Recomended Databases
- Euromonitor: PassportSearch for companies in the Keyword box on the the top right corner of the screen or browse by industry. Excellent source for brand share information, industries, and some financial information for large companies.
- LexisNexis - Canadian Academic UniverseFind company profiles and see financials on the right side of the screen. Keep an eye out for links to external reports (like Hoover's Company Records or Morningstar Institutional Database), which provide a wealth of information. There is usually a link under the company's Business Description that will lead to an in-depth profile.
- FP Advisor This link opens in a new windowFP Advisor offers a comprehensive collection of Canadian corporate data, providing access to reliable and detailed information about Canadian public and private companies, historical financial data as well as analytical and lead generation tools.
Permitted Uses - Mergent Online This link opens in a new windowProvides company financials, descriptions, histories, properties, subsidiaries and executive details. Also includes industry reports and access to Investext analyst reports.
Permitted Uses - FactSet This link opens in a new windowFactSet
Provides analytics for monitoring global markets, industries, public and private companies, fixed income securities, and equity portfolios. More than 3,000 data items for 79,000+ companies across 116 countries, going back to the early 1980s for developed markets.
Note: For login details e-mail Sandra Shoufani.
Permitted Uses - PrivCo This link opens in a new windowCompany and financial reports on major, non-publicly traded corporations, including family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and international unlisted companies.
Note: Select "Academic Direct Access" for access. Sheridan users do not need to create a new account.
Permitted Uses
Charitable Organizations
- SmartGiving, Canadian Charities Provides tips on finding quality Canadian charities and how to maximize donations.
- Charitydata.ca Provides financials on registered charities as disclosed by those charities in their T3010 annual return
Annual Reports and Corporate Filings
Annual Reports provide a whole picture of what a company did in the preceding year. Some, especially those filed with EDGAR, are very detailed and might break down things like subsidiaries and unit sales.
- AnnualReports.comAnnualReports.com provides instant access to annual reports for companies in North America and Europe.
- SEDARFind corporate filings, including Annual Reports, Management Analysis and Discussion (MD&A), and financial statements, from every public Canadian company.
- EDGARThe source from the United States Securities Exchange Commission to find all corporate filings for companies publicly traded in the United States of America. See 10-K forms for Annual Reports, 10-Q forms for Quarterly Reports and 8-K forms for any time in between when a major event happens that shareholders need to know about.
Information on Bonds/Fixed Income
- Mergent Online This link opens in a new windowMergent Online includes Mergent Bondviewer.
This has both active and inactive bond issues, including Canadian bonds. Find your bond in 2 ways.
1. SEARCH for a specific bond by clicking on the Bond Search tab.
2. BROWSE bonds issued by an entity. First, search for your company in the main Company details tab. Then, browse all Fixed Income issues from the company by clicking on the link called Long Term Debt.
