Curio
Curio provides fantastic Canadian documentaries and informational programming across all subject areas from CBC Canada and CBC-Radio in this newly released collection. Please note that our subscription does not include the News In Review content, at this time. Additional CBC content can be found in the CBC Digital Archive, which is open to the public.
Check out these featured online videos in Curio:
- Eat, Cook, Love The solution to healthy living seems simple: making healthy food choices should translate into better health, longer lives.
- Health Myths Debunked Whether we're talking about teen sleep habits, sugar consumption, saturated fats, cosmetics, aging or otherwise, there’s a lot of disparate information out there on health and wellness. How much is true and how much is spin? In this special News in Review story we take a look at a number of health topics to clarify the facts and help you live a healthier life.
- Lousy Labels: The Natural & Organic Deception? Marketplace takes a closer look at green personal care products. It turns out labels like "natural" and "organic" are unregulated; they're just marketing terms. Some of these products are no different than the regular, often cheaper brands. An excellent Business piece for exploring ethics in marketing, this documentary separates the truly green products from the "greenwashed". Products that look green, but really aren't.
- Programmed to be Fat The scientists suspect that, starting in the womb, man-made chemicals may be triggering changes to our metabolism that result in lifelong weight gain.
- Stuffed (Part 1 & 2) Audio Only In this two-part series Jill Eisen explores the politics, economics and science of overeating. When it comes to food America is the land of plenty. Food is everywhere and the portions are humungous. It's no surprise that the US is ground zero for what's been called "the obesity epidemic." Canadians aren't far behind.
- The Great Food Revolution: Part 1 to 4 In Episode 1 of the The Great Food Revolution, find out how in just 30 years North American diners have gone from “Yuk! I’m not eating that!” to “Guess what I ate last night!”
- The Great Salt Shakedown 80 Canadians, 80 containers, and one of our most unusual tests ever! The Marketplace team looks at Canadians' diets and finds startling salt facts — the shocking amounts of sodium hidden in your food and how Ottawa lets the food industry get away with it.
- The Secrets of Sugar The Fifth Estate’s Gillian Findlay digs into the surprising science — and the reaction from the food industry — to reveal The Secrets of Sugar. Has the sugar industry been hiding an unsavoury truth from consumers?
- The War on Wheat It's a multi-billion dollar battle for your belly. Millions of people are joining the anti-wheat revolution.
Films on Demand
Films on Demand provides over 14,000 documentary and educational videos from a wide variety of producers, such BBC, National Geographic, Cengage Learning, PBS, TED, and Scientific American Frontiers.
Check out these featured online videos in Films on Demand:
- 5 Tips for Healthy Eating on the Go This program answers that question with five practical tips for healthy eating in a fast-paced lifestyle: plan ahead, don’t skip breakfast, learn to read food labels quickly, snack smart, and eat out wisely.
- A Free and Easy Way to Prevent a Cold Study shows the connection between sleep loss and a higher rate of illness.
- Countdown to Your Health Viewers learn a daily regimen of the following vital actions: eating five types of fruits and veggies; drinking four glasses of water for cleansing and hydration; enjoying three laughs with friends (aiding mental well-being, lowering anxiety and depression, and even improving the immune system); putting in place a limit of two hours of TV or computer time; performing at least one hour’s worth of physical activity; and getting eight hours of sleep.
- Genetically Modified Food: A Debate Supporters argue that genetic modification can make food more flavorful, nutritious, and abundant and enables plants to fight disease, resist pests, and survive drought. Opponents, however, question the safety of genetically modified foods, contend that their health benefits remain unproven, and fear their long-term impact on the environment, the food industry, and the human body. Is the world better off with or without genetically modified food?
- Health News and Interviews Video Clip Collection Series This six-part collection contains video clips (1 minute to 2 minutes 30 seconds each) on important health-related advances over the past decade—key moments in medical science in the areas of cancer, substance abuse and addiction, diseases and disorders, mental health and the human mind, nutrition and obesity, and genetics.
- The Men Who Made Us Fat Series In this three-part series, journalist Jacques Peretti explores the profitable ways eating habits have been revolutionized over the last 40 years...
- Trans Fats: A Hidden Killer PBS NewsHour correspondent Elana Michelle describes the dangers of trans fats and interviews people who have worked to get trans fats banned by the FDA. Original broadcast date: November 26, 2013
- Trust Me…I'm a Doctor Series Michael Mosley and a team of doctors tackle the top questions about our health, revealing everything you ever wanted to know about colds, sleep, stress, headaches, hearts, sun-creams, exercise, vitamins, and much more.
- The Truth about Exercise We have long been told that getting regular exercise is key to a healthy life. But with recent advances in genetic testing technology and brain stimulation techniques, scientists are learning new and surprising truths about what exercise really does for the body and why we all respond to it differently.
NBC Learn
NBC Learn is a collection of over 14,000 standards-aligned news broadcasts, designed to be used in the classroom. This collection is only licensed to educational institutions. It covers a wide variety of subjects including Earth Sciences, Communications, Ethics, and so on.
Check out these featured online videos in NBC Learn:
- Desk Jobs Receive Makeover With some studies linking higher rates of obesity and cancer in workers who sit for long periods of time, some offices are using novel methods for getting their workers up from their desks and moving during the workday.
- Doctors Suggest Lowering Stress in Battle Against Cholesterol Doctors suggest patients battling high cholesterol reduce stress, in addition to diet and exercise. Stress releases hormones that can trigger an increase in the harmful type of cholesterol, low-density lipoprotein or LDL.
- Fitness Trackers Motivate an Exercise Movement Wearable motion-sensor devices give real-time progress reports that help motivate people to be more active.
- Lack of Exercise Deadlier than Obesity According to a 2014 study from the University of Cambridge, walking for 20 minutes every day can reduce a person's risk of death by up to 30%.
- Lack of Sleep Increases Junk Food Cravings A 2016 study from researchers at the University of Chicago shows that the less sleep a person gets, the more the body produces a chemical in the blood that increases cravings for unhealthy food.
- Packing a Healthy Lunch It’s easy to give a child sugary snacks and salty chips, but it’s better for their classroom focus to have a healthy lunch. This video, produced by the Parent Toolkit, has tips to make sure those healthy fruits and veggies are in the lunchbox every day.
- Serving Size Simplified What do a baseball, a golf ball, a deck of cards and a woman?s fist have to do with healthy eating? This video, produced by the Parent Toolkit, explains and also gives tips for remembering serving sizes at any time.
- What's the Deal with Added Sugars? Often found in empty calories foods and some of our favorite treats for celebrations, added sugars can have a negative impact in overall health when eaten too frequently. But what can you do when your child has a sweet tooth? This video, produced by the Parent Toolkit, explains.
- What's the Deal with Sodium? Why is too much sodium in a child's diet a problem? This video, produced by the Parent Toolkit, explains and also tells you where the most sodium in a child's diet is found.
