All Guides: Creative Writing: Start Here

Start Here

This guide provides help for Sheridan students studying creative writing. Search the library, or browse a specific database below.

Search the Library

Browse by Topic

Library books are arranged by call numbers, which correspond to a subject area. Look for call numbers on the spine of library books. To learn about borrowing from the library, see Borrow, Renew, Hold.

Topic	Call Number	Subject Terms
English Language	PE	College readers, English language -- Rhetoric, English language -- grammar, English language -- dictionaries, Authorship, Writing -- Handbooks, manuals, etc.,
Literature (General)	PN	Authorship -- vocational guidance, Wit and humor -- Authorship, Poetry -- Authorship, Fiction -- Technique, Creative Writing, Fiction -- History and criticism, Canadian fiction -- history and criticism

Databases

O'Reilly Learning This link opens in a new window
Includes 35,000 books, 30,000 hours of videos. Although focused on technology, computer science, and digital media, this collection includes some excellent titles under the topic: Creative Writing.
EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Over 10,000 ebooks covering all academic topics. Includes publications from the University of Toronto Press.
Gale Literature Criticism This link opens in a new window
Includes the complete collection of Contemporary Literary Criticism, providing biographies, reviews, and literary criticism for 3,000+ authors since 1959.
Literary Reference Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Includes over 780 full-text literary journals, 150,000 poems, 35,000 short stories, 90,000 essays, as well as biographies, encyclopedias, and videos.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Includes over 500 full-text scholarly journals covering the humanities and social sciences.
PressReader This link opens in a new window
Over 2,000 full-page, full color U.S. and international newspapers. Plus, find magazines like Prairie Fire and Geist.
TIP: Download the app to get the latest issues on your mobile device.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Company and industry profiles, SWOT analysis, market research, case studies, and nearly 2,000 peer-reviewed journals.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Over 600 Encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, and quotations books, as well as images, audio files and videos. Multidisciplinary.

Creative Writing

Faculty Liaison Librarian

Start Here

Search the Library

Browse by Topic

Databases

Connect with us