Skip to main content


Sheridan Libary and Learning Services logo

Library Home | Using the Library | Doing Research | About the Library | Contact Us Chat with Us

Career Information: Career planning

Resources and services at the Sheridan Career Centre

The Sheridan Career Centre is your starting point for your career search.  The Career Centre can assist in exploring career options and planing further education. 

Career Centre resources:

  • Quick tips for getting your career planning started  
  • Career Cruising is an interactive career planning resource with descriptions of what people do in 600+ different Canadian occupations, plus other career and educational planning tools.  Log into this resource using your current or past Sheridan student or staff ID
  • Career Exploration Micro Course has been created by Sheridan Councillors to walk you through the career exploration and educational planning process
  • Career Councillors are available to current students and Sheridan graduates to help explore career options, set career goals, research labour market information, and plan further education

Other cool Career Centre tools:

  • Idea Generator an online Career Centre tool that helps you understand your career interests, and the Sheridan programs and courses that align with them
  • Program Career Outcome links occupational information (i.e., what you do in the career) and labour market statistics (i.e., pay, outlook, graduate employment rate) for any Sheridan program
  • Optimal Resume a career management platform with a variety of tools for Sheridan students and alumni including the Resume Builder, Letter Builder, Interview Preparation, and Website Builder. Create interactive career materials based on your career goals. 

The Sheridan Library has career planning resources too

Books on career exploration

Researching salaries

Robert Half Canada - Robert Half is an international recruitment firm with operations in Canada.  They publish free annual Salary Survey reports for many countries, including Canada.  Download a salary report for your job sector (i.e., “technology salary guide”) or a country salary guide covering a range of positions in that country.  For 2020, Robert Half published free market salary guides for Canada in 5 professional areas:

Click to download your 2020 salary survey

You may also want to check out these additional Canadian salary resources:

PayScale - Another great free tool that supports searching across a range of countries by position.You may also want to check out these salary resources:

Salary Calculator
Salary Comparison by Canadian City
Perks and Benefits

Salary.com - A great source when searching for US state or city level salaries.  Also contains data for Canada through the Canadian Salary Wizard.  The American reports are more detailed than the Canadian reports, providing some free data as well as personalized salary reports that can be purchased for US$30-$80.  Some of this data may be useful to Canadian job seekers.  See this example of an Accounting Clerk position.

Occupational Outlook Handbook - Created by the US Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) to benchmark salaries in over 500 careers.  Database is searchable and provides landing pages for broad career areas, such as the Computer and Information Technology Careers.

Business Source Complete - This Sheridan Library database includes U.S. salary reports for selected professions.

Search tip:

  • Search as a title  “Report on salary surveys"
  • Add keywords to your search i.e., “paralegals”
  • Under Limit results, check “Full Text”

SNI Companies - A recruiting company similar to Robert Half (see Canada tab).  SNI operate under the name Staffing Now and cover a variety of career areas (accounting, legal, technology, administration).  SNI has a free salary guide that includes salary data for US cities.

Glassdoor – This website is focused on company reputations and branding.  It does contain salary data and allows access to ~5 job descriptions/salaries before moving to a “give to get model” whereby you must input data to continue access.  Salaries are self-reported and should be used as directional data.

InformationWeek - This technology magazine publishes an annual IT Salary Survey based on US respondents in April.  Report is available free of charge from their website with registration.

Robert Half Salary Surveys - Annual salary guides in USD for positions in five areas, Finance & Accounting, Technology, Legal, Office & Administration and Creative & Marketing

AreaVibes - has a Salary Calculator that tool allows you to calculate the impact of cost of living on take home pay in different American cities, which is useful when looking for a job in a new city. 

 

Loading ...

Community resources

Free career exploration tools

CAPS, Finance & HR Librarian

Sandra Shoufani's picture
Sandra Shoufani
Contact:
HMC Campus
905-845-9430 x5732