Linking to Library Resources: Videos

Find step-by-step instructions for:

• Go to the Library Services Website
• Click Databases A-Z
• Choose Access Science from the list of databases
• Conduct a search and click on a video
• Click on the Share link below the video, and More
• Click Copy URL and paste in the appropriate location with Off-Campus Access prefix

Top

• Go to the Library Services Website
• Click Online Collections, then Video Collections
• Select Books 24X7 - Leadership Channel
• Conduct a search and click on a video
• Click on the envelope icon above the video
• Click Copy URL and paste in the appropriate location.

Note: You do not need to add the Off-Campus Access prefix for Books 24X7 - Leadership Channel

Top

• Go to the Library Services Website
• Click Online Collections, then Video Collections
• Select CBC Digital Archives
• Conduct a search and click on a video
• Click Citation below the video
• Click Copy URL and paste in the appropriate location.

Note: You do not need to add the Off-Campus Access prefix for CBC Digital Archives

Top

• Go to the Library Services Website 
• Click Online Collections, then Video Collections
• Select Films on Demand
• Conduct a search and click on a title
• Copy the link under Title URL and paste in the appropriate location with Off-Campus Access prefix

Top

The following Gale databases include videos:

Academic OneFile, Canadian Periodical Index Quarterly (CPI.Q.), Computer Database, Criminal Justice Collection, Educator's Reference Complete, Fine Arts & Music Collection, Popular Culture Collection.

Gale database example:

• Go to the Library Services Website
• Click Databases A-Z
• Choose Academic OneFile from the list of databases
• Click Advanced Search
• Conduct a search, limiting by document type: Video file
• Click on a video title
• Scroll down to the bottom of the article
• Copy the Document URL and paste in the appropriate location with the Off-Campus Access prefix

Top

The following Gale databases use an alternate search:

Canada in Context:

• Go to the Library Services Website
• Click Databases A-Z
• Choose Canada in Context from the list of databases
• Above the search box click More - Videos
• Conduct a search
• Click on a video title
• Scroll down to the bottom of the article
• Copy the Document URL and paste in the appropriate location with the Off-Campus Access prefix

Literature Resource Center:

• Go to the Library Services Website
• Click Databases A-Z
• Choose Literature Resource Center from the list of databases
• Click Advanced Search
• Conduct a search, limiting by document type: Video file
• Click on a video title
• Click Play video
• Copy the URL in the address bar and paste in the appropriate location with the Off-Campus Access prefix

Top

• Go to the Library Services Website
• Click Online Collections, then Video Collections
• Click on Lynda.com
• Conduct a search and click on a video
• Click on Share button, above video
• In the pop-up window, click the Link tab
• Copy the "Copy link for someone within Sheridan College" URL and paste in the appropriate location

Note: You do not need to add the Off-Campus Access prefix for Lynda.com.

Top

• Go to the Library Services Website
• Click Online Collections, then Video Collections
• Select NBC Learn
• Conduct a search and click on a video
• Click on Share, under the video in the pop-up window
• Click Copy URL and paste in the appropriate location with the Off-Campus Access prefix.

Top

• Go to the Library Services Website
• Click Online Collections, then Video Collections
• Select NFB Education
• Conduct a search and click on a video
• Copy URL in address bar and paste in the appropriate location

Note: You do not need to add the Off-Campus Access prefix for NFB Education.

Top

• Go to the Library Services Website 
• Click Online Collections, then Video Collections
• Select Nursing - Video on Demand
• Conduct a search
• Click Get URL
• Copy the link under and paste in the appropriate location with Off-Campus Access prefix

Top

• Go to the Library Services Website
• Click Online Collections, then Video Collections
• Select Safari Books Online
• Conduct a search and click on a video title
• Copy the URL in the address bar and paste in the appropriate location with the Off-Campus Access prefix

Top

• Go to the Library Services Website
• Click Online Collections, then Video Collections
• Select Theatre in Video
• Conduct a search and click on a video
• Click on Embed/Link, above the video
• Click Copy URL and paste in the appropriate location with Off-Campus Access prefix

Top

To enable access from off-campus locations, you will need to add the following prefix to the persistent link:

http://login.library.sheridanc.on.ca/login?url=

http://login.library.sheridanc.on.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com

The following databases have videos but do not provide persistent links.