Skip to main content

Linking to Library Resources: Introduction

Learn how to build persistent links to online books, videos, and more.

Introduction

Persistent links enable users to provide links to key information resources from library databases to colleagues and students in reading lists, email messages, online course outlines, and SLATE course pages.

Get started! Step-by-step instructions on how to find and create persistent links for:

  1. Articles
  2. Books
  3. Videos
  4. Images
  5. Other

FAQ

What are persistent links?

Persistent links are links that remain constant. They are provided by many online library databases to ensure consistent access to full-text online articles, electronic books, etc. Persistent links to resources will remain active as long as the item is included in the database, or as long as the library maintains a subscription to the database.
 

What is a DOI?

A DOI (Digital Object Identifier) is an unique alphanumeric string assigned to digital objects and will not change over time.
 

Will persistent links always be reliable?

Persistent links should remain consistent as long as the library maintains a subscription to the database. However, some persistent links have expiration dates, and vendors occassionally remove content without notifying the library, so it is important to test your persistent links regularly and update as needed.

To ensure that you will always be able to find your online materials again, and to conform to copyright restrictions, include the article citation as noted in the Copyright Information.
 

How do I add a persistent link to my course on SLATE?

For more information, visit CTL's Teaching with Technology site: http://bit.ly/1ORMjNS

2 options:

  1. Insert Link within File
    • Within your content (in the HTML editor) simply type in the link. Example: www.sheridancollege.ca
    • Then click enter after the link. The link will automatically be hyperlinked.
  2. Insert Link through Create a Link Dropdown
    • Click the Content Button
    • From the Table of Contents select the module you want to create a file in.
    • From the New drop-down select Create a Link
    • In the pop-up window enter a title for the link.
    • Paste the link in the URL field.
    • Click Create.


Will persistent links work from off-campus?

In order for persistent links to work from off-campus, the Library's proxy server prefix must be added to the beginning of the persistent link provided by the database. Please refer to the Off-Campus Access Information (Proxy) above.
 

Are persistent links available for every database?

Not all databases offer persistent links. Please see the appropriate section of Finding Persistent Links for a list of databases that do not offer persistent links.
 

How do I find persistent links?

Please refer to the Finding Persistent Links section of this guide.
Other names for persistent links include: permalink, document link, copy link, article stable URL, and bookmark.

 

Why can't I just copy the URL in my browser's address bar?

When using library databases, the URL in the web browser’s address bar is often session-specific and temporary.  That URL cannot be used to return to the search results or articles at a later time.
 

What do I need to know about Copyright & Licensing?

1. All library resources have been licensed by the college. Most content is permissible for use in classrooms, however it is best to check the Copyright or Terms of Use information included on the database website. You may also contact the Copyright Coordinator with any questions.

2. Persistent links to library resources can only be given to Sheridan College faculty, students and staff.

3. It is best practice to include the complete citation information along with the persistent link.

Example:

Ruths, D., & Zamal, F. (2010). A method for the automated, reliable retrieval of publication-citation records. PLoS ONE, 5(8), pp. 1-8. Retrieved from http://search.ebscohost.com.library.sheridanc.on.ca/login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&AN=56576658&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Top

Off-Campus Access Proxy

To enable access from off-campus locations, you will need to add the following prefix to the persistent link:

http://login.library.sheridanc.on.ca/login?url=

Example:

http://login.library.sheridanc.on.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com