Images from Pixabay.
Get Started Here
You can browse or search for journal articles in a number of ways:
- Search the Library. Our primary search box searches our online databases and print collection. To find journal articles only, filter your results to view just Articles.
- Search specific databases. Databases include all types of articles and reports from journals & other sources. Recommended databases are listed below.
- Search specific journals. Find a journal in your subject area and search just that publication. Recommended journals are listed below.
- Browse our shelves for hard-copy journals.
Review the Search Strategies guide for tips searching for your topic.
Recommended Databases
- Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new windowGale
Over 9,000 peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines, as well as podcasts from NPR, CNN, and CBC. Multi-disciplinary.
Permitted Uses - Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new windowEBSCO
Over 600 full-text journals, over 63,0000 images, plus 220 full-text ebooks covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as architectural design.
Permitted Uses - Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new windowProquest
Over 300 full-text Canadian newspapers from Canada's leading newspaper dailies, including The Globe and Mail, Toronto Star, and more. Part of the ProQuest Central Collection.
Permitted Uses - E-Library This link opens in a new windowProquest
Over 2,500 full-text magazines, newspapers, and books—plus maps, photographs, and video clips. Multidisciplinary. Permitted Uses - Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new windowIncludes theatre reviews.
- Gale OneFile: Fine Arts This link opens in a new windowGale
Over 400 magazines and journals on hundreds of arts-related topics. Includes: Billboard, Canadian Musician, New Yorker, and more.
Permitted Uses - International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text This link opens in a new windowEBSCO
Over 200 full-text journals and 370 ebooks covering theatre and the performing arts.
Permitted Uses - Material Connexion This link opens in a new windowFeatures a searchable database of 10,000 innovative materials and processes from around the world curated and updated by material scientists at Material ConneXion. Includes many materials with sustainability properties and links to material manufacturers.
Permitted Uses
Recommended Periodicals
Print Journals
Canadian Musician
Canadian Theatre Review (ceased, but still has information that are relevant to theatre, along with scripts from acts and scenes of various plays)
Professional Lighting & Production
Professional Sound
Sheet Music Magazine
eJournals
