All Guides: COMM16165: Technical Reports and Presentations: Product Info

Databases

For each of these databases, try searching a specific company or product that relates to your topic. You may also perform a more general search and add review to your keywords: example "retail software" AND review

ABI/Inform Collection This link opens in a new window Proquest Over 8,000 newspapers, magazines and scholarly journals covering business and technology. Part of the ProQuest Central Collection. Permitted Uses
Business Source Complete - Business Searching Interface This link opens in a new window EBSCO Company and industry profiles, SWOT analysis, market research, case studies, and nearly 2,000 peer-reviewed journals. Customized search. Permitted Uses
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window Provides company financials, descriptions, histories, properties, subsidiaries and executive details. Also includes industry reports and access to Investext analyst reports. Permitted Uses
PrivCo This link opens in a new window Company and financial reports on major, non-publicly traded corporations, including family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and international unlisted companies. Note: Select "Academic Direct Access" for access. Sheridan users do not need to create a new account. Permitted Uses

Magazines and Journals

For each of these online magazines, click the "Search within this publication" link located above the Product Details.

PC Business Products
Provides the latest news & information on software, hardware, supplies & services for individuals & companies who use PCs in business applications.
PC World
he definite, solutions-oriented reference magazine for businesses and professional people who use and manage the use of IBM-standard personal computers.
Technology Review
Examines the human & social dimensions of science and technology. Topics on energy & environment, computers & biotech.

The CRAAP Test

The CRAAP Test provides an easy way to evaluate websites (and also any kind of source) you find for your research.

Currency

When was the information published or created?
Is the information current and up-to-date?
Has it been revised or updated? When? Is there a date posted?
If online, are there broken links?

Relevance

Does the information relate to your topic?
Who is the intended audience and is the information presented at an appropriate level? (too elementary, too advanced)
Can you find the same or better information in another source?

Authority

Who is the author/publisher/source/sponsor? Is there a name even posted?
What are his/her qualifications? Can you find anything about the person or company?
If online - look at the doman (.edu, .gov, .gc.ca, etc.) in the URL. What does it tell you?

Accuracy

Is the information supported by evidence? Can you verify it at another source?
Has the information been peer reviewed or refereed? (You may not find this on a lot of websites).
Does the author list his or her references, or provide credit somehow to their sources?
Does the language seem biased? Is the tone objective (i.e. free of emotion)?

Purpose

What is the purpose of the information (to inform, teach, sell something, entertain the reader, etc.)?
Is the information fact, opinion, or propaganda?
Bias: a tendency to believe that some people, ideas, etc., are better than others that usually results in treating some people unfairly (Merriam-Webster Dictionary, 2014). Is the point-of-view objective and impartial?
Do the authors make their intentions or purpose clear? Can you identify the main argument of the work?

COMM16165: Technical Reports and Presentations: Product Info

Product Specifications