Use these resources to help you learn more about a range of occupations with a focus on the future outlook for the profession. Other questions these links can answer are: What is a typical day like? What type of education and training are needed?
Canadian Occupational Projection System (COPS) - Projects number of job openings and job seekers by occupation at the national level.
Job Market Trends and News – Search by city, province or for all of Canada.
Job Futures Explore Careers – Find available jobs, wages, outlooks, and job requirements specific to an occupation and location across Canada.
Ontario Job Futures - Current trends and future outlook for about 200 occupations common to Ontario.
University of Manitoba: Exploring Occupations - Detailed descriptions of 200+occupations with excellent links to additional resources for each profile.
Job Futures Quebec - Information on occupations and how they are evolving in Quebec for each of the 520 occupations of the national occupation classification (NOC). Reports are available in both of Canada’s official languages.
Alberta Occupational Profiles - Detailed descriptions of over 1,000 occupations.
Robert Half Canada - Robert Half is an international recruitment firm with operations in Canada. They publish free annual Salary Survey reports for many countries, including Canada. Download a salary report for your job sector (i.e., “technology salary guide”) or a country salary guide covering a range of positions in that country. For 2020, Robert Half published free market salary guides for Canada in 5 professional areas:
Click to download your 2020 salary survey
You may also want to check out these additional Canadian salary resources:
Salary.com - A great source when searching for US state or city level salaries. Also contains data for Canada through the Canadian Salary Wizard. The American reports are more detailed than the Canadian reports, providing some free data as well as personalized salary reports that can be purchased for US$30-$80. Some of this data may be useful to Canadian job seekers. See this example of an Accounting Clerk position.
Occupational Outlook Handbook - Created by the US Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) to benchmark salaries in over 500 careers. Database is searchable and provides landing pages for broad career areas, such as the Computer and Information Technology Careers.
Business Source Complete - This Sheridan Library database includes U.S. salary reports for selected professions.
SNI Companies - A recruiting company similar to Robert Half (see Canada tab). SNI operate under the name Staffing Now and cover a variety of career areas (accounting, legal, technology, administration). SNI has a free salary guide that includes salary data for US cities.
Glassdoor – This website is focused on company reputations and branding. It does contain salary data and allows access to ~5 job descriptions/salaries before moving to a “give to get model” whereby you must input data to continue access. Salaries are self-reported and should be used as directional data.
Robert Half Salary Surveys - Annual salary guides in USD for positions in five areas, Finance & Accounting, Technology, Legal, Office & Administration and Creative & Marketing
AreaVibes - has a Salary Calculator that tool allows you to calculate the impact of cost of living on take home pay in different American cities, which is useful when looking for a job in a new city.