Sheridan Library database best bets
Sheridan Library subscribes to 250+ awesome databases. Here are five starting points for researching Industrial & Labour Relations topics.
- Lexis Advance Quicklaw This link opens in a new windowAccess to Canadian legislation, court cases, tribunals, arbitration decisions, and legal journals. Funded by The Law Foundation of Ontario.
- LawSource (WestlawNext Canada) This link opens in a new windowLabourSource includes Canadian Labour Arbitration (known widely as "Brown & Beatty") & Labour Arbitration cases (LACs) another leading arbitration publication.
- Westlaw LabourSource This link opens in a new windowCanadian Labour Arbitration was written by Donald Brown, David Beatty and Christine Deacon and commonly called “Brown & Beatty. LabourSource includes Brown & Beatty plus Labour Arbitration cases (LACs), another leading arbitration publication.
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new windowInternational law journals and key legal reference texts, such as Canada Supreme Court Reports, and Revised Statutes of Canada.
Permitted Uses - Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowContains over 15,000 news, legal and business sources. Coverage includes news and current events, government, business, medical, legal and general reference.
Permitted Uses
Free web sources
Searching CanLII
Bookshelf
Industrial relations in Canada by Call Number: HD8106.5 .M377ISBN: 9781118878392Publication Date: 4th ed., 2015Print copies available
- Canadian Legal Information Institute (CanLII)Find legislation and case law from the federal and provincial legislature, courts and tribunals.
- LexologyA UK-based aggregator of global law-firm content. TIP: Type your keyword(s) into the search bar at the top of the page and change the Jurisdiction to "Canada" and the Work area to "Employment & Labor".
- Government of Canada. Justice LawsConsolidated federal acts and regulations maintained by the Department of Justice.
- Federal Public Sector Labour Relations BoardWebsite includes several free labour resources including a glossary, fact sheets and annual reports.
Lexis Advanced Quicklaw
Searching QuickLaw
How to log in and find sources
Logging into Lexis Advanced Quicklaw:
- From the A-Z Database page, click on L and then select Lexis Advanced Quicklaw from the database list
- Enter your Sheridan username and password at the Sheridan Single Sign-On webpage
- Click Accept in the Terms of Use box
You can Search Everything from the main search box OR to narrow your search to sources in a specific area of law, such as Labour and Employment Law.
How to Narrow your Search
- Click on the arrow in the right side of the main search box tc activate the Filter menu
- Then narrow your search by content type. Ror example, cases, jurisdiction. or topic
Sample search::
From the Legal Topics tab menu select Labour and Employment Law.
Then in the Content Type tab, click on CA Cases.
You can then add a search term in the free text area, such as "maternity and paternity leave"
