All Guides: Finding Images: Creative Commons & Public Domain

Creative Commons & Public Domain

This page includes Creative Commons licensed and public domain images that can be used in projects where fair dealing does not apply (e.g., for a decorative purpose). While images from library databases listed on other pages of this guide can be used in student assignments and internal educational projects, they cannot be used in public facing projects due to licence restrictions.

Learn more about public domain and Creative Commons licensed images

There are three types of copyright free or friendly images:

Public domain: In Canada, copyright of a work expires 70 years after the death of the creator. A public domain work can be freely copied and used.
Creative Commons (CC) licensed: The creator of a work has waived some rights so the work can be freely copied and used. Attribution is generally required. Other additional restrictions such as non-commercial uses, no derivatives, and share-alike may apply.
Free with no or some restrictions: Similar to Creative Commons, the creator of a work has waived all or some of the rights so it can be freely copied and used. There may be additional conditions such as non-commercial uses.

It is important to pay attention to the type and conditions of use on an image that you want to use:

Image Search Engines & Directories

How to search for Creative Commons licensed images in Google

Google Advanced Image Search
Under "usage rights," select the licence terms you want to search for.
Openverse
Search for images, streaming videos and media files from different collections including Flickr and YouTube. Can select the licence type you want to search for.
Wikimedia Commons
Images in the public domain or licensed under Creative Commons.
Flickr: Creative Commons
Many Flickr users have chosen to offer their work under a Creative Commons licence, and you can browse or search through content under each type of licence.
Copyright Friendly Image Sources
From teacherlibrarianwiki. Be sure to check the FAQ or Terms of the site you want to use to see if there are any restrictions.

General Photographs & Graphics

High Resolution Photos

AllGo's Plus Size Stock Photos
A great collection of photos of plus-size individuals. It is recommended to credit AllGo and photographer Michael Poley of Poley Creative
Disabled And Here Collection
Collection of photos and illustrations celebrating BIPOC people with disabilities
The Gender Spectrum Collection
A stock photo library featuring images of trans and non-binary models that go beyond the cliché - featuring them as people with careers, relationships, talents, passions, and home lives.
Gratisography
Photos are licensed under CC License Zero and can be used for commercial purposes.
Images of Empowerment
Photos of women around the world in different work settings
Kaboompics
Photographs can be used for personal or commercial projects. However, they cannot be used for sale on their own. Check the terms for restrictions.
Magdeleine
Filter by CC0 - Public Domain on the right-hand column to search for public domain images.
Mind the Gap
A clinical handbook with images of medical signs and symptoms on Black and Brown skins. Many of the images included are CC licensed from third-party sources.
morgueFile
Stock photo quality images available for copying, distribution, and adaptation.
Nappy
Nappy's mission is to "provide high-res photos of black and brown people" and helps designers and companies to be "purposeful about representation in their designs, presentations, and advertisements."
Pexels
Photos added by creators. While giving credit to the photographer or Pexels is required, it is recommended for academic integrity.
Picnoi
A stock photo collection that focuses on BIPOC individuals.
Pixabay
Attribution is recommended although it is not required. Commercial uses are allowed with some exceptions. Refer to the Pixabay licence for more information.
Unsplash
Images licensed under Creative Commons Zero which means you can copy, modify, distribute and use the photos for free, including commercial purposes, without asking permission from or providing attribution to the photographer or Unsplash.
Vecteezy
Free vector art, stock photos and stock videos. Attribution is required.

Illustrations & Icons

The Noun Project
Creative Commons licensed black & white icons. Free and paid premium memberships are available.
Font Awesome
Free subscription provides access to over 2000 open source icons. Paid subscription provides access to over 26000 icons.
Open Clip Art
Clip art and icons
Open Peeps
This hand-drawn illustration collection works like building blocks made of vector faces, bodies, arms, legs, clothing, hairstyles, etc. You can mix the elements to create different characters.
Public Domain Vectors
60,000 vector images in public domain.
The Greats
Creative Commons licensed illustrations by artists around the world. Images in this collection are centred on various social justice themes.

Public Domain Images from Museums, Universities, Libraries, and Governments

Flickr: The Commons
Public domain photographs supplied by participating libraries and museums around the world.
Yale University Art Gallery
Public domain images of works in Yale's collection
National Gallery of Art
More than 45,000 open access digital images up to 4000 pixels each are available free of charge for download and use.
Open Access Biomedical Image Search Engine
Images are from articles in PubMed Central. Be sure to check the copyright statement or CC licence terms of the image you want to use.
US Government Resources for Science Images and Videos
Public domain images from US government sites. Categories include agriculture, biology, engineering, health science, medicine, etc.

Finding Images

Librarian