Industry & Market Research & Suppliers
Video resources
Sheridan login required.
To view the full course, Sheridan login is required.
To view the full course, Sheridan login is required.
Consumer product trends
Suppliers & manufacturers
- ThomasFind Suppliers, Insights, Tools and More. Focused on industrial sourcing.
- Kompass InternationalSearch over 34 million B2B companies in more than 65 countries.
- Canadian Manufacturers & ExportersCME is Canada's largest industry and trade association.
Focus- manufacturing competitiveness, US business opportunities, international markets, people and skills, energy and the environment - Alibaba60,000 experienced manufacturers with design & production capabilities, 15 million products.
Also, check out industry association websites membership lists for leads to suppliers. See Find an association section on this page for more information on associations.
- Scott's Canadian Business Directory This link opens in a new windowA directory of over 185,000 companies and 210,000 executive contacts. Select businesses by city, SIC codes, postal codes, etc. Sheridan login required.
Sheridan library. Login required.
- IBIS World This link opens in a new window In-depth industry reports on over 400 Canadian industries including trends, outlook, regulations, competitors and more.
- Statista This link opens in a new window Insights and facts across 600 industries and 50+ countries. Search by keyword, or browse the top men for reports including Industry Reports, Dossiers (collection of statistics), Consumer Market Outlook, Industry Outlook and much more.
- Euromonitor: Passport This link opens in a new window Extensive reports and statistics for global brands, products, services and demographics. For an overview of Canada, search for Canada Country Profile.
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window Search thousands of publications, including newspapers and journals, with one search. Search also for Hoover's company reports (large companies). For example, search Nike Hoover's.
- eMarketer PRO (Insider Intelligence) This link opens in a new window Collection of reports, interviews, market data and international trends analysis related to digital and mobile marketing, media and commerce. Permitted Uses
- MTM: Media Technology Monitor This link opens in a new window Provides reports based on a media survey conducted of 12,000 Canadians twice a year showing results going back to 2004. To access a full-text version of each report listed in the bottom portion on the Reports page, click the “>” icon. Coverage includes demographics, podcasts, internet & mobile use, TV & radio, streaming and more.
- Vividata Dapresy This link opens in a new window Data on Canadian usage of over 3500 products. Information includes demographics, attitudes, media consumption, retail outlets, and frequency of usage. To obtain logon instructions, speak with your professor, or contact eresources@sheridancollege.ca Permitted Uses
- SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window Generate custom maps and tabular reports using demographic, business and marketing data from Canadian sources including Statistics Canada, Dun & Bradstreet Canada, Environics, and CensusPlus 2016. Up to 5 users at a time. Users will be prompted to sign up for an account, but this is not required. Sign in as guest for this option.
- Gartner Research This link opens in a new window Gartner Analysis and advice for the users and vendors of information technology. Access provided by Sheridan I.T. Dept. Permitted Uses
What is market research? Why do it?
Market research is the collection and analysis of information on your market. This includes your competitors (sellers), your customers (buyers), the products that form your market and even the the forces that affect your market, such as the price of materials or labour. Market research may be qualitative or quantitative. It may also be primary or secondary. Conducting good market research will help you make better decisions and reduce your business risk.
- Conducting market research. Government of Canada.How to design a market research campaign to help improve your business decisions.
Canadian industry & market statistics
- Canadian Industry Statistics. Government of Canada. Canadian Industry Statistics (CIS) analyses industry data on many economic indicators using the most recent data from Statistics Canada. CIS looks at industry trends and financial information, such as GDP, Labour Productivity, Manufacturing and Trade data.
- Industry sector intelligence. Government of Canada. ■ Consumer products industry ■ Manufacturing industries ■ Energy industry ■ Service industries ■ Technology industries ■ Agriculture and food market information by sector
- Key Small Business Statistics. Government of Canada. How many SMEs are there in Canada? How many businesses appear and disappear each year? What proportion of new businesses survive the first 15 years? How many people were employed in Canada in 2018? What is the distribution of employment across the private sector? How much did employment grow between 2013 and 2018? What is the proportion of high-growth firms? Which provinces have the highest concentrations of exporters? How do SMEs contribute to Canada's exports? What are Canada's main export destinations? How do SMEs contribute to Canada's gross domestic product?
- Producer Price Indexes Portal. Statistics Canada. Producer prices are the prices at which businesses sell their products or services to others (for example, the government, consumers or other businesses). Producer Price Indexes (PPI) track the average change in prices Canadian producers receive or pay for goods and services over time.
Industry reports & industry articles
- Industry & sector reports. Deloitte. Select Insights from top menu. Consumer & Industrial Products Energy & Resources Oil & Gas Mining Power & Utilities Financial Services Life Sciences and Healthcare Technology, Media & Telecommunications Real Estate & Construction
Find competitors
- CrunchbaseDiscover innovative companies and the people behind them. Free, limited access accounts available for individuals.
- KompassSearch over 34,332,131 B2B companies in more than 65 countries.
- ThomasNet"Find Suppliers, Insights, Tools and More"
Statistics resources
Statistics Canada: selected resources
PESTLE (PESTEL)
See also video and examples in video resources box on this page.
Find an association
There are associations - sometimes more than one - for almost every industry, profession and service. Associations often conduct their own research and can be a valuable source for statistics, trends, advocacy issues, regulation information, competitors and more. Association membership lists can provide insight into competitors.
To find an association just Google the industry name and association, for example:
