ENGR49580D: Technology, Society & Sustainability

Urban Sustainability and River Restoration by Katia Perini; Paola Sabbion Urban Sustainability and River Restoration: Green and Blue Infrastructure considers the integration of green and blue infrastructure in cities as a strategy useful for acting on causes and effects of environmental and ecological issues. River restoration projects are unique opportunities for sustainable development and smart growth of communities, providing multiple environmental, economic, and social benefits.This book analyzes initiatives and actions carried out and developed to improve environmental conditions in cities and better understand the environmental impact of (and in) dense urban areas in the United States and in Europe.

Sustainability in Engineering Design and Construction by J. K. Yates; Daniel Castro-Lacouture Successfully Measure the Benefits of Green Design and Construction Sustainability in Engineering Design and Construction outlines the sustainable practices used in engineering design and construction operations for all types of engineering and construction projects. Aimed at ushering the engineering and construction industry into embracing sustainable practices and green construction techniques, this book addresses sustainability in engineering design and construction operations from a historical and global perspective, and delves into specific sustainability concepts and processes. The book explains the concepts of sustainable development, corporate social responsibility (CSR), the Dow Jones Global Sustainability Index (DJGSI), key performance indicators (KPIs), corporate sustainability, and the triple bottom line (economic, environmental, and social values in design and construction). Relevant to sustainability in every facet of engineering and construction, it also covers life-cycle environmental cost analysis, discusses sustainable engineering and site selection, the economic considerations evaluated when making sustainability decisions, and explains how to measure and quantify sustainable performance and apply these practices in the real world. It also covers project and corporate level sustainability practices, sustainable construction materials and processes, sustainable heavy construction equipment, traditional and alternative energy sources, provides implementation resources for starting and evaluating sustainability programs, and includes a checklist for measuring the sustainability of construction operations. The text contains detailed information on sustainable construction materials and processes, heavy construction equipment, and traditional and alternative energy sources. It presents information on sustainable designs, selecting sustainable sites, designing for passive survivability, designing for disassembly, and the ISO 14,000 standards. It provides implementation resources for starting and evaluating sustainability programs and a checklist for measuring the sustainability of construction operations In addition, it provides definitions of sustainability terms and expressions, as well as case studies, examples, discussion questions, and a list of supplemental references at the end of each chapter. This book provides information on: Definitions for sustainability terms Sources for locating global sustainability requirements Current sustainability issues Environmental laws related to sustainability and their implications Sustainable design Life-cycle cost assessment models Sustainable practices currently being used in the engineering and construction (E&C) industry Corporate-level sustainability practices Project-level sustainability practices Global sustainability trends and implications Sustainable materials Sustainable heavy construction equipment Traditional and alternative energy sources LEED Green Building Rating System Sustainability organizations and certification programs Sustainability implementation resources A summary of sustainable engineering design and construction

Sustainable Environmental Engineering by Walter Z. Tang; Mika Sillanpää; Mika Sillanpää The important resource that explores the twelve design principles of sustainable environmental engineering Sustainable Environmental Engineering (SEE) is to research, design, and build Environmental Engineering Infrastructure System (EEIS) in harmony with nature using life cycle cost analysis and benefit analysis and life cycle assessment and to protect human health and environments at minimal cost. The foundations of the SEE are the twelve design principles (TDPs) with three specific rules for each principle. The TDPs attempt to transform how environmental engineering could be taught by prioritizing six design hierarchies through six different dimensions. Six design hierarchies are prevention, recovery, separation, treatment, remediation, and optimization. Six dimensions are integrated system, material economy, reliability on spatial scale, resiliency on temporal scale, and cost effectiveness. In addition, the authors, two experts in the field, introduce major computer packages that are useful to solve real environmental engineering design problems.  The text presents how specific environmental engineering issues could be identified and prioritized under climate change through quantification of air, water, and soil quality indexes. For water pollution control, eight innovative technologies which are critical in the paradigm shift from the conventional environmental engineering design to water resource recovery facility (WRRF) are examined in detail. These new processes include UV disinfection, membrane separation technologies, Anammox, membrane biological reactor, struvite precipitation, Fenton process, photocatalytic oxidation of organic pollutants, as well as green infrastructure. Computer tools are provided to facilitate life cycle cost and benefit analysis of WRRF. This important resource: *    Includes statistical analysis of engineering design parameters using Statistical Package for the Social Sciences (SPSS) *    Presents Monte Carlos simulation using Crystal ball to quantify uncertainty and sensitivity of design parameters *    Contains design methods of new energy, materials, processes, products, and system to achieve energy positive WRRF that are illustrated with Matlab *    Provides information on life cycle costs in terms of capital and operation for different processes using MatLab Written for senior or graduates in environmental or chemical engineering, Sustainable Environmental Engineering defines and illustrates the TDPs of SEE. Undergraduate, graduate, and engineers should find the computer codes are useful in their EEIS design. The exercise at the end of each chapter encourages students to identify EEI engineering problems in their own city and find creative solutions by applying the TDPs. For more information, please visit www.tang.fiu.edu.  

Infrastructure Sustainability and Design by Spiro N. Pollalis (Editor); Andreas Georgoulias (Editor); Stephen J. Ramos (Editor); Daniel Schodek (Editor) You're overseeing a large-scale project, but you're not an engineering or construction specialist, and so you need an overview of the related sustainability concerns and processes. To introduce you to the main issues, experts from the fields of engineering, planning, public health, environmental design, architecture, and landscape architecture review current sustainable large-scale projects, the roles team members hold, and design approaches, including alternative development and financing structures. They also discuss the challenges and opportunities of sustainability within infrastructural systems, such as those for energy, water, and waste, so that you know what's possible. And best of all, they present here for the first time the Zofnass Environmental Evaluation Methodology guidelines, which will help you and your team improve infrastructure design, engineering, and construction.

Systems Analysis for Sustainable Engineering: Theory and Applications by Ni-Bin Chang IMPLEMENT SYSTEMS ANALYSIS TOOLS IN SUSTAINABLE ENGINEERING Featuring a multidisciplinary approach, "Systems Analysis for Sustainable Engineering: Theory and Applications" provides a proven framework for applying systems analysis tools to account for environmental impacts, energy efficiency, cost-effectiveness, socioeconomic implications, and ecosystem health in engineering solutions. This pioneering work addresses the increased levels of sophistication embedded in many complex large-scale infrastructure systems and their interactions with the natural environment. After a detailed overview of sustainable systems engineering, the book covers mathematical theories of systems analysis, environmental resources management, industrial ecology, and sustainable design. Real-world examples highlight the methodologies presented in this authoritative resource. COVERAGE INCLUDES: Structured systems analysis for sustainable designSystems analysis and sustainable management strategiesEcomomic valuation, instruments, and project selectionStatistical forecasting modelsLinear, nonlinear, integer, and dynamic programming modelsMulticriteria decision analysesSystem dynamics models and simulation analysesWater resources and quality managementAir quality managementSolid waste managementSoil and groundwater remediation planningIndustrial ecology and sustainabilityGreen building and green infrastructure systemsEnergy resources management and energy systems engineeringLand resources management and agricultural sustainability

Transportation and the Environment by Gabriela Ionescu (Editor) This title includes a number of Open Access chapters. This new book takes a nuanced look at building a sustainable transportation infrastructure and provides an overview of the harmful effect of various modes of transportation on the environment. The environmental impact of transportation is significant. Transportation is a major user of energy, it burns most of the world's petroleum, and is the fastest-growing contributor to carbon dioxide emissions. Although environmental regulations in many countries have reduced the individual vehicle's emissions, this has been offset by an increase in vehicles on the road and airways.