Typography Books
Design Fundamentals
Design Fundamentals: Notes on Visual Elements and Principles of Composition looks and functions like a student's sketchbook with handwritten notes and illustrations that capture the key concepts and assignments taught in a foundation course on the elements and principles of design. More than just a collection of gorgeously illustrated notes, this "notebook" is an essential guide to the basic elements of composition--dot, line, shape, form, color, texture, and pattern--as well as the principles for composing the elements on flat surfaces (paper, canvas, screens) and in three dimensions. Fun and fast-paced, this creative notebook isn't required reading, it's desired reading; and it's the second in a series of Design Fundamentals books that students will want to keep and enjoy long after they've mastered these basic building blocks of design. This book includes: (Core instruction on the foundational elements of visual design and the principles of composition including hierarchy, unity, balance, and rhythm Exercises and projects for practice and concept development (Strange and delightful illustrations created specifically for this book (to inspire action) A companion website stocked with additional projects, a bibliography, glossary, and links to additional visual examples.
Lessons in Typography
Get hands on with type in this lesson-based addition to Jim Krause's popular new Creative Core series on design fundamentals. In Lessons in Typography, you'll learn the basics of identifying, choosing, and using typefaces and immediately put that knowledge to work through a collection of exercises designed to deepen and expand your typographic skills. After a crash course in type terminology, you're encouraged to walk the talk with lessons and exercises on creating type-based logos, crafting personal emblems, choosing and using the right fonts for layouts, designing your own fonts, fine-tuning text like a professional, hand lettering, and more. Krause uses practical advice, humor, and page after page of visual examples to give you a complete education in designing with type that you can read in a matter of hours and continue to learn from over the course of your career. In Lessons in Typography, you'll learn how to: Identify and discuss fonts like a design professional Choose and combine fonts effectively for use in your projects and layouts Create monograms and logos using existing typefaces and custom-built letterforms Modify fonts to meet your design's specific needs Space letters properly using tracking, kerning, and leading and create eye-pleasing layouts Lessons in Typography is the third book in the New Riders Creative Core series, which provides instruction on the fundamental concepts and techniques that all designers must master to become skilled professionals. Additional titles in the series include Visual Design and Color for Designers.
Elegantissima
Louise Fili has been an inspiration for designers around the world since the 1980s, when she raised the bar on book cover design, creating close to two thousand jackets as art director for Pantheon Books. In 1989 Fili founded her own graphic design studio, Louise Fili Ltd, and branched out into the fields of restaurant and food packaging design. Her lavish and elegant typography, often hand drawn, helps advertise and market such well-known brands as Sarabeth's, Bella Cucina, Jean-Georges, and Good Housekeeping, among many others. Known for her intense attention to detail, her fresh reinterpretation of vintage sources, and her passion for all things Italian, Fili has won numerous awards. Elegantissima, the first monograph on her work, covers the breadth of her nearly forty-year design career and is a must-have for graphic design students and professionals, as well as anyone interested in advertising, food, restaurants, Italy, and books.
Responsive Typography
Responsive web design helps your site maintain its design integrity on a variety of screen sizes, but how does it affect your typography? With this practical book, graphic designers, web designers, and front-end developers alike will learn the nuts and bolts of implementing web fonts well, especially how to get the best appearance from type without sacrificing performance on any device. After examining typography fundamentals and the evolution of type on the Web, author Jason Pamental provides useful approaches, real examples, code, and advice for making your type performant, progressive, proportional, and polished—the primary ingredients of responsive typography. Understand how type plays a vital role in content-first web design Weigh the tradeoffs between self-hosting and using a font service to get the best performance for your site Get your type on the screen fast by designing for Progressive Enhancement Use a responsive relative scale to adjust proportions between typographic elements for any device or resolution Polish your type with ligatures, kerning, and other techniques to create rich, textured reading experiences
Stop, Think, Go, Do
This revolutionary guide is not only the first to look at how typography in design creates a call to action, but it also explores type and image as language. Stop, Think, Go, Do is packed with arresting imagery from around the world that influences human behavior. Page after page, you'll find innovative messages that advocate, advise caution, educate, entertain, express, inform, play, and transform.
Type Rules!
Type Rules!, Fourth Editionnbsp;is an up-to-date, thorough introduction to the principles and practices of typography. From the fundamentals to cutting-edge applications, this edition has everything today's serious designer needs to use type effectively. Dozens of exercises reinforce authoritative coverage on such topics as how to select the appropriate type for the job, how to set type like a pro, and how to design a typeface, as well as how to fully harness the power of major design packages including the Adobe Creative Suite.Includes video clips showing examples of projects discussed in Chapter 11- Type on the Web and Chapter 12- Type in Motion
Typographic Design
Precise visual communication requires first-rate typography skills Typographic Design: Form and Communication, Sixth Edition is the latest update to the classic typography text that covers all aspects of designing with type. Revised to reflect the shift in graphic design conception and understanding, the book contains a brand-new exploration of typography in media versus typography in motion, and provides the latest information on emerging trends and technology in the design process. Full-color images showcase recent design examples and a companion website features a robust collection of resources for students and instructors. Striking a balance between fundamental information and pivotal new knowledge and ideas, the book provides the perfect basis for engaging new learners as well as seasoned professionals. Typography is the comprehensive design of type, encompassing selection, placement, manipulation, and communication. An integral element of the graphic designer's arsenal, typography skills translate across industry boundaries into print, video, film, television, packaging, advertising, digital design, and more. Typographic Design provides insight, information, and practical instruction for every step in the process, from concept to execution. Topics include: Letterforms, syntax, and legibility Communication and the typographic message Evolution and technology of typography Typographic design processes, and using the grid The book also contains case studies that illustrate the successful use of typography, demonstrating the impact of good type on the overall design, and a listing of type specimens that exhibit good communication through good design. Words are an important part of the human condition, and presentation can have a major impact on the message. Graphic designers must be able to manipulate type to convey precisely what's intended, and Typographic Design is a comprehensive guide to mastery.
The Typography Idea Book
Playing with typographic puzzle pieces is one of the joys of graphic design and typographers have many entertaining, esoteric and eccentric options at their disposal. The Typography Idea Book presents 50 of the most inspiring approaches used by masters of the field from across the world. Geared towards helping you evolve different typographic styles, the book contains none of the technical jargon or tired old rules found in traditional tutorials but is packed with practical techniques and iconic examples. From type transformation to abstraction, via overlapping, hand-lettering, vectorizing, novelty typefaces and puns, discover all the brilliant ideas you could be bringing to your own designs.
Typography, Referenced
Typography, Referenced is the single most comprehensive volume covering every aspect of typography that any design student, professional designer, or design aficionado needs to know today. In these pages, you'll find: --Thousands of illustrated examples of contemporary usage in design --Historical developments from Greek lapidary letters to the movie Helvetica --Landmark designs turning single letters into typefaces --Definitions of essential type-specific language, terms, ideas, principles, and processes --Ways technology has influenced and advanced type --The future of type on the web, mobile devices, tablets, and beyond In short, Typography, Referenced is the ultimate source of typographic information and inspiration, documenting and chronicling the full scope of essential typographic knowledge and design from the beginnings of moveable type to the present "golden age" of typography.
Typography Sketchbooks
Typography is an obsession for most designers. It's at the heart of all visual communication and is one of the purest forms of design, one that can always be improved and refined.Typography Sketchbooks gets into the minds of designers who create typefaces, word images and logos through their private sketchbooks. The result of these wide-ranging typographic musings provide fascinating insights into the expressive quality of letters and words. Aimed at all those who use type, whether by hand or on-screen, this pleasing compendium stresses the importance of good typography at a time when reading habits are changing and celebrates a craft that has endured for centuries.
