eBooks FAQ's
Can I print the eBook?
Not in it's entirety. Some eBooks allow a certain percentage to be printed, while others do not allow you to print at all. It depends on the vendor and publisher. This information can be found on the eBook record in the database.
Can I download the eBook?
Yes and no. Once again, it depends on the vendor and publisher. If you are allowed to download, it is only temporary. Borrowing periods also vary by vendor and publisher. This information can be found on the eBook record in the database.
How many users can look at an eBook at one time?
Most eBooks have unlimited users. There are some collections like Safari, Ebrary, and AccessEngineering that only allow a certain number of users at once. That information is typed in orange below the database description.
Why are there limits on users, borrowing and printing on eBooks?
It depends on the license terms negotiated and agreed upon by the vendor and the Library.
Do I need to download any programs to read eBooks?
Ebrary now uses Adobe Digital Editions if you are reading on a mobile device. It is a free download.
Other eBooks can be read in HTML or PDF depending on the database.
Having Difficulty?
To report an issue, receive trouble-shooting assistance, or ask a question about any library database or e-resource, please submit a ticket to the Library Helpdesk.
or Chat with Us online.
If you have a question about licensing, usage, or copyright, please email our Copyright Coordinator, Sam Cheng, at sam.cheng@sheridancollege.ca
Alphabetical List of Databases
- Academic eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
- AccessEngineering This link opens in a new windowMcGraw-Hill
Engineering handbooks, videos, news, and interactive tables and graphs.
Up to 7 users at a time.
Permitted Uses - ASM Handbooks Online This link opens in a new windowASM International
Includes 23 volumes with thousands of articles, illustrations, tables, graphs, and specifications covering materials specialization for engineers.
Permitted Uses - Business ebook Collection This link opens in a new window
- Canadian eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
- Ebook Central This link opens in a new windowProquest
Thousands of downloadable e-book titles covering a wide range of all academic disciplines. Includes the College Complete Collection, made available by the Colleges eBook Consortium Project.
Note: Use Firefox, Chrome or Safari. Edge is not supported by this database. Number of permitted users varies by title. Permitted Uses - Audiobook Collection This link opens in a new window
- EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new windowEBSCO
Over 250,000 ebooks. Multidisciplinary.
Note:Number of concurrent users varies by title. Download select titles for 3 days.Permitted Uses - ENGnetBASE (CRCnetBASE) This link opens in a new windowTaylor & Francis
Over 2,000 handbooks in civil, mechanical, and electrical engineering. Permitted Uses - IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new windowAll IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines, as well as the proceedings from 125 IEEE conferences, over 1000 ebooks from MIT and Wiley-IEEE Press, as well as all active IEEE standards.
Permitted Uses - Infobase eBooks - Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new windowOver 600 full-text eBooks from the social sciences and language arts.
Permitted Uses - Infotrac Psychology eBooks This link opens in a new windowGale
Part of the Gale Virtual Reference Library of eBooks. Includes 6 different encyclopedias dealing with psychology topics.
Permitted Uses - International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text This link opens in a new windowEBSCO
Over 200 full-text journals and 370 ebooks covering theatre and the performing arts.
Permitted Uses - Knovel This link opens in a new windowOver 1000 ebooks and data covering a wide breadth of engineering topics.
Permitted Uses - SpringerLink This link opens in a new windowOver 2000 journals, 6,000 perpetual purchase ebooks, and 50 reference works from Springer, a leading scientific, technical and medical publisher. Includes peer-reviewed articles.
Permitted Uses
