Welcome CULT 10001G: Culture in the Workplace Students!
Use this guide to locate resources for your Research Assignment in CULT 10001G. Don't forget to review our Research & Academic Skills and Cite it Right guides for further assistance.
Background Information
Begin with the basics! Exploring your topic will help you identify an appropriate scope for your research, and also identify important keywords that you can use when searching for sources.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Credo Over 600 Encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, and quotations books, as well as images, audio files and videos. Multidisciplinary. Permitted Uses
- Britannica Online This link opens in a new window Encyclopaedia Britannica The online Encyclopedia Britannica. Includes images, maps, videos, and more. Permitted Uses
- Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new window Proquest Over 300 full-text Canadian newspapers from Canada's leading newspaper dailies, including The Globe and Mail, Toronto Star, and more. Part of the ProQuest Central Collection. Permitted Uses
- PressReader This link opens in a new window Over 2,000 full-page, full color U.S. and international newspapers. Please note:Globe & Mail content in PressReader is licensed for on-site access only. Permitted Uses
Scholarly Sources
Use scholarly sources to dig deeper into your subject area. Scholarly sources include collections of journal articles, books, reports and encyclopedias.
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window Search across multiple databases from ProQuest with one search. Note: Recommend using Firefox or Google Chrome. Permitted Uses
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window EBSCO Over 8500 full-text journals; more than half are peer-reviewed. Multi-disciplinary. Permitted Uses
- EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window EBSCO Over 250,000 ebooks. Multidisciplinary. Note:Number of concurrent users varies by title. Download select titles for 3 days.Permitted Uses
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window EBSCO Over 860 full-text journals dating back to 1908, full-text for more than 850 books, as well as selected conference papers from the field of sociology. Permitted Uses
Search for Books & eBooks
The best place to begin your search is through the Library website. Search for print books and e-books by title, author, topic or keyword.
Use the filters to narrow your results to "Book / eBook".
To help get started, here are a few sample book searches on related topics:
Search by TopicNews & Current Events
Current news stories from sources like newspapers and magazines can help enhance your research.
Search Tip! When searching for newspaper articles about cases from the Canadian and Ontario courts, add a keyword such as "ruling" to your search. For example, try "discrimination ruling" in one of the databases below.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Contains over 15,000 news, legal and business sources. Coverage includes news and current events, government, business, medical, legal and general reference. Permitted Uses
- CBCA Reference & Current Events This link opens in a new window Proquest Include journals and magazines from the social sciences, humanities, and sciences. Part of the ProQuest Central Collection. Permitted Uses
- Gale OneFile: News This link opens in a new window Gale Over 80 full-text newspapers from Ontario, from major papers to neighbourhood publications. Permitted Uses
Liaison Librarian, Faculty of Applied Science & Technology
Using Websites
Regardless of the types of sources you use in an assignment, an important skill to learn and develop throughout your studies is the ability to evaluate and critically examine good quality sources. To ensure you are choosing the best sources, review the Evaluating Websites Guide.
Looking to enhance your Google searches? Check out the Google Tips & Tricks Guide to make your Google search more effective.
