Skip to main content

Mobile Apps & Sites for Research

Download Instructions

To access any of the below mobile sites, click on the "Access mobile site" link.

To download any of the below apps, please follow these simple steps.

FIRST:  Create a personal account on the database site before downloading the app (this step is not required for databases that are open to the public).

  1. Go to Database A-Z and find the database in the list.
  2. Log in with your Sheridan username and password.
  3. Create an individual account (not associated with your Sheridan ID) - usually found in the top right corner of the database site.

NEXT:  Download the FREE app from the appropriate app store for your device.

THEN:  Use your newly created personal account to log on to the mobile app.

EMAIL: If prompted to provide an email address, please use @sheridancollege.ca

Icon Legend

Blackberry logo

Mobile site for most devices Mobile app for iOS  Mobile app for Android Mobile app for Blackberry

Books24x7

Books 24x7 icon

Books 24x7
Access over 29,000 ebooks covering business, engineering
and IT topics.  See the Books 24x7 Guide for details.

There is no app for mobile devices.  However, you can add
a Books 24x7 icon to your device's home screen. This icon
will link directly to the mobile site. Learn more

Access mobile site 

 

ebrary

eBrary logo
 
eBrary (BlueFire app)
Browse, search, and read items from our Ebrary e-book
collections using the BlueFire app.  Number of permitted 
users varies by title.
Learn more

Download for iOS 

Download for Android 

Note: As of August 2014, support for the eBrary app was discontinued.  To read ebrary books on your mobile device, search eBrary using a web browser and then download books to the Bluefire Reader app.  To download the Bluefire Reader app, click the "Download for iOS" or "Download for Android" links above.

EBSCO eBook Collection

EBSCO eBook Collection logo

EBSCO eBook Collection
Thousands of ebooks.  Multidisciplinary.  Number of
concurrent users varies by title.  Download select titles
for 3 days. Learn more

Download for iOS 

Download for Android 

Note: When logging into the EBSCO eBook Collection app, you will be promoted to sign in with an Adobe ID.  This is different from your personal (My EBSCHOhost) account.  To access EBSCO eBooks, first create a free Adobe ID.  Sign in with your new Adobe ID > click "Find library" > Sign in with your My EBSCHOhost account.  To create your My EBSCOhost account, follow the first step in the Download Instructions above. 

HathiTrust

HathiTrust Digital Library
A partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a
collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around
the world. Open to the public.

Access mobile site 

Knovel

Knovel logo

My Knovel ToGo
Over 1000 ebooks and data covering a wide breadth of
engineering topics. Learn more

Download for iOS 

Download for Android 

Project Gutenberg

Project Gutenberg logo

Project Gutenberg
Over 38,000 public-domain ebooks. Multidisciplinary.
Open to the public.

Access mobile site 

Download for iOS 

Download for Android 

Safari Books Online

Safari Books Online logo

Safari To Go
Over 12,400 technology, digital media, and business books
and videos online. Up to 20 users at a time.

Access mobile site 

Note:  Safari offers mobile apps for iOS and Android devices. However, these apps are not compatible with the library's subscription.