Get started on your research projects using this guide created for SOCI 12029G students at Sheridan College. Find suggested databases where you can find journal articles, ebooks, newspapers, and more. Do you need research help? Check out the Research Tips Guide. For more information on how to cite sources in APA Style, please review the Cite it Right Guide.
Just getting started on your research? The best place to search the library collections is through Page 1+.
Adoptive Families Blended/Step Families Foster Families Immigrant/Refugee Families
Lone-Parent Families LGBTQ+ Families Skip-Generation Families Teen Parent Families
Video by Sheridan Library.
Websites
Finding good quality sources is an important skill to learn and develop throughout your studies. Ensure that you choose the best sources for your assignments, by reviewing Sheridan Library's Evaluating Websites guide.
For your assignment, you may consider finding community services that support your population group. Check out these community services databases:
Locate Statistics
Are you curious to know who lives in your community? Locate demographic data by searching the below databases:
- Statista This link opens in a new windowAccess to data from over 18,000 sources including industry reports, dossiers, and statistics, including Statistics Canada. Download images, PPT slides, Excel files and more.
Permitted Uses - Statistics Canada This link opens in a new windowProvides statistical information and analysis about Canada’s economic and social structure. Open to the public.
Permitted Uses
Databases
Browse the list of selected databases to find newspapers, scholarly journal articles, or ebooks. A complete list of collections is viewable through Sheridan Library's A-Z List.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window EBSCO Over 8500 full-text journals; more than half are peer-reviewed. Multi-disciplinary. Permitted Uses
- Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new window Proquest Over 300 full-text Canadian newspapers from Canada's leading newspaper dailies, including The Globe and Mail, Toronto Star, and more. Part of the ProQuest Central Collection. Permitted Uses
- Canadian Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window EBSCO A series of short essays that present multiple perspectives on over 120 key Canadian topics. Multi-disciplinary. Permitted Uses
- Canada Commons This link opens in a new window Canadian Electronic Library Canadian e-books, government documents, and grey literature, primarily on health, government, and public policy from Canadian Public Documents Collection. Includes the Canadian Public Policy Collection and the Canadian Health Research Collection. Formerly called desLibris.
- Education Source This link opens in a new window EBSCO Over 1,800 journals, more than 550 books and monographs, and numerous education-related conference papers. Permitted Uses
- ERIC This link opens in a new window EBSCO Reports and articles from professional associations, research centers, policy organizations, university presses, the U.S. Department of Education and other government agencies. Permitted Uses
- Gale In Context: Canada This link opens in a new window Gale Over 1,500 full-text journals and magazines on a broad range of Canadian topics, people, places, and events, as well as over 100 reference works, numerous primary sources, integrated audio, video, images and global news feeds. Multi-disciplinary. Permitted Uses
- Gale OneFile: Diversity Studies This link opens in a new window Gale Over 260 full-text journals focused on cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community. Permitted Uses
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window Search across multiple databases from ProQuest with one search. Note: Recommend using Firefox or Google Chrome. Permitted Uses
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window EBSCO Over 860 full-text journals dating back to 1908, full-text for more than 850 books, as well as selected conference papers from the field of sociology. Permitted Uses
Videos
Are you looking for videos to learn more about Canadian families, or tutorials to enhance your presentation skills? Sheridan Library has you covered! Check out our video collections.
Curio: Thousands of programs and documentaries from CBC Canada and Radio-Canada. See the Curio Guide for details.
Films on Demand provides over 14,000 documentary and educational videos from a wide variety of producers, such BBC, National Geographic, Cengage Learning, PBS, TED, and Scientific American Frontiers.
LinkedIn Learning offers over 1,000 videos related to business, technology, design, and software training. These "how-to" videos are short and easy to follow, clearly taking the viewer step-by-step.
