Read the introduction on "public domain & copyright friendly licences" to learn more about them.
Public Domain & Creative Commons Collections
- itch.io - Game AssetsA marketplace with free and fee-based content for game developers. It's recommended to check with the creator of an asset about its terms and conditions. Some free content is under a Creative Commons licence but the terms and conditions for most assets are often not indicated.
- KenneyThe game assets on the website are public domain CC0 licensed. See the included license file or refer to the game asset page for full details. Attribution is not required but if you choose to credit the source of the game assets refer to 'Kenney', 'Kenney.nl' or 'www.kenney.nl'.
- OpenGameArt.orgA crowdsourcing site for game developers and hobbists to share game arts and assets they have created for others to re-use. Many objects are under a Creative Commons licence but be sure to read the copyright/attribution notice for the terms and conditions. Refer to their FAQ page (https://opengameart.org/content/faq) for more information.
In Google Images, there is a "usage rights" filter to find images that can be copied and reused. Many of these images are licensed under Creative Commons or in the public domain. However, this search filter is not foulproof; some "All Rights Reserved" images may slip through in the results. Be sure to go to the image's source page to check the Terms of Use or licence type to ensure it permits your use.
- Copyright Friendly Image SourcesA list of websites where you can find copyright friendly images. Be sure to review the copyright statement or Terms of Use of the website where you want to use the image from.
- Creative Commons SearchSearch for images, streaming videos and media files from different collections including Flickr and YouTube. Can select the licence type you want to search for.
- Flickr: The CommonsPhotographs shared by participating universities, libraries, archives and museums around the world. Many of the photographs have "no known copyright restrictions" meaning the images can be freedly copied and reused. However, there are some exceptions in which the photograph is fully protected by copyright. Check the rights statement next to each image to see which licence applies.
- Flickr: Creative CommonsFind images uploaded by users that are designated with a Creative Commons licence or released into the public domain.
- Library of Congress: Digital CollectionsA huge collection of digitalized archival images, videos and documents. Most of the material is in the public domain but be sure to check the copyright information of each source.
- Library of Congress: Prints & Photographs Online CatalogThe collection includes photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings. Many works are in the public domain but some images are available as thumbnails due to copyright restrictions. It's the user's responsibility to check the copyright status.
- Pond5, The Public Domain ProjectHistorical media files in the public domain for projects. A fee-based licence may be required for TV/radio broadcasting or theatrical release.
- Wikimedia CommonsThe images in Wikipedia's media repository are generally licensed under Creative Commons or in the public domain. It's a great collection to locate historical images as well as photographs shared by individuals.
Please refer to the section on General Photography, Creative Common & Public Domain of the Finding Images Guide.
- CC MixterA site where people can share the remixes and samples they created under Creative Commons licences for users to re-use. Be sure to check the licence of the material you want to use for any restrictions.
- IMSLP Petrucci Music LibrarySelected scores and recordings that are in the public domain either in Canada. Some material may still be under copyright protection in US and/or other countries.
- MusopenProvides public domain recordings, sheet music, and music textbooks to the public for free, without copyright restrictions.
- The Mutopia ProjectOver 2000 sheet music that are free to download, modify, print, copy, distribute, perform, and record. The materials are either in the Public Domain or licensed under Creative Commons.
- Purple Planet MusicFree mp3 downloads for use in YouTube and similar video sites, social media, websites, educational use and films that creators distribute themselves, as long as attribution to Purple Planet Music is provided. There are options to purchase licences for TV/radio broadcasting, theatrical release, and other commercial projects.
- Sound Effects & Music LibraryOnly available on campus. Although the sound effects and music files are not licensed under Creative Commons, they can be used in non-commercial, educational projects. See the Terms of Use on the website for more information.
Public domain films are not under copyright protection and can be copied, used and incorporated into other works.
Below is a selected list of websites with information on public domain films. You can find similar websites by doing a Google search. In some cases, the films (e.g. Internet Archive) can be freely watched and downloaded online. But in other cases, they are commercial sites that charge a fee for sending you a copy and/or restoring an old film to a usable format. The reliability of public domain information varies on these sites so it is recommended that you do some research to verify the copyright status if you want to adapt and/or incorporate a film clip into your own work.
- Internet ArchiveA great source for locating television programs, films, music and text. Collections include the Prelinger Archives, Television Archive, Television News Archive, and Old Time Radio. Note that while many resources are listed as being in the public domain, some may still be under copyright so it is up to the user to verify the copyright status.
- Festival FilmsAn online catalogue of selected public domain films available for ordering. The company restores old films and sells digital and DVD-R copies to consumers and film makers.
- Library of Congress, Search Films & VideosIncludes collections such as The National Film Registry, Great Conversations in Music, and Origins of American Animation. LOC's Rights & Access (https://www.loc.gov/collections/national-screening-room/about-this-collection/rights-and-access/) page indicates that rights assessment is the user's responsibility although LOC is not aware of any US copyright or other restrictions in the vast majority of motion pictures in these collections.
- Pond5, The Public Domain ProjectHistorical media files in the public domain for projects. A fee-based licence may be required for TV/radio broadcasting or theatrical release.
- Public Domain Films in the United StatesA list of public domain films in the US. Note that the list is not comprehensive.
- Public Domain MoviesSelected US films and cartoons in the public domain. The full length films included can be watched on the site.
- Publicdomainflix.comThe site is maintained by Donald Rock, a movie fan who has identified films available in the public domain. In some cases, the copyright status of the film is unclear so be sure to read the copyright information and investigate further to ascertain the copyright status.
- VidevoFree stock videos, motion graphics, music tracks and sound effects. Check the licence type of each material to determine the terms and conditions of use.
