Welcome COMM16165 Students
Find suggested ebooks, journals, and databases to get started for your research project. For research help, check out Sheridan Library's Research & Academic Skills Guide, or contact your librarian, Gouthami Vigneswaran. For information on citing sources, check out the Cite it Right Guide
Search Library Databases
- AccessScience This link opens in a new window McGraw-Hill The online Encyclopedia of Science and Technology. Includes scientific definitions, images, biographies, and news. Permitted Uses
- ENGnetBASE (CRCnetBASE) This link opens in a new window Taylor & Francis Over 2,000 handbooks in civil, mechanical, and electrical engineering. Permitted Uses
- Gartner Research This link opens in a new window Gartner Analysis and advice for the users and vendors of information technology. Access provided by Sheridan I.T. Dept. Permitted Uses
- IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window All IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines, as well as the proceedings from 125 IEEE conferences, over 1000 ebooks from MIT and Wiley-IEEE Press, as well as all active IEEE standards. Permitted Uses
- Knovel This link opens in a new window Over 1000 ebooks and data covering a wide breadth of engineering topics. Permitted Uses
- O'Reilly Learning This link opens in a new window ProQuest Formerly Safari Books Online. Learning platform contains 35,000 books, 30,000 hours of videos, learning paths, case studies, tutorials, audio books and O'Reilly's global conferences. Interdisciplinary database, focused on technology, computer science, digital media, web and mobile development, programming, and engineering.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Over 2,000 full text, peer-reviewed health, social sciences, and engineering journals, plus over 1,000 open access journals. Permitted Uses
- Skillport This link opens in a new window Skillsoft Over 29,000 ebooks and 21,500 videos covering business, engineering, and IT topics. Permitted Uses
- Springer Nature Link This link opens in a new window Over 2000 journals, 6,000 perpetual purchase ebooks, and 50 reference works from Springer, a leading scientific, technical and medical publisher. Includes peer-reviewed articles. Permitted Uses
Search for Books and Ebooks
The best place to begin your search is through the Library website. Search for print books and e-books by title, author, topic or keyword.
Use the filters to narrow your results to "Book / eBook".
How to Search in Library Databases
Research for Technical Reports and Presentations
Academic research requires a thorough investigation into the body of literature about a given topic. You must examine and refer to scholarly sources when completing academic assignments (unless otherwise indicated by your instructor). Scholarly sources include academic journals, encyclopedias, handbooks, and books/e-books.
Referring to scholarly sources will:
- Add depth to your understanding
- Strengthen your argument
- Reduce bias and misconceptions
START FIRST with the library website. Library resources are built around your program, are verified for credibility, provide targeted results using advanced search, are copyright licensed and freely available to the Sheridan community for educational purposes.
