All Guides: SOCI16039G: Introduction to Sociology: Journals

Journals

Scholarly journals present research findings from researchers around the world. They provide some of the most authoritative evidence within the social sciences. See Scholarly Sources.

Search Tips

When searching for research articles, you can often use more specific keywords than when searching for books. Start with the topic you would like to study, and the medium.

Example: women AND film

As you browse the results, look for more specific terms that researchers might be using to describe the topic.

Example: "representation of women" AND documentaries

Search the Library (scholarly journals only)

Databases

SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
A unique collection of 800+ journals directly related to the field of sociology. Articles date back to 1908. Also includes some books and conference papers.
Sage Publications Premier This link opens in a new window
Over 600 scholarly journals published by SAGE, covering topics in business, humanities, social sciences and more.
NOTE: Click on "Refine Search" and select the "Only content to which I have full access" option under "Access Type".
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Over 500 full-text scholarly journals covering the humanities and social sciences.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar searches the web for scholarly articles. Not all articles are available for free. To configure Google Scholar to recognize articles from Sheridan's collection, you will need to use this special proxy link, then go to Settings > Library Links and search for Sheridan. Your Sheridan username and password will be required to access library resources.

Browse all journal databases

SOCI16039G: Introduction to Sociology

Liaison Librarian

Journals

Search Tips

Search the Library (scholarly journals only)

Databases

Connect with us