All Guides: CULT13796G: Languages of the World: Choose a Language

Choose a Language

Browse the following resources to find lists of language from around the world.

Language Lists and Maps

The following organizations provide lists and key information about endangered languages around the world.

Endangered Languages Project
Includes a detailed map of endangered languages, with key stats. The most up to date and comprehensive information on endangered languages as well as language resources being provided by partners. Users may submit information or samples in the form of text, audio or video files.
UNESCO World Atlas of Languages
Browse through the list of endangered languages, or use combinations of search criteria and/or the map to locate and explore endangered languages around the world.
World Oral Literature Project
Includes a comprehensive database of languages at risk. The site documents and disseminates endangered oral literatures.
Endangered Languages Archive
The archive preserves and publishs collections of audio and video recordings, transcriptions and translations, dictionaries, and primers in and of endangered languages created with and by speakers of the endangered languages.
Omniglot
The online encyclopedia of writing systems and languages.

News Articles

Not sure what language to choose? Try exploring the latest newspaper articles by searching for "endangered language". Limit your results by publication date (example: past year) to see the latest developments.

Canadian Newsstream
Over 300 full-text Canadian newspapers from Canada's leading newspaper dailies, including The Globe and Mail, Toronto Star, and more. Part of the ProQuest Central Collection.
International Newsstream
Over 1300 publications covering the field of contemporary news. Part of the ProQuest Central Collection.

CULT13796G: Languages of the World

Faculty Librarian

Choose a Language

Language Lists and Maps

News Articles

Connect with us