Get Started Here
You can browse or search for journal articles in a number of ways:
- Search the Library. Our primary search box searches our online databases and print collection. To find journal articles only, filter your results to view just Articles.
- Search specific databases. Databases include all types of articles and reports from journals & other sources. Recommended databases are listed below.
- Search specific journals. Find a journal in your subject area and search just that publication. Recommended journals are listed below.
- Browse our shelves for hard-copy journals.
Review the Search Strategies guide for tips searching for your topic.
Recommended Databases
This is a selection of the best databases we recommend to use for Media Arts research.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowEBSCO
Over 8500 full-text journals; more than half are peer-reviewed. Multi-disciplinary.
Permitted Uses
- Art & Architecture SourceArt Source contains 640 full-text journals, over 63,040 images, plus 225 full-text e-books. Topics cover a broad range of art-related subjects from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design.
- CBCA Reference and Current EventsThis collection contains Canadian periodicals from the humanities, social sciences, sciences, and professions. Other magazines focus on opinion, public policy, children/youth, lifestyles, arts and culture, health, regional concerns, etc.
- Electric LibraryAccess a broad range of full-text and graphical content including magazines, newspapers, reference books, transcripts, and audio/video titles, plus thousands of pictures and maps.
- Expanded Academic ASAPThis database provides over 3,200 full-text publications with 1900 peer-reviewed journals that provide balanced coverage in subject areas such as social sciences, business, health, science, technology, arts, and the humanities.
- Film and Television Literature IndexFilm & Television Literature Index™ with full-text is an online tool for film and television research. It is a comprehensive bibliographic and full-text database covering the entire spectrum of television and film. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
- International Bibliography of Theatre and DanceThis database provides access to a fully indexed and cross-referenced databank of over 60,000 articles. Documents include journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertation abstracts on aspects of theatre and performance from all over the world. Subjects include dance, drama, film, mime and more.
- JStor - Arts & Sciences III CollectionThis database contains 150 full-text titles. Our subscription includes titles in African studies, anthropology, architecture, art history, Asian studies, education, women’s studies, film, folklore, history, Jewish studies, language and literature, Latin American studies, Middle East studies, music, performing arts, philosophy, and religion. JSTOR offers high-resolution scanned images of journal issues as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated.
- Pop Culture eCollectionThis customized collection provides useful information for the social sciences, history, art, and liberal arts. This collection is made up of 100 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals which are updated daily. Titles include: MacLean's, Newsweek, Vogue, Journal for the Psychoanalysis of Culture & Society, amongst many others.
Recommended Periodicals
Print Journals
Canadian Screenwriter
CinemaEditor
Hollywood Reporter
Montage
Playback
Shots
eJournals
