All Guides: English as a Second Language (ESL): Academic English

Academic English

Academic English is often challenging. Here are a few resources to help you out.

These books are helpful for learning more about Academic writing.

Writing Better English for ESL Learners, Second Edition by Ed Swick
Publication Date: 2009
Available from ProQuest Ebook Central.
Write in English like a native speaker! Taking a developmental approach to improving writing skills, Writing Better English helps you increase your levels of proficiency in both grammar and vocabulary.
The International Student's Guide: Studying in English at University by Ricky Lowes, et al
Publication Date: 2004
Available from EBSCO eBook Collection.
This book is intended for students from all language backgrounds other than English, attending or preparing to attend a university where the medium of instruction is English
Longman Academic Writing Series 3 by Alice Oshima; Ann Hogue
Publication Date: 2013
Available at your Campus Library.
Level 3 teaches intermediate students to write various genres of academic paragraphs and essays. The text's proven approach integrates training in grammar, mechanics, vocabulary, sentence structure, and paragraph and essay organization along with the writing process.
Read, Research and Write: Academic skills for ESL students in higher education by Caroline Brandt
Publication Date: 2009
Available at Davis & Trafalgar Campus libraries.

These videos from LinkedIn Learning provide lots of great tips.

Start your research with these academic databases.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Over 600 Encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, and quotations books, as well as images, audio files and videos. Use to learn about vocabulary, history, and key issues of any topic.
Canadian Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Examples essays and guides to writing and researching essays.
Gale In Context: Canada This link opens in a new window
Includes magazines, encyclopedias, scholarly journals, images, and more. Covers topics related to Canadian history, law, and society.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Our largest collection of scholarly journals. Use filters to limit to Full Text Articles, and by number of pages.

Scholarly journal articles can be challenging to read and understand. Before starting your research, see the Anatomy of a Scholarly Article, and watch How to Read a Scientific Article.