&asid=177a608588b9819b9751e8321fd6fe58
In-text quote
(Widdicombe, 2015, para. #)

Business File ASAP

Article in a database with a permalink (no DOI)
Macheel, T. (2015, June 22). Banks should welcome bitcoin clients, Canadian lawmakers say.
     American Banker, 1(94). Retrieved from
     http://go.galegroup.com.library.sheridanc.on.ca/ps/i.do?id=GALE%7CA418563197&v=2.1&u=
     ko_acd_shc&it=r&p=ITBC&sw=w&asid=94d64ee3aa2b594fe8d3279b7644fba9
In-text paraphrase
(Macheel, 2015)

 

 

 

Business Source Complete

Referencing a working paper with three authors
Dokyun, L., Hosanagar, K., & Nair, H. S. (2014). The effect of social media marketing content on
     consumer engagement: Evidence from Facebook. Working Papers (Faculty) – Stanford
     Graduate School Of Business
. 1-51. Retrieved from http://login.library.sheridanc.on.ca/login?url=
     http://search.ebscohost.com.library.sheridanc.on.ca/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bth&AN=
     98717234&site=ehost-live&scope=site
In-text quote
(Dokyun, Hosanagar, &Nair, 2014, p. #)

 

Referencing an article  with a DOI
van Dam, J., & van de Velden, M. (2015). Online profiling and clustering of Facebook users. 
     Decision Support Systems, 70, 60-72. doi:10.1016/j.dss.2014.12.001     
       
In-text quote
(van Dam & van de Velden, 2015, p. #)  

Business Source Complete- Business Searching Interface

Referencing a Company Profile Report or SWOT analysis (SWOTs can also be found in MarketLine's company profiles reports)
MarketLine. (2014, December 12). Company profile: Unilever. Retrieved from
     http://search.ebscohost.com.library.sheridanc.on.ca/login.aspx?direct=true&db=dmhls&AN=E00C82E3-8DA1-4F1A-
     B0A1-046B87A8C4BC&site=bsi-live                   
In-text quote
(MarketLine, 2014, p. #) 

 

Referencing an Industry Report
BMI Research. (2015). Canada telecommunications report Q3. Retrieved from
     http://search.ebscohost.com.library.sheridanc.on.ca/login.aspx?
     direct=true&db=bth&AN=103735135&site=bsi-live
                    
In-text quote
(BMI Research, 2015, p. 2)      

 

Referencing a Country Profile Report                                                                               
India Country Monitor. (2015, July 24). Country reports- India. Retrieved
     from http://search.ebscohost.com.library.sheridanc.on.ca/login.aspx?
     direct=true&db=bth&AN=108695546&site=bsi-live       
           
In-text quote
(India Country Monitor, 2015, p. 4)

CARDonline

Referencing advertising rates for a Magazine
Kostuch Media Ltd. (2017). Hotelier. Retrieved from CARDonline database.       
In-text citation
(Kostuch Media Ltd., 2017)   

CultureGrams

Referencing a Country Profile​ (Retrieval date is included because Country profiles can be updated several times a year.)
Proquest. (2015). Federative Republic of Brazil. Retrieved current date from CultureGrams World Edition database. 
In-text quote identifying by section
(Proquest, 2015, Land and Climate section, para #)   

eMarketer PRO

Referencing a statistical chart
eMarketer. (2018, January). Smartphone users by country: 2018, millions [Chart].
     Retrieved from eMarketer database.
In-text quote
(eMarketer, 2018)

Euromonitor International's Passport database

Referencing a full report (Attribution given to Euromonitor. Analyst acknowledged within body of work. See Policy http://www.euromonitor.com/press-faqs-and-citation-policy
Euromonitor International. (2015, August 19). Consumer lifestyles in Canada. Retrieved from Euromonitor Passport database.
In-text quote using section title
(Euromonitor International, 2015, Consumer Segmentation section, para. 3) 

Factiva

Referencing a company snapshot
FactSet Research Systems Inc. (2015). NIKE, Inc.company snapshot. 
     Retrieved from Factiva database.
In-text quote using section
(FactSet Research Systems Inc, 2015, Stock Price Activity section)

FactSet

Broker Estimates report
FactSet Research Systems Inc. (n.d.). Apple, Inc.: Broker estimates. Retrieved January 16, 2013, from FactSet database.
Comparative Statistics report
FactSet Research Systems. (n.d.). Apple, Inc.: Comparative statistics. Retrieved January 16, 2013, from FactSet database.
Targets and Ratings report
FactSet Research Systems. (n.d.). Apple, Inc.: Targets and ratings. Retrieved January 16, 2013, from FactSet database.
10-K report
Apple, Inc. (2011, September 24). Form 10-K. Retrieved from FactSet database.

Gartner Research

Referencing a Report (attribution given to Gartner as specified in their policies section)
Gartner, Inc.(2013, July 23). Hype cycle for digital marketing, 2013
     Retrieved from Gartner Research database.
In-text quote
(Gartner, 2013, para. 4)


IBIS World 

Referencing an Industry Report
Alvarez, A. (2015, September). IBISWorld industry report72221bCA: Coffee & snack shops in Canada.
     Retrieved from IBISWorld database.
In-text quote
(Alvarez, 2015, Industry at a Glance section)

Lynda.com

Referencing a Video Tutorial
Taylor, D. (2013, August 06). Excel 2013: charts in depth [Lynda.com online course]. 
     Retrieved from www.Lynda.com/Excel-tutorials/Excel-2013-Charts-Depth-13538-2.html
In-text quote
(Taylor, 2013, 1:45)
 

 

MarketResearch.com

Reference for an Industry Profile
Packaged Facts. (2014, September). Natural and Organic Foods and Beverages in Canada.   
     Retrieved from MarketResearch.com Academic database.
In-text paraphrase
(Packaged Facts, 2014)

Mergent Online

Reference for an Industry Profile
Mergent, Inc. (2015, July). North American Banking Sectors. Retrieved from Mergent Online database.
In-text paraphrase
(Mergent, 2015)

 

Reference for a Country Profile
Mergent, Inc. (2014). Country Profile: Belgium. Retrieved from Mergent Online database.
In-text paraphrase
(Mergent, 2014)

 

Reference for an Equity Report (e.g. Annual Report or 10K)
Microsoft Corporation. (2014). Annual report 2014. Retrieved from Mergent Online database. 
In-text paraphrase
(Microsoft, 2014)

PMB Product Data

Referencing a Report 
Print Measurement Bureau. (2015). Table. Personally used in past 30 days, yes. 
     PMB Spring 2015 Demographics Report:Restaurants. Retrieved from PMB database.
In-text paraphrase
(Print Measurement Bureau, 2015)

Notes:

  • Include the category where your information was retrieved (e.g. Cat Litter).
  • Include the date as the categories may change yearly.
  • If you are retrieving information from the "graph it" feature, include the form of the data after the title. Example: Personally used in past 30 days, yes. [Graph].
  • If you are citing more than one report from the same year, see the Tips page for help.

PrivCo

Referencing a Report (Retrieval date is included because Country profiles can be updated several times a year.)

PrivCo. (2015, May 8). McCain Foods Ltd.  Retrieved August 27, 2015 from PrivCo database. 

In-text paraphrase

(PrivCo, 2015)

Notes:

  • Download the PDF to see the date the report was created.
  • Include the ‘retrieved’ date, as the information will change over time. 
  • If you are citing more than one report from the same year, see the Tips page for help. 

ProQuest Business Collection

Referencing a journal article

Harris, R. (2013). All jacked... down? Canadian Grocer, 127(3), 18-19. 

     Retrieved from http://search.proquest.com/docview/1355505126?accountid=3455

In-text paraphrase
(Harris, 2013)
Referencing a newspaper article
Saunders, D. (2015, August 25). China's fever, everyone's disease. The Globe and Mail, p. A12. 
     Retrieved from http://search.proquest.com/docview/1706394434?accountid=3455
In-text paraphrase
(Saunders, 2015)
​Referencing a company profile
Canadean. (2014). Lululemon Athletica, inc. - company capsule. Basingstoke: Progressive Digital Media. 
     Retrieved from http://search.proquest.com/docview/1552911056?accountid=3455
In-text paraphrase
(Canadean, 2014, para. #).

 

 

SimplyMap

Referencing a data set report
Environics Analytics. (2014). Household spending: Food. Average total expenditure.
     Retrieved from SimplyMap database.
In-text paraphrase
(Environics Analytics, 2014)

For more information and examples, see: How do I cite SimplyMap data?


Statista

Referencing a chart, infographic, etc.
Statista provides APA citations for all reports, graphics, etc.
Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada. (n.d.). Retail sales of pet food in Canada from 2006 to 2016, by type (in million Canadian dollars)*. In Statista - The Statistics Portal. Retrieved from http://www.statista.com.library.sheridanc.on.ca/statistics/452498/retail-sales-of-pet-food-by-type-in-canada/
In-text paraphrase
(Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada, 2016)

 


Statistics Canada Citation Guide

How to Cite Statistics Canada Products​
"This guide has been developed for authors, editors, researchers, academics, students, librarians and data librarians. It describes, in three steps, how to build bibliographic references when citing Statistics Canada products and materials."
You will need to adapt the Statistics Canada citation examples, which follow their own in-house citation style, to APA format.
Reference example
Statistics Canada. 2009. How to Cite Statistics Canada Products: Statistics Canada Catalogue no. 12-591-X.
  Ottawa. Retrieved from url
 

 

 

 

Thomson One

Referencing a company report
GlobalData. (2015, September 14). Microsoft Corporation (MSFT): Financial and strategic SWOT analysis review.
     Retrieved from Thomson One database.
In-text quote
(GlobalData, 2015, p. 3)

Vault

Referencing a job posting
Halton Healthcare Services. (2015, October 1). Medical Laboratory Assistant full time: Posting # 2015-764897. Indeed.com
        Retrieved October 6, 2015 from Vault database.
In-text quote
(Halton Healthcare Services, 2015, Qualifications section)

 

Referencing a Vault Guide (Ebook within the database)
Montoya, D., & Voitle, J. (2012). Vault finance interviews practice guide [PDF format].
     Retrieved from  http://access.vault.com/recordurl.aspx?nid=9781581318678gp&wid=257214
In-text quote
(Montoya & Voitle, 2015, p. #)

 

Referencing a profession description 
 

 

Vividata (previously called PMB)

Referencing a Report 
Print Measurement Bureau. (2015). Table. Personally used in past 30 days, yes. 
     PMB Spring 2015 Demographics Report:Restaurants. Retrieved from PMB database.
In-text paraphrase
(Print Measurement Bureau, 2015)

Notes:

  • Include the category where your information was retrieved (e.g. Cat Litter).
  • Include the date as the categories may change yearly.
  • If you are retrieving information from the "graph it" feature, include the form of the data after the title. Example: Personally used in past 30 days, yes. [Graph].
  • If you are citing more than one report from the same year, see the Tips page for help.

PrivCo

Referencing a Report (Retrieval date is included because Country profiles can be updated several times a year.)

PrivCo. (2015, May 8). McCain Foods Ltd.  Retrieved August 27, 2015 from PrivCo database. 

In-text paraphrase


WARC

Referencing an article
Cook, V. (2015). Culture vulture, luxury edition 05. Retrieved from Warc database.
Referencing an annual report on a company website
Loblaw Companies Limited. (2015). 2015 Annual report: Management's discussion and analysis section. Retrieved from http://www.loblaw.ca/files/doc_financials/2015/Q2_MD-A_Sedar_22-Jul-15.pdf 
In-text quote
(Loblaw Companies Limited, 2015, Annual Report)

 

Referencing a page on a website
Loblaw Companies Limited. (2011). Mission and values. Retrieved from http://www.loblaw.ca/English/About-Us/mission-and-values/default.aspx 
In-text quote
(Loblaw Companies Limited, 2011, Mission)

To see many more examples, and to get more help, please refer to one of the official APA Style websites below.

Common Terms

APA - American Psychological Association. APA style guide.

Annotated Bibliography

A bibliography with a brief description and/or evaluation of each source listed. See Purdue OWL for more information and help.

Cite/Citing

Giving credit or referencing the sources of information that have contributed to your work. Any ideas that are quoted, summarized, paraphrased must be cited, and any images, charts, graphics, tables. etc. See APA Style for more information.

Corporate author

A web site, article or other information source published by an organization or corporation, with no individual author (writer) name provided.

DOI

A form of permanent link (see above) a "digital object identifier" which points to an online book, article, etc. If available, the DOI will be provided with the article or information source. Example, DOI: 10.1177/2329488414560107. See APA Style for more information.

In-text citation

A brief notation within the text that leads the reader to the complete documentation, in your References, of the source used. See APA Style for more information.

Journal

A periodical covering topics of interest to specific industries or professions (example: Journal of Business and Accounting).

Paraphrase

           https://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/563/01/

Periodical

- published with a fixed interval between the issues or number. Journals, newspapers and magazines are all types of periodicals.

Permalink / Permanent Link

A URL or web address that will consistently point to a specific information source in a database.Permanent Links are provided by databases including ProQuest, Business Source Complete, and LexisNexis

Publication title

The name of a periodical, journal, newspaper or magazine, e.g. Wall Street Journal, Globe & Mail, Journal of Business Case Studies.

Publisher

The organization who publishes a journal, newspaper, periodical, book or magazine title, e.g. Harvard University Press, Fast Company, Inc., Rogers Media Inc.

Quote

           https://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/563/01/

References 

A list of sources that you you cited (using in-text citations) during in your research, and containing the information needed to locate the exact item. See APA Style for more information. http://www.apastyle.org/learn/quick-guide-on-references.aspx

Scholarly/peer reviewed journal/article

An article in a scholarly journal (published by university or academic, research or professional organizations) which has been reviewed and evaluated by experts in the subject. See this page for more information.

Summarize

           https://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/563/01/

Title or Document Title

The name of an article or report, contained in a periodical, e.g. "Barrick scraps co-president model as top miner retires", an article in the Globe and Mail newspaper.

TIPS

How to Cite Direct Quotations

How to Cite Articles With the Same Authors and Same Year

 

Loading ...

Co-author: Elizabeth Schembri