Find Sources

Welcome SOCS 12029G Students!

This research guide will provide you with ideas on where to locate resources for your assignments in Understanding Families, especially peer-reviewed journal articles. Check out the Research Tips Page for strategies and techniques that will help you to build a search strategy, and the Citation Page for APA Style support.

Step 1: Identify Your Research Topic

When you get your assignment, review this video to learn how to pick a well-focused research topic:

Video by Sheridan Library available on YouTube.

Step 2: Find Books

Working with Families (Print)

Telling Our Stories (Print & eBook)

Sociology of Home: Belonging, Community, and Place in the Canadian Context (Print)

Marriages, Families, and Relationships (Print)

Family Matters: An Introduction to Family Sociology in Canada (Print)

The Family Dynamic: Canadian Perspectives (Print)

Use this search box to find more books in Sheridan Library:

Step 3: Select Databases

Build a search in this select list of databases or refer to Sheridan Library's complete list of collections to find more sources:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window EBSCO Over 8500 full-text journals; more than half are peer-reviewed. Multi-disciplinary. Permitted Uses
Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new window Proquest Over 300 full-text Canadian newspapers from Canada's leading newspaper dailies, including The Globe and Mail, Toronto Star, and more. Part of the ProQuest Central Collection. Permitted Uses
Education Source This link opens in a new window EBSCO Over 1,800 journals, more than 550 books and monographs, and numerous education-related conference papers. Permitted Uses
ERIC This link opens in a new window EBSCO Reports and articles from professional associations, research centers, policy organizations, university presses, the U.S. Department of Education and other government agencies. Permitted Uses
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window Infobase Thousands of online videos, archival films and newsreels. Multidisciplinary. See the Films on Demand Guide for details and permitted uses. Permitted Uses
Gale OneFile: Diversity Studies This link opens in a new window Gale Over 260 full-text journals focused on cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community. Permitted Uses
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window Search across multiple databases from ProQuest with one search. Note: Recommend using Firefox or Google Chrome. Permitted Uses
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window EBSCO Over 860 full-text journals dating back to 1908, full-text for more than 850 books, as well as selected conference papers from the field of sociology. Permitted Uses
Statista This link opens in a new window Access to data from over 18,000 sources including industry reports, dossiers, and statistics, including Statistics Canada. Download images, PPT slides, Excel files and more. Permitted Uses
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window Over 2,000 high quality scientific journals covering science, health, and humanities. Permitted Uses

Step 4: Browse More Guides

Review these research guides if you are searching for sources:

SOCI 12029G - Understanding Families

Librarian