All Guides: Copyright Guide for Film Students: Commercial Licensed Resources

Commercial Licensed Resources

Commercial licensed resources

There are licensed resources are readily available for professional filmmakers to pay for and use.

Royalty free - Royalty free materials are copyright protected. A user typically pays for a one-time licence that would cover multiple uses. Stock photos are commonly available through this licence model.
Rights managed - More restrictive than royalty free, a rights managed licence is only for a single use. The cost is often dependent on the type of use, image size and resolution, duration of use, and medium of distribution. Rights managed resources tend to be more expensive than royalty free materials but are more exclusive and original. An exclusive (no one else is granted the same licence to use the material) or non-exclusive licence may be negotiated.

Note that these sources are strict with their license terms and copyright so users should carefully review the licence terms and contact them for guidance on selecting the right licence type for their needs. Some of these websites also have a "editorial use only" restriction (e.g. Shutterstock's explanation here) which prohibits commercial, advertising uses.

Royalty Free & Rights Managed Resources

*The list is intended to inform students some of the resources used by documentary and film makers. It is not an endorsement of the sites. Students are advised to search for public domain and Creative Commons licensed resources instead of paying for content. Also, licensed resources especially from news agencies tend to be expensive.

Associated Press Images
One of the best sources for editorial or creative photographs related to historical or contemporary topics. A majority of images are licensed on a rights managed, per-use basis.
Getty Images
Editorial images and videos covering worldwide news, politics, entertainment, sports, etc. A rights managed licence for film use may be more expensive. The price also depends on number of copies, distribution methods, duration of use, etc. A price calculator is available on the site but it is recommended to contact the Getty local office for more information on the licence terms and pricing.
iStock Photos
Creative images, illustrations and videos under a standard royalty free licence. Be sure to check the licence terms to see what rights are covered.
NFB Archives
Stock footage and photos from the National Film Board of Canada Archives. Licensing may also be available upon request for a NFB film clip not included in their online catalogue.
Shutterstock
Provides royalty free creative photographs and rights managed editorial images. Requires an account to use editorial images.
Toronto Star Photos
Photographs that have recently appeared in Toronto Star. Be sure to check the caption of each photo to see if there is an option to order the photo from Toronto Star. Some photos are from third parties such as Associated Press and Getty.

Some of these companies have in-house researchers to help with locating the right material and licensing.

AP Archive
As part of the Associated Press, this collection provides films and videos from the 1950s to current date.
Critical Past
Offers a large collection of historic footage and stills. All content is available on a royalty-free, worldwide, and perpetual licence. Licence rates seem comparatively reasonable.
Focal International's Directory of Footage Libraries
A directory of companies that licence clips, archive, footage, stockshots, stills and audio to film makers, media and businesses.
Footage.net
Offers news footage from networks around the world, stock footage and archival videos.
Getty Images
Editorial images and videos covering worldwide news, politics, entertainment, sports, etc. A rights managed licence for film use may be more expensive. The price also depends on number of copies, distribution methods, duration of use, etc. A price calculator is available on the site but it is recommended to contact the Getty local office for more information on the licence terms and pricing.
MrFootage
Based in the UK, the site licenses stock footage on a variety of topics ranging from celebrities to sports and available in SD and HD.
NFB Archives
Stock footage and photos from the National Film Board of Canada Archives. Licensing may also be available upon request for a NFB film clip not included in their online catalogue.
Pond5
Royalty-free stock video videos, music, sound effects, motion-graphics templates, etc. There is a section of free, public domain resources: https://www.pond5.com/free
Visual Icon
Licenses film clips from several Hollywood movie studios. The licence fee may be expensive depending on the use, film, and length of clip needed.
WGBH Stock Sales & Licensing
Originally shot WGBH footage and web content to television producers, publishers and professional media organizations. Content from TV programs include Nova, The Frontline and American Archive of Public Broadcasting.
WPA Film Library
Archival and stock videos for licensing.

Bensound
Music created by Benjamin Tissot. Some files are licensed under Creative Commons and can be used in other works as long as attribution is provided (refer to the licensing section for any other restrictions). A majority of files are available for purchase under several royalty free licences depending on the use. There is a section for cinematic music.
Film Music Directory
A directory of websites for music and sound effects available under a royalty free or rights managed licence.
Jamendo
Music tracks from independent artists are free to listen online or download for personal use but users would need to purchase a licence to use the tracks on websites, YouTube videos, advertising, radio, TV, films, etc. There are several licence types depending on how the material will be used.
Pond5
Royalty-free stock video videos, music, sound effects, motion-graphics templates, etc. There is a section of free, public domain resources: https://www.pond5.com/free
Premium Beat
Royalty free music for people to use in their own projects. Some music are designed for uses in films and movie trailers.
Purple Planet Music
Free mp3 downloads for use in YouTube and similar video sites, social media, websites, educational use and films that creators distribute themselves, as long as attribution to Purple Planet Music is provided. There are options to purchase licences for TV/radio broadcasting, theatrical release, and other commercial projects.
Soundcloud
Royalty free music for YouTube/Vimeo videos, presentations, podcasts, TV and other projects.

Copyright Guide for Film Students

Librarian

Commercial Licensed Resources

Commercial licensed resources

Royalty Free & Rights Managed Resources

Connect with us