Linking to Library Resources: Images

Find step-by-step instructions for:

• Go to the Library Services Website.
• Click Databases A-Z
• Choose ARTstor from the list of databases
• Conduct a search
• Right-click on an image and select Generate image URL from the drop-down menu
• Copy the URL and paste in an appropriate location with the Off-Campus Access prefix

View ArtSTOR's Permitted & Prohibited Uses for displaying images.

Top

• Go to the Library Services Website
• Click Databases A-Z
• Choose Britannica Online from the list of databases
• Click on "Media Collection", then click on "Images"
• Find the image you want to use and click on the title
• Click on the label Share on the upper right-hand side of the screen
• Copy the URL and paste in the appropriate location with the Off-Campus Access prefix

Top

• Go to the Library Services Website
• Click Databases A-Z
• Choose Canada in Context (Gale) from the list of databases
• Click on "Images" above the search box then conduct a search
• Click on the image title
• Copy the Document URL at the bottom of the page and paste in the appropriate location with the Off-Campus Access prefix

Top

EBSCO has two image databases which use the same method for finding the image permalink.

• Art Museum Image Gallery
• Cinema Image Gallery

Art Museum Image Gallery example:

• Go to the Library Services Website
• Click Databases A-Z
• Choose Art Museum Image Gallery from the list of databases
• Conduct a search and hover over the icon beside an article title
• Click on Detailed Record
• Click on View Larger Image
• Copy the URL from the address bar and paste in the appropriate location with the Off-Campus Access prefix

Top

Art Full-Text (EBSCO):

• Go to the Library Services Website
• Click Databases A-Z
• Choose Art Full-Text (EBSCO) from the list of databases
• Conduct a search and hover over the icon beside an article title
• Click on Detailed Record or PDF Full Text
• Click on the label Permalink on the right-hand side of the screen
• Copy the URL and paste in the appropriate location with the Off-Campus Access prefix

Canadian Reference Centre (EBSCO):

• Go to the Library Services Website
• Click Databases A-Z
• Choose Canadian Reference Centre (EBSCO) from the list of databases
• Conduct a search, limiting the Image Quick View Types
• Click on the image icon, then High Resolution Image
• Copy the URL in the address bar and paste in the appropriate location with the Off-Campus Access prefix

View Canadain Reference Centre's Permissions for copyright information

Humanities International Complete (EBSCO):

• Go to the Library Services Website
• Click Databases A-Z
• Choose Humanities International complete (EBSCO) from the list of databases
• Conduct a search, limiting the Image Quick View Types
• Click on the image icon, then High Resolution Image
• Copy the URL in the address bar and paste in the appropriate location with the Off-Campus Access prefix

View Humanities International Complete's Permissions for Copyright Information

Top

The following Gale databases include images:

Academic OneFile, Canadian Periodical Index Quarterly (CPI.Q.), Computer Database, Criminal Justice Collection, Educator's Reference Complete, Fine Arts & Music Collection, Popular Culture Collection.

Gale database example:

• Go to the Library Services Website
• Click Databases A-Z
• Choose Academic OneFile from the list of databases
• Conduct a search, limiting to documents with images
• Click on an image title
• Scroll down to the bottom of the article
• Copy the Document URL and paste in the appropriate location with the Off-Campus Access prefix

Top

Canada in Context:

• Go to the Library Services Website
• Click Databases A-Z
• Choose Canada in Context from the list of databases
• Above the search box click More - Images
• Conduct a search
• Click on an image title
• Scroll down to the bottom of the article
• Copy the Document URL and paste in the appropriate location with the Off-Campus Access prefix

Top

• Go to the Library Services Website
• Click Databases A-Z
• Choose Grove Art Online from the list of databases
• Click on “images”, and search through the alphabetical listing or enter your search term and limit to Images
• Click on the Cite icon on the left-hand side of the screen
• Copy the URL and paste in the appropriate location with the Off-Campus Access prefix

Top

• Go to the Library Services Website
• Click Databases A-Z
• Choose OurOntario Discovery Portal from the list of databases
• Click IMAGE and browse the available topics
• Double-click on desired image (this feature may not be available for all images)
• Copy the URL and paste in the appropriate location

Note: You do not need to add the Off-Campus Access prefix for OurOntario Discovery Portal.

Top

To enable access from off-campus locations, you will need to add the following prefix to the persistent link:

http://login.library.sheridanc.on.ca/login?url=

http://login.library.sheridanc.on.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com

The following databases have image galleries but do not provide persistent links.