ACM Digital LibraryThis link opens in a new windowACM
The complete collection of the Association for Computing Machinery's (ACM) publications - journals, proceedings, and magazines.
Gartner ResearchThis link opens in a new windowGartner
Analysis and advice for the users and vendors of information technology. Access provided by Sheridan I.T. Dept.
IEEE Xplore Digital LibraryThis link opens in a new windowAll IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines, as well as the proceedings from 125 IEEE conferences, over 1000 ebooks from MIT and Wiley-IEEE Press, as well as all active IEEE standards.
LinkedIn LearningThis link opens in a new windowLinkedIn
Online training database containing access to thousands of high-quality instructional videos on a broad range of topics in the areas of computer software, business skills, design concepts, programming, photography, education, animation and more.
See LinkedIn Learning Guide for technical details.
O'Reilly LearningThis link opens in a new windowProQuest
Formerly Safari Books Online. Learning platform contains 35,000 books, 30,000 hours of videos, learning paths, case studies, tutorials, audio books and O'Reilly's global conferences. Interdisciplinary database, focused on technology, computer science, digital media, web and mobile development, programming, and engineering.
SkillportThis link opens in a new windowSkillsoft
Over 29,000 ebooks and 21,500 videos covering business, engineering, and IT topics.
Research Methods in Human-Computer Interaction by Jonathan Lazar; Jinjuan Heidi Feng; Harry HochheiserResearch Methods in Human-Computer Interaction is a comprehensive guide to performing research and is essential reading for both quantitative and qualitative methods. Since the first edition was published in 2009, the book has been adopted for use at leading universities around the world, including Harvard University, Carnegie-Mellon University, the University of Washington, the University of Toronto, HiOA (Norway), KTH (Sweden), Tel Aviv University (Israel), and many others. Chapters cover a broad range of topics relevant to the collection and analysis of HCI data, going beyond experimental design and surveys, to cover ethnography, diaries, physiological measurements, case studies, crowdsourcing, and other essential elements in the well-informed HCI researcher's toolkit. Continual technological evolution has led to an explosion of new techniques and a need for this updated 2nd edition, to reflect the most recent research in the field and newer trends in research methodology. This Research Methods in HCI revision contains updates throughout, including more detail on statistical tests, coding qualitative data, and data collection via mobile devices and sensors. Other new material covers performing research with children, older adults, and people with cognitive impairments. Comprehensive and updated guide to the latest research methodologies and approaches, and now available in EPUB3 format (choose any of the ePub or Mobi formats after purchase of the eBook) Expanded discussions of online datasets, crowdsourcing, statistical tests, coding qualitative data, laws and regulations relating to the use of human participants, and data collection via mobile devices and sensors New material on performing research with children, older adults, and people with cognitive impairments, two new case studies from Google and Yahoo!, and techniques for expanding the influence of your research to reach non-researcher audiences, including software developers and policymakers
Quantitative Methods in Educational and Social Research Using SPSS by Andy Tolmie; Daniel Muijs; Erica McAteerQuantitative Methods in Educational and Social Research Using SPSS bridges the gap between introductory and advanced volumes on quantitative methods. Central to the text is an emphasis on the concept of modelling at the core of data analysis. The implications of the modelling approach are taken all the way back to the stages of research design and sampling, and use of simple descriptive statistics. Using this as a lens the book then moves on to explain carefully a full range of statistical techniques from basic procedures such as correlation and analysis of variance, to advanced methods such as multiple regression, path analysis and multilevel modelling. Key features of the book include: Crucial points illustrated by getting readers to work through key theoretical and analytical tasks A CD that offers step by step guidance on the use of SPSS and example analyses for each of the methods covered by the text Clear explanation of the conceptual background to all the analytical techniques included in the book A range of example datasets The aim throughout is to help you gain a fully-grounded conceptual grasp of different techniques, allowing you to apply these thoughtfully, as well as helping you progress towards a more advanced understanding through a step-by-step approach. This book is for you if you are a student or researcher in education or a related field and want an introductory resource that helps you get up to speed quickly.