100 Best Animated Movies
"World-famous animators pick the best animated movies ever, including Disney and Pixar movies, cult movies, kids’ movies, stop-motion, anime and more."
Mayerson on Animation
"I've worked as an animator, writer, producer and director in TV animation for 29 years. I created the cgi series Monster By Mistake. I hold a Masters degree from York University in Cinema and Media Studies and am currently teaching animation at Sheridan College. I can be contacted at mark(dot)mayerson(at)sheridancollege(dot)ca."
Websites
- Animation World NetworkAnimation Magazine full text articles, animation news, forums, jobs and newsletters.
- Art History ResourcesMaintained by art historian Christopher L.C.E. Witcombe, this website is a directory of resources available online. Browse by time period, country of origin, style, etc.
- Canadian Animation Resources The primary online destination for the Canadian animation community, Canadian Animation Resources provides accessibility and connectivity to our industy. Canadian Animation Resources provides daily coverage of animation-related news and events, tracking of industry trends, nationwide job posts, and commentary from key players in our community. Our goal is to provide the forum where information can be shared, ideas exchanged, and opportunities uncovered, and in so doing, to promote the growth of our industry and culture.
- Cartoon Brew Every day since 2004, Cartoon Brew has delivered the latest news, trends and ideas in animation to over 25,000 different artists, entertainment execs and cartoon aficionados. The site, under the editorial guidance of award-winning author and historian Amid Amidi, covers a wide range of topics, from cutting-edge computer animation and visual effects for both television and film, to classical techniques like hand-drawn and stop motion. It also covers trends in commercial animation, interactive apps, blockbuster Hollywood features, crowdfunding, and independent filmmaking.
- Library of CongressOrigins of American Animation - Collection of 21 animated films and 2 fragments.
- National Film Board of CanadaPlay Films – Focus on Animation. History of animation, techniques, key filmmakers and a database of NFB animated shorts searchable by title, director, or year of production.
- Ottawa International Animation FestivalLargest animation festival in North America. Screenings, panels, workshops and parties.
- Vintage Cartoons section of Film ChestWatch classic animated cartoons from the 1930's and 1940's! These cartoons are from the Film Chest collection, a leading source of film and video programming and stock footage. All these cartoons have been transferred from original 35 film prints and digitally remastered. The collection includes classics such as Bugs Bunny, Woody Woodpecker, Popeye, Porky Pig, The Three Stooges, and others.
Evaluating Websites
Not all websites are created equal...
Anyone can make a webpage. For academic purposes, it is important to always consider the following when using the web as part of your research:
Authority - who made the page? Is he/she an expert in the knowledge that is being presented?
Appropriateness - is the information appropriate for your assignment/research? Consider things like language, age level.
Currency - how old is the page? Is the information itself current? When was the page last updated?
Objectivity - is there a bias to the point of view of the page? Is it hidden or overt?
Purpose - what is the purpose of the site? Does it inform, sell, persuade an opinion?
Dalhousie University has an excellent resource to help you evaluate your web resources.
