CULT46786: Screen Storytelling in Canada

This publication provides a forum for scholarship and debate on feminism, culture, and media studies. The journal encourages contributions in areas such as the conjunctions of gender, race, class, and sexuality with audiovisual culture; new histories and theories of film, television, video, and digital media; and politically engaged approaches to a range of media practices.

Canada's leading academic peer-reviewed film journal

Published by the Writers Guild of Canada, Canadian Screenwriter magazine is written for, and by, television and film writers. It covers industry news and policy decisions that impact screenwriters.

Publishes essays on a wide variety of subjects from (using) diverse methodological perspectives. The publication was renamed as Journal of Cinema and Media Studies in 2018.

A peer-reviewed journal that explores films and documentaries that interpret, reflect and influence history

A bilingual peer-reviewed academic journal dedicated to the interdisciplinary study of Canadian history, culture and society

A peer-reviewed journal whose mission is to foster engaged debate and rigorous thinking among humanities scholars of film, television, digital media, and other audiovisual technologies.

An international journal of academic film and television studies

An international journal showcasing key intellectual developments in television and new media studies

A peer-review journal that aims to break down traditional geographical divisions and welcomes submissions on any aspect of transnational film, television, streaming culture, and screen media practices.

This peer-reviewed journal covers visually-based research in sociology, anthropology, cultural and media studies, documentary film and photography, information technology, education, communication studies, art history and visual culture, as well as other fields concerned with image-based study.

Premiere magazine that focuses on the art and craft of cinematography, covering the US and foreign feature productions, television productions, short films, music videos and commercials.

Focuses on visual effects in films. Each issue featured lengthy, detailed articles that described the creative and technical processes behind current films, the information drawn from interviews with the effects artists and technicians involved.

A film magazine published in Toronto, Canada that covers world cinema and compiles a list of the top ten films of each year.

Hollywood north magazine publishes articles on the Canadian film industry five days a week, highlighting homegrown and independent film and television projects, both local and country-wide.

Leading magazine for the professional recording and sound production technology industry

From the Directors Guild of Canada, Montage covers all areas of direction, design, production and editing of films.

Leading resource on the art and business of making movies and the world's most widely read independent film magazine.

Premier source for the latest business news on the Canadian screen industry

A Canadian magazine that covers documentary culture, covering the art and craft of non-fiction storytelling in film, photography, and new media.

Canada's magazine for lighting and production professionals

Serves the Canadian recording, live sound, broadcast, post-production, and audiovisual integration industries with up-to-date news

A film magazine that offers criticism, articles, reviews and interviews and, most notably, significant contributions to the discourse on Canadian cinema.

An article from CBC Arts

This Library & Archives Canada database compiles the principal credits of every Canadian feature film from 1913 to 2006; establishes a list of Canadian feature films from published information up to 2006; and features over 4,300 films.

A bilingual research tool about Canadian women directors and their films. The Database contains information about 2,688 films (1920-2023), 6,334 bibliographic references, 2,534 quotations, and the names of 1,746 directors.

IMDb is an online database of information related to films, television series, podcasts, home videos, video games, and streaming content online – including cast, production crew and personal biographies, plot summaries, trivia, ratings, and fan and critical reviews.

Findings from a symposium hosted by the Academy of Canadian Cinema and Television in 2021. Distinguished panelists and experts from across the sector explored domestic and international approaches to new distribution mechanisms and discussed the challenges and strategies for Canadian film to thrive alongside the rise of streaming platforms.

Moving Image Source is a website devoted to the history of film, television, and digital media. It features original articles by leading critics, authors, and scholars; a calendar that highlights major retrospectives, festivals, and gallery exhibitions at venues around the world; and a regularly updated guide to online research resources.

Organized by Reel Canada, this is an annual event in April that supports screenings and promotions of Canadian films. Their website lists tons of Canadian films and where to stream them.

A non-profit organization based in Toronto dedicated to the presentation of Canadian films in Canadian schools. Their website includes a directory of Canadian and Indigenous films.

Metacritic aggregates music, game, TV, and movie reviews from leading critics.

Links to full-text online reviews of over 40,000 international feature films. Reviews are drawn from a wide variety of sources including daily newspapers, trade publications, film e-zines and fan-zines, and individual web review site

This site contains decades of reviews in addition to a variety of other movie-related content.