Welcome
Sustainable development has become a philosophical and moral imperative in global societies that are struggling with the social, cultural, and environmental costs of unmitigated production and consumption that has dominated much of the past century. Design can play a significant role in mediating relationships between natural, industrial, and cultural systems to satisfy socio-cultural and individual needs while ensuring the well-being of the environment, of communities and of future generations.
The current focus on sustainability within design practice has brought about a reexamination of systems of production and consumption that have had serious impacts and have led to a deterioration of quality of life in many sectors of society.
This research guide provides resources related to sustainable design practice to address both global and local issues that can be positively influenced by design. By focusing on a human-centered systems approach, a participatory, open design process can challenge and expand perceptions of the designer’s role in society now and beyond.
The resources are applicable to many of the design disciplines including graphic design, social marketing, architecture and interior design and urban development.
Get Started Here
You can browse or search for journal articles in a number of ways:
- Search the Library. Our primary search box searches our online databases and print collection. To find journal articles only, filter your results to view just Articles.
- Search specific databases. Databases include all types of articles and reports from journals & other sources. Recommended databases are listed below.
- Search specific journals. Find a journal in your subject area and search just that publication. Recommended journals are listed below.
- Browse our shelves for hard-copy journals.
Review the Search Strategies guide for tips searching for your topic.
Recommended Databases
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowEBSCO
Primarily an index, with full-text for over 10 journals and magazines from the field of environmental studies.
Permitted Uses - Gale In Context: Environmental Studies This link opens in a new windowGale
Over a 1,000 full-text journals, magazines, and newspapers, more than 50 reference sources, and thousands of images, videos and maps related to environmental studies.
Permitted Uses - Material Connexion This link opens in a new windowFeatures a searchable database of 10,000 innovative materials and processes from around the world curated and updated by material scientists at Material ConneXion. Includes many materials with sustainability properties and links to material manufacturers.
Permitted Uses
Recommended Articles from GreenR
Note: not all articles are full text as denoted by the 
icon.
- Biologic architectureRice, M. (2010). Biologic Architecture. Natural Life, (131), 22-27. Retrieved from http://www.naturallifemagazine.com/
- Communicating sustainabilityWeig, G. D. (2010). Communicating Sustainability. Sustainable Facility, 35(4), 30-32. Retrieved fromhttp://www.edcmag.com/SustainableFacilityMove
- Design for adaptability (DFAD)—a new concept for achieving sustainable designKasarda, M. E., Terpenny, J. P., Inman, D., Precoda, K. R., Jelesko, J., Sahin, A., & Park, J. (2007). Design for adaptability (DFAD)—a new concept for achieving sustainable design. Robotics & Computer-Integrated Manufacturing, 23(6), 727-734. doi:10.1016/j.rcim.2007.02.004
- Design responsibility and sustainable design as reflective practice: An educational challengeLeerberg, M., Riisberg, V., & Boutrup, J. (2010). Design responsibility and sustainable design as reflective practice: An educational challenge. Sustainable Development, 18(5), 306-317. doi:10.1002/sd.481
- Designing for destructionKettles, N., & Irwin, T. (2008). Designing for Destruction. Ecologist, 38(6), 47-51. Retrieved from http://www.theecologist.org/
- Exploring relationships between universal design and social sustainable development: Some methodological aspects to the debate on the sciences of sustainabilityVavik, T., & Keitsch, M. M. (2010). Exploring relationships between universal design and social sustainable development: Some methodological aspects to the debate on the sciences of sustainability. Sustainable Development, 18(5), 295-305. doi:10.1002/sd.480
- Lifecycle assessment for sustainable design options of a commercial building in Shanghai.Wang, N., Chang, Y., & Nunn, C. (2010). Lifecycle assessment for sustainable design options of a commercial building in shanghai. Building & Environment, 45(6), 1415-1421. doi:10.1016/j.buildenv.2009.12.004
- Making the user more efficient: design for sustainable behaviourLockton, D., Harrison, D., & Stanton, N. (2008). Making the user more efficient: design for sustainable behaviour. International Journal Of Sustainable Engineering, 1(1), 3-8. doi:10.1080/19397030802131068
- Progressing BEYOND sustainable to regenerative designReed, B. (2007). Progressing BEYOND Sustainable to Regenerative Design. Solar Today, 21(6), 32-35. Retrieved from http://ases.org/solar-today-magazine/
- Resources for sustainable designResources for sustainable design. (2009). Print, 63(3), 22. Retrieved from http://www.printmag.com/
- Sustainable design for a bountiful futureWheeler, B. (2010). Sustainable design for a bountiful future. Green Teacher, (90), 36-43. Retrieved from http://www.greenteacher.com/
- Sustainable urban design: principles to practiceCarmona, M. (2009). Sustainable urban design: principles to practice. International Journal Of Sustainable Development, 12(1), 48-77. doi:10.1504/IJSD.2009.027528
- The characteristics of interior designers who practice environmentally sustainable interior designKang, M., & Guerin, D. A. (2009). The characteristics of interior designers who practice environmentally sustainable interior design. Environment & Behavior, 41(2), 170-184. Retrieved from http://eab.sagepub.com/
- The living principlesHamlett, P., Brink, G., & Destandau, N. (2010). The Living Principles. Communication Arts, 52(1), 56. Retrieved from http://www.commarts.com/
- The state of environmentally sustainable interior design practiceKang, M., & Guerin, D. A. (2009). The state of environmentally sustainable interior design practice. American Journal of Environmental Sciences, 5(2), 179-186. Retrieved from http://thescipub.com/ajes.toc
- The sustain' city guide to: Toronto, Ontario, CanadaThe sustain' city guide to: Toronto, Ontario, Canada. (cover story). (2008). Sustain Magazine, 9(5), 27. Retrieved from http://www.sustainmagazine.com/
- User-centred design for sustainable behaviourWever, R., Van Kuijk, J., & Boks, C. (2008). User-centred design for sustainable behaviour. International Journal of Sustainable Engineering, 1(1), 9-20. doi:10.1080/19397030802166205
- Workspaces that work for people: an interview with Frank BeckerWorkspaces that work for people: an interview with Frank Becker. (2012). Ecos, (169), 1-3. Retrieved from http://www.ecosmagazine.com/
Contact Information
angela.iarocci@sheridanc.on.ca
Faculty of Animation, Arts and Design
Sustainable Design Research Lab (SDRL)
