Welcome Students!
Using a variety of sources in your writing is an important skill to develop throughout your academic career. As you read through the sources you find, don't just pick the first thing that suits your need! When using a source in your assignment, you should be able to clearly explain to the reader why the source appears in your paper and specifically what it adds to your research topic or argument. This guide provides you with ideas on where to locate resources for your two major assignments in EDUC 25436:
- Group Presentation: Approaches in ECEC
- Visual Representation of a Curriculum Framework
For research and citation help, be sure to check out our Academic Research and Cite it Right guide.
Browse Books
Just getting started on your research? The best place to search the library collections is through Summon. Search by topic, author, title, or genre. Go to Summon
Search Databases
Looking for newspapers, ebooks, or scholarly journal articles? Browse the list of sample collections below, or view Sheridan Library's alphabetical list of database collections. Go to Databases
- Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new window Proquest Over 300 full-text Canadian newspapers from Canada's leading newspaper dailies, including The Globe and Mail, Toronto Star, and more. Part of the ProQuest Central Collection. Permitted Uses
- Ebook Central This link opens in a new window Proquest Thousands of downloadable e-book titles covering a wide range of all academic disciplines. Includes the College Complete Collection, made available by the Colleges eBook Consortium Project. Note: Use Firefox, Chrome or Safari. Edge is not supported by this database. Number of permitted users varies by title. Permitted Uses
- EBSCO Databases (All) This link opens in a new window EBSCO Search across multiple databases from EBSCO at once. Click the check boxes beside the databases you want to search.
- EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window EBSCO Over 250,000 ebooks. Multidisciplinary. Note:Number of concurrent users varies by title. Download select titles for 3 days.Permitted Uses
- Education Source This link opens in a new window EBSCO Over 1,800 journals, more than 550 books and monographs, and numerous education-related conference papers. Permitted Uses
- ERIC This link opens in a new window EBSCO Reports and articles from professional associations, research centers, policy organizations, university presses, the U.S. Department of Education and other government agencies. Permitted Uses
- SpringerLink This link opens in a new window Over 2000 journals, 6,000 perpetual purchase ebooks, and 50 reference works from Springer, a leading scientific, technical and medical publisher. Includes peer-reviewed articles. Permitted Uses
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window Over 220 full-text journals. Multidisciplinary. Permitted Uses
- Sage Research Methods Online This link opens in a new window Sage Over 800 full-text books, reference works, and journal articles as well as teaching datasets and case studies all about research methods and tools. Permitted Uses
Search Theorists
Want to learn more about theorists such as John Locke, Jean-Jacques Rousseau, or Friedrich Froebel to name a few? Sheridan Library's Credo Reference collection has encyclopedias and dictionaries that can help! Go to Credo Reference
Find Approaches
Find Approaches
Here are a few Froebel resources to get you started. For more sources, choose from the list of recommended database collections.
Not sure how to search the library's collections? Check out this sample Summon search.
Here are a few HighScope resources to get you started. For more sources, choose from the list of recommended database collections.
Not sure how to search the library's collections? Check out this sample Summon search.
Here are a few Montessori resources to get you started. For more sources, choose from the list of recommended database collections.
Not sure how to search the library's collections? Check out this sample Summon search.
Here are a few Outdoor Program resources to get you started. For more sources, choose from the list of recommended database collections.
Not sure how to search the library's collections? Check out this sample Summon search.
Here are a few resources for the Project Approach to get you started. For more sources, choose from the list of recommended database collections.
Not sure how to search the library's collections? Check out this sample Summon search.
Here are a few Reggio Emilia resources to get you started. For more sources, choose from the list of recommended database collections.
Not sure how to search the library's collections? Check out this sample Summon search.
Here are a few Unit/Thematic Approach resources to get you started. For more sources, choose from the list of recommended database collections.
Not sure how to search the library's collections? Check out this sample Summon search.
Here are a few Waldorf resources to get you started. For more sources, choose from the list of recommended database collections.
Not sure how to search the library's collections? Check out this sample Summon search.
Here are a few YMCA resources to get you started. For more sources, choose from the list of recommended database collections.
Not sure how to search the library's collections? Check out this sample Summon search.
LinkedIn Learning
Do you want to present like a pro? Linkedin Learning has you covered with over 3,000 videos on computer software, business skills, and design concepts. Here are selected list of video tutorials, or browse LinkedIn Learning. Go to LinkedIn Learning
- Learning Canva From LinkedIn Learning: Canva is an online tool that allows users to choose from hundreds of professionally designed layouts or create their own designs from scratch, for use in presentations, posters, infographics, social media, business cards, and much more.
- Office 365: PowerPoint Essential Training From LinkedIn Learning: Learn how to best create, edit, and share presentations with PowerPoint, the popular presentation platform.
- PowerPoint: Creating an Infographic From LinkedIn Learning: You don't need to use fancy tools to create an infographic. With PowerPoint, you can create a visually interesting and compelling infographic quickly and easily.
- Presenting as a Team From LinkedIn Learning: Strong team presentations are developed and delivered together. While "divide and conquer" seems like an efficient approach, it often isn't effective. This course walks through the crucial aspects of presenting as a team.
- Prezi Essential Training From LinkedIn Learning: Create beautiful, dynamic presentations by using Prezi, the free and powerful cloud-based tool.
- Public Speaking Foundations From LinkedIn Learning: In this course, Laura Bergells offers practical insights that can help presenters prepare, open, deliver, and close their speeches
