Read the news. Every. Single. Morning.
Regularly reading high-quality news sources like the Globe & Mail or Wall Street Journal will help you learn how to connect the dots between events in business and events in the world. For example, how activity from Canada's central bank can affect firm valuations, costs of capital, the behaviour of the markets and house prices.
Publications：
- Financial TimesMost recent 1 month(s) not available.
Databases:
- Financial Times This link opens in a new windowNews, analysis and opinion on the latest in markets, economics and politics.
Note: Users will need to create an account using their Sheridan email. - Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new windowOver 300 full-text Canadian newspapers from Canada's leading newspaper dailies, including The Globe and Mail, Toronto Star, and more.
- Gale OneFile: Business This link opens in a new windowApproximately 3,000 leading business and trade publications as well as news on a variety of topics including accounting, theory, strategy and management.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowContains over 15,000 news, legal and business sources. Coverage includes news and current events, government, business, medical, legal and general reference.
Three key tools to help you keep current
The Globe & Mail
The Globe & Mail (G&M) is Canada's primary daily business newspaper. The "Report on Business" is the section of the G&M that covers breaking news and in-depth analysis in global business, with a focus on Canada. If you only have time to scan one news source each day, make it the Report on Business by The Globe & Mail. A print copy is available at the HMC Library Research Desk.
The Wall Street Journal
WSJ is the American business standard. It covers breaking news and current headlines from the US and around the world. Checking out the Business section each day can help you round out your international business awareness. A print copy is available at the HMC Library Research Desk.
The Economist
Don't let the title fool you, this magazine covers more than economics. The Economist is a weekly magazine offering insight and opinion on international news, politics, business, finance, science, technology and the connections between them. A print copy is available at the HMC campus.
Start your good habit today.
Research shows that if you do something for 21 days, it is more likely to become a habit. Get started on forming your good habit today and scan the news headlines every morning. If you need help, reach out to the Sheridan Library for more ideas on how to keep current.
Listen to Business Podcasts
Bloomberg Radio
Carol Massar and Jason Kelly bring together the latest news from the world of business and finance and the interesting stories of global technology, politics, economics and more by harnessing the power of Bloomberg Businessweek reporters and editors. Brought to you by Bloomberg Radio.
There are many other business podcasts you may want to consider. Some are focused on one area of business like The Fintech Impact while others are more about general business, such as Canada's Podcast.
Here are a few to consider.
- Planet Money This American podcast is created by NPR. It covers a range of business topics with humour.
- Startup Canada Podcast Weekly podcast about stories in Canada’s entrepreneurship community. Covers the future of business, and share insights social innovation to the future of work, investing, and why Canadians need to think bigger to take our businesses global. New episodes every Tuesday.
- Canada's Podcast Canadian podcast covering a range of general business topics.
