SOURCE: Sheridan's Institutional Repository
Making your work OA
There are two ways for researchers to make their articles open access and, if required, comply with the OA policy of a funding agency:
|
Self-Archiving for Free (Green OA) |
Pay to Publish (Gold OA) |
|
|
Availability |
Many journals provide the option to self-archive in a repository but you should check the OA policy of the journal you're publishing in. |
There are many OA journals available across different disciplines. |
|
How To |
Submit the article to an institutional repository like Sheridan's SOURCE (temporarily unavailable) or a subject/multidisciplinary repository (see below for suggested sources) |
Check with the journal on the process |
|
Version Permitted |
Pre-print (accepted manuscript prior to peer-review) or post-print version (revised manuscript after peer-review), depending on the journal |
Published version |
|
Embargo Period |
Usually there is an embargo period and it can vary between 6 to 24 months |
OA available upon publication |
|
Payment |
Free |
Article Processing Charge |
For more information on paying to publish OA, please refer to:
Subject and Multidisciplinary Repositories
Subject and multidisciplinary repositories focus on archiving and promoting open access to research outputs by academic researchers. Similar to SOURCE, these repositories help make faculty and student works more discoverable to the academic communities, policymakers and industries. Works such as journal articles, working papers, conference proceedings and research datasets may be deposited by researchers to these repositories.
These repositories are typically hosted by academic societies, consortial networks, universities and publishers and funded by sources such as universities, government grants, professional associations and disciplinary societies. They differ from social networking sites like ResearchGate and Academia.edu, which are for-profit, lack oversight, collect and monetize user data, do not provide long-term preservation of works, and have been accused by publishers of copyright infringement (refer to the University of California Office of Scholarly Communication's article on the differences).
Subject repositories:
See below for a selected list of subject repositories. Refer to the Open Access Directory for more subject or disciplinary repositories. For a comprehensive listing search OpenDOAR: Directory of Open Access Repositories.
- ART-DokThis repository for art, photography and design publications is maintained by Heidelberg University Library in Germany.
- arXivMaintained by Cornell University, this open-access archive for nearly 2.4 million scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics.
- e-artextee-artexte contains over 35 000 records for contemporary art publications in our collection. It is also an open access platform for contemporary Canadian art publishers (museums, artist-run centres, art galleries, etc.), authors and artists to upload digital versions of their publications (or born digital publications) for anyone to download for free.
- CogprintsFor self-archive papers in any area of psychology, neuroscience, linguistics, and computer science (e.g., artificial intelligence, robotics, vison, learning, speech, neural networks) that are pertinent to the study of cognition.
- Computing Research Repository (CoRR) in arXivThe repository is a partnership of the Association for Computing Machinery, the Networked Computer Science Technical Reference Library, and arXiv. There is an editorial committee that establishes an orderly process of submission, moderation, and discussion of content to serve arXiv’s mission.
- COREMaintained by the Modern Language Association, CORE is a full-text, interdisciplinary, non-profit social repository designed to increase the impact of work in the humanities.
- engrXiv (Engineering Archive)engrXiv accepts scholarly work from across the engineering field, including but not limited to systematic reviews, hypotheses, ‘negative’ results, and data and methods papers. They publish two major types of article: (1) Preprints of articles in parallel to traditional journal submissions. (2) Previously published articles that you wish to make Open Access. All submissions will go through a basic moderation process to check for conformation with their guidelines.
- PubMed CentralPubMed Central archives open access full-text scholarly articles that have been published in biomedical and life sciences journals. Authors need to be published in a journal that is fully archived in the repository.
- SportsRxivSportRχiv is the first community-led and open access subject repository dedicated to sport, exercise, performance, and health research.
- The WellBeing International Studies RepositoryThe WellBeing International Studies Repository is an open access collection of academic, archival, and assorted other materials related to various disciplines within the fields of animal welfare, veterinary medicine, environmental issues as they relate to animals, etc.
Multidisciplinary repositories:
- eCampusOntario's Open LibraryOntario post-secondary faculty and staff may request with eCampusOntario to share their works (e.g., open textbooks, open courses, tutorials, and H5P objects) in the Open Library.
- ÉruditÉrudit is an inter-university consortium (Université de Montréal, the Université Laval and the Université du Québec à Montréal) that works with libraries and academic institutions to support open access publishing and archival of works in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
- Federated Research Data Repository (FRDR)A bilingual publishing platform for sharing and preserving Canadian research data. It is a curated, general-purpose repository, custom built for large datasets.
- figshareThis is a commercial repository where researchers can preserve and share their research outputs, including figures, datasets, images, and videos. Figshare is free for individuals to access and use while the company also works with universities, colleges and institutions to provide repository infrastructure.
- GitHubGitHub is a proprietary developer platform that allows developers to create, store, manage, and share their code.
- Knowledge CommonsA multidisciplinary repository of scholarly and teaching materials and networking source for educators and researchers. Registrants may create groups and sites to network with members and share publications and resources.
- OSF (Open Science Framework) PreprintsAs a collaboration tool, OSF helps research teams work on projects privately or make the entire project publicly accessible for broad dissemination.
- SSRN (Social Science Research Network)Owned by Elsevier, SSRN is an open access research platform that functions as a repository for sharing early-stage research in the social sciences, humanities, life sciences, and health sciences, among others.
