All Guides: Chemical Engineering: Associations & Websites

Websites

CHEMINFO
Comprehensive health and safety information on pure chemicals
ChemSpider
A free chemical structure database providing over 28 million structures, properties and associated information. Search by structures, identifiers, elements, and properties.
Computational Chemistry Comparison and Benchmark DataBase
The CCCBDB contains links to: Experimental and computational thermochemical data for a selected set of 1591 gas-phase atoms and molecules; tools for comparing experimental and computational ideal-gas thermochemical properties.
Energy Information Agency (EIA), USA
EIA countries database provide oil, coal and electricity production and consumption by country and region.
NIST WebBook
Provides thermochemical, thermophysical, and ion energetics data compiled by NIST under the Standard Reference Data Program. Search by formula, name, IUPAC identifier, CAS registry number, Reaction, Author, Structure.
PubChem
PubChem contains unique, validated chemical structures (small molecules) that can be searched using names, synonyms or keywords. The database provides a fast chemical structure similarity search tool.
The ChemCollective
A collection of virtual labs, scenario-based learning activities, and concepts organized by a group of faculty and staff at Carnegie Mellon University.
The DrugBank
A unique bioinformatics and cheminformatics resource that combines detailed drug data with comprehensive drug target information.

How current is the information? Is the information current enough for YOUR topic?
When was the page created, or last updated?
Is there a copyright date on the page?

Is the information relevant to your topic?
Who is the target audience for this website. Children? Consumers? Students? Scientists?

Who created the site or the page? Is it an individual, a corporation, an organization or association?
What does the website domain tell you? (e.g. .com, .org, .edu, .gov)
What do you know about the creator of the website? Are they credible and reputable?
Are there ads on the site? If so, do the ads relate at all to the content of the website?

Are sources or references given to support the information or evidence provided?
Are there spelling or grammar errors?
What information is provided about the author and his or her credentials, experience or education?
Can you find similar or the same information in other credible sources?

Is the information provided factual only, or is it opinion or biased?
Is the website trying to sell you something, or persuade you to a particular point of view?