Sustainability Books
Adaptive Reuse by
Building in existing fabric requires more than practical solutions and stylistic skills. The adaptive reuse of buildings, where changes in the structure go along with new programs and functions, poses the fundamental question of how the past should be included in the design for the future. On the background of long years of teaching and publishing, and using vivid imagery from Frankenstein to Rem Koolhaas and beyond, the author provides a comprehensive introduction to architectural design for adaptive reuse projects. History and theory, building typology, questions of materials and construction, aspects of preservation, urban as well as interior design are dealt with in ways that allow to approach adaptive reuse as a design practice field of its own right.
ISBN: 9783038215370Publication Date: 2016-11-21
Building from Waste by
Aconceptual and practical look into materials and products which use waste as a renewable resource for architectural, interior, and industrial design. The inventory ranges from marketed products to advanced research and development, organized along the manufacturing processes: densified, reconfigured, transformed, designed and cultivated materials.A product directory presents all materials and projects according to their functional uses.
ISBN: 3038213756Publication Date: 2014-09-25
Green Building with Concrete by
With superior fire resistance, strength, and a long service life, concrete is the most widely used construction material in the world. A sustainable material, concrete is also easily and affordably reused and rehabilitated. The first book to provide an overview of sustainability and concrete, Green Building with Concrete: Sustainable Design and Construction surveys the materialOCOs history in the green building movement and presents state-of-the-art methodologies and best practices. From the manufacturing of cement to the rehabilitation of concrete, this comprehensive book explains how concrete can be used for sustainable design and construction. It offers insight into new technological and social developments guiding the introduction of green buildings and examines the attributes that concrete has to offer the green building movement. The text also highlights research on economic analysisOCoparticularly life cycle costingOCoto provide a full picture of the economic benefits of concrete. Expert contributors from around the world offer diverse viewpoints on global sustainability. Topics covered include: Principles of sustainable designBenefits of concreteOCOs thermal massMitigation of urban heat island effectsSurface runoff and the application of pervious concrete for sidewalks and parking areasReduction of construction wasteLeadership in energy and environmental design (LEED) standards Emphasizing environmental impact and occupational and consumer health and safety, this book explains how to make the most of concrete in sustainable design. Written for university and concrete industry continuing education courses, it also serves as a reference for building owners and industry professionals who recognize the value of green building. a
ISBN: 9781439812976Publication Date: 2011-10-20
LEED V4 Practices, Certification, and Accreditation Handbook by
LEED v4 Practices, Certification, and Accreditation Handbook, Second Edition, provides users with a practical user-friendly roadmap that presents the guidelines for selecting the LEED v4 rating system to better fit a particular project (e.g. LEED for Building Design and Construction, LEED for Operations and Maintenance, LEED for Interior Design and Construction, LEED for Building Design and Construction, or LEED for Neighborhood Development). In addition, this comprehensive handbook carefully explains the modifications in the credentialing process, including the new 3-Tier system requiring applicants to first take the LEEDT Green Associate exam, followed by the LEEDT Professional Accreditation exam. Practical strategies and guidelines for applying LEED v4 project certification Annotated tables, checklists, charts, and references to "quantum leap," LEED v4 Includes case studies with special focus is put on key areas where most errors occur Demystifies LEED v4 requirements for project as well as personal/professional LEED Certification Appendixes including sample exam questions, acronyms and abbreviations and a glossary
ISBN: 9780128038307Publication Date: 2015-12-19
The Re-Use Atlas by
This book is a highly illustrated ¿map,¿ using photos, infographics and statistics, showing designers how they can successfully navigate the emerging field of resource management and the circular economy. Using the Brighton Waste House Project as a basis for this, the book will look at key moments and landmark decisions made during its design and construction, as well as the people and projects from around the world that inspired them.
ISBN: 9781859466445Publication Date: 2017-05-17
Sustainability in Interior Design by
The environmental impact of interior architecture and design practice is immense, and this book highlights the need for designers to adapt the way they work and relearn the lessons lost. A comprehensive reference book for anyone wanting to work in interior design, this book introduces ideas of sustainability while encouraging and inspiring readers with positive, creative, and practical alternatives.
ISBN: 9781856698146Publication Date: 2012-03-21
The Sustainable Design Book by
The Sustainable Design Book updates the reader on the latest products and developments in the field of "green" design. Around 300 of the most exciting new products are featured. Q&As with leading designers give insight into trends and key techniques used within the industry, while handy icons highlight each product's sustainability credentials at a glance. Beginning with a chapter on sustainable materials, the book goes on to cover furniture, lighting, home accessories, and personal accessories, giving readers a broad and current understanding of sustainable design from raw elements through to finished products. Web addresses of designers and retailers make each product easy to source. This combination of products, profiles and information will make The Sustainable Design Book an unbeatable resource for those aspiring to best practice within the field of sustainable design, as well as students of contemporary product design. Consumers looking for beautiful but environmentally conscious products and accessories will also find this an essential guide.
ISBN: 9781780674735Publication Date: 2015-05-05
Sustainable Design for Interior Environments by
Sustainable Design for Interior Environments, 2nd Edition, builds on the first edition's premise that the interior design profession has a social and moral responsibility to protect the health, safety, and welfare of people and the environment. The text equips professors, students, and practitioners to design sustainable interiors by addressing LEED certification, environmental concerns, ecosystems, ethics, values, worldviews, and the ways in which science and technology can be used to address environmental challenges. Through content, organization, and pedagogical features, the book integrates complex sustainability topics directly into the design process, thereby enabling readers to apply the concepts of sustainability with the same ease as they do the elements and principles of design.
ISBN: 9781609010812Publication Date: 2011-10-10
Sustainable Residential Interiors by
The Second Edition of Sustainable Residential Interiors addresses cutting edge processes, strategies, and principles as well as details for in-depth product vetting criteria. Award-winning, leading interior designer Annette Stelmack shares her expertise from the perspective of LEED Building Design & Construction projects, healthy interiors, and chemical sensitivities, addressing principles, strategies, and solutions for design practitioners. A comprehensive update of the current state of the sustainable interior design industry is provided, including present and upcoming industry transformations, thought-leading principles, strategies and practices for project implementation, and fine points and resources for in-depth product vetting to support high-performing, healthy interiors. Sustainable Residential Interiors takes readers through an integrated design process, demonstrating relevant principles and practices that apply to essentially any interiors project toward creating an environment that is healthy, high-performing, functional, sustainable, and beautiful. In doing so, it: Promotes critical thinking about health and environmental issues in the building industry Features checklists and current resources, providing a "hands on" practical approach Addresses in-depth, applicable third party certifications and details on relevant building rating systems Provides in-depth strategies and criteria for fixed interior finishes, fixtures, equipment and furnishings Demonstrates successful, relevant, diverse and inspiring case studies Delivers comprehensive tools and resources for researching and vetting products' composition and chemical make-up. Evaluates all aspects of a building's interior to identify and implement methods that: save energy and water; reduce Co2 emissions and waste; improve indoor air quality free of toxins; and are responsive to environmental impacts Encourages forward-thinking by featuring inspirational statements from mentors, peers, and industry leaders Urges interior designers to commit to designing safe, healthy environments that are integral to a professional code of ethics, which ensure the delivery of positive outcomes for the client and any building's future occupants
ISBN: 9781118603680Publication Date: 2014-09-15
Audiobooks
Cradle to Cradle by
"Reduce, reuse, recycle," urge environmentalists; in other words, do more with less in order to minimize damage. As William McDonough and Michael Braungart argue in their provocative, visionary book, however, this approach perpetuates a one-way, "cradle to grave" manufacturing model that dates to the Industrial Revolution and casts off as much as 90 percent of the materials it uses as waste, much of it toxic. Why not challenge the notion that human industry must inevitably damage the natural world? they ask. In fact, why not take nature itself as our model? A tree produces thousands of blossoms in order to create another tree, yet we do not consider its abundance wasteful but safe, beautiful, and highly effective; hence, "waste equals food" is the first principle the book sets forth. Products might be designed so that, after their useful life, they provide nourishment for something new-either as "biological nutrients" that safely re-enter the environment or as "technical nutrients" that circulate within closed-loop industrial cycles without being "downcycled" into low-grade uses (as most "recyclables" now are). Elaborating their principles from experience redesigning everything from carpeting to corporate campuses, the authors make an exciting and viable case for change.
ISBN: 9781400127610Publication Date: 2008-08-11
Green Home TV
US Green Building Council
Canada Green Building Council
Material and Sustainability Databases
- Building Green Campus-Wide This link opens in a new windowBuilding Green
Contains comprehensive content on sustainable design practices and green building materials, including case studies of lessons learned from design industry experts of high performance buildings and what makes a building product or material green.
Permitted Uses - Environment Complete This link opens in a new windowEBSCO
Almost 680 full-text journals, and 120 books from the field of environmental studies. Permitted Uses - GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowEBSCO
Primarily an index, with full-text for over 10 journals and magazines from the field of environmental studies.
Permitted Uses - Material Connexion This link opens in a new windowFeatures a searchable database of 10,000 innovative materials and processes from around the world curated and updated by material scientists at Material ConneXion. Includes many materials with sustainability properties and links to material manufacturers.
Permitted Uses
- Design Source Guide THINK:Material is an IIDEXCanada special feature exhibition, located in the IIDEXCanada Inflatable Theatre, and an online library of the world's most inventive, cutting edge and sustainable materials. The 2017 collection was curated largely through the efforts of students from the Ryerson School of Interior Design: Lucy Zhang, Jenny Lang, Yiqing Li and Marnie Dumouchelle who were guided by the assistance of Monica Polo, Design Centre Resource Specialist, Ryerson School of Interior Design and the IIDEXCanada team including Liza Wallman in collaboration with Think Lightweight and conveys a new interactive approach to exploring new materials.
- Material OrderUtilizing and developing standards and best practices, the Material Order consortium provides a community-based approach to the management of design material collections with federated search access among participating institutions.
- Transmaterial"A catalog of materials that redefine our physical environment."
Sustainability Streaming Video
- Ecological Materials and Sustainable Design Aalto's decoration and furniture for Helsinki's Savoy Restaurant gained international acclaim. Artek continues to export Paimio chairs, and instills Aalto's ideas for design.
- Energy Efficient Skyscraper Berman reviews 1180 Peachtree Plaza's central plant graphic for the air conditioning system. A planted roof and the glass planes at the top of the building help reduce the heat island effect.
- Mission Possible: Cradle-to-Cradle Design German chemist Michael Braungart wants to save the world—but not in the way some environmentalists have in mind. Rather than promoting reduced consumption, Braungart and his collaborator, American architect William McDonough, are proposing “intelligent production” or a design approach known as cradle to cradle. This film traces the ideas of both visionaries and the obstacles they are encountering, particularly from the waste processing industries. Real-world architectural and manufacturing case studies are presented along with extensive conversations with Braungart and additional commentary from McDonough, while observers familiar with their work express varying opinions about it. (44 minutes)
- Natural Environments This A&E Special speaks to design and architecture for the environmentally concerned. Segment one features a Seattle home designed by architect and environmentalist James Cutler that is made entirely of recycled wood. The second segment is a feature on the home of interior designer Nick Berman, who utilized natural materials to create a highly stylized look. The program culminates in a House Beautiful of the Week tour, showcasing a turn-of-the-century water tower that has been transformed into a model of environmental consciousness—and a show-stopping home. Also included is a segment on bamboo flooring, the work of plant artist Dodd Holdsapple, and the work of artist/welder Sally Trout, who breathes new life into salvaged materials. Distributed by A&E Television Networks. (44 minutes) Distributed by A&E Television Networks.
