Start Here
The moving picture collection includes specially curated film titles in both hardcopy and digital format. We work closely with faculty to curate films that are useful and relevant to the curriculum at Sheridan. In this guide, you'll find a variety of ways to access the collection. Chat with Us if you have any questions!
Search the Library
Use keywords to search across both our shelves and online databases, all in one search.
Search Tips:
Enter the title in Search the Library box (above).
We've already applied filters, so you should only see our video collections in the results.
Go to Advanced Search.
Select Publisher from the All Fields drop-down menu.
Enter the studio name in the box.
Select Video Recording and Streaming Video from the Content Type filter.
Go to Advanced Search.
Select Subject from the All Fields drop-down menu.
Enter the subject in the box.
Select Video Recording and Streaming Video from the Content Type filter.
Are we missing a key title? Please complete the Suggest a Title form.
Borrow DVDs
DVDs are searchable through Search the Library and can be borrowed for up to 3 days. The library also provides DVD players upon request. Learn more about how to Borrow, Renew, Hold.
To locate a DVD on library shelves, please provide the title and call number to library staff at the campus where the film is located.
Search Databases
Each database below holds a unique collection of online videos. You can search for film titles across all of these collections at once by using the Search the Library box above and selecting Electronic Resources from the filters. Or, browse and search each database individually below.
- Kanopy Streaming Service This link opens in a new windowStreaming video platform providing access to a hand-picked selection of educational videos and moving picture films.
- Audio Cine Films This link opens in a new windowStreaming video from Audio Cine Films film distributors in Canada. Contains new releases, documentaries, comedies, action/adventure, and more.
- Criterion On-Demand This link opens in a new windowA large database of popular feature-films and documentaries.
- NFB Education: National Film Board of Canada This link opens in a new windowA collection of films and interactive stories by the National Film Board of Canada.
- Hotdocs Library This link opens in a new windowOver 100 films from Canada's rich documentary film-making history. Open to the public.
In addition, many broadcasting corporations or film producers provide their own platform for viewing content. Browse CBC Gem, PBS, BBC, and more.
For technical help, see the Streaming Video Collections guide.
Lists of Films
When searching in the library, it's usually helpful to have a title or director or production company in mind when you search. If you're not there yet, but you have certain criteria to fulfill (director demographic, country of origin, or topic), browsing these public sites may be helpful.
- IMDb: Advanced Title SearchOne of the most comprehensive online databases of movie and tv shows. Find titles by genre, awards, country, language, film location, plot, and more.
- All Movie: Advanced SearchUse the filters to narrow by genre, themes, mood, and tone.
Film Awards
- IMDb: Festival CentralBrowse historical winners and nominations from the ABFF, Toronto, Cannes, and Sundance Festivals, by year.
- IMDb: Awards CentralBrowse award winners and nominations from the Oscars, Globes, Emmys, BAFTAs, SAGs, Spirits, and Critics Choice awards, by year.
Specialty Sites
- National Canadian Film DayNational Canadian Film Day is a massive one-day, coast-to-coast-to-coast celebration of Canadian cinema. The site provides useful information about films by Canadian film-makers.
- Library & Archives Canada: Canadian Feature Film DatabaseA list of Canadian feature films from published information up to 2006, featuring over 4,300 films. Search by title, keyword, and year of production.
- Films for Action: A Digital Library for People who want to Change the WorldIncludes over 1,000 free documentaries and 4,000 short films, plus over 150 pay-per-view documentaries, spanning 34 topics related to changing the world.
- Internet Archive: Moving Image ArchiveLinks to a wide variety of online collections of film and film-related content.
- American Film Institute: Catalog of Feature FilmsA comprehensive catalog of the first century of American film. Search by title, director, cast, genre, or subject.
- Black Film Center/ArchiveProvides lists of films. Browse by title or director.
- CineFilesUseful for finding international films. Find films by title, director, release year, country, language, or genre.
- Women Film Pioneers ProjectProvides overviews of topics in film as well as more than 310 profiles of women pioneers in film-making. Provides links to additional resources.
- Women Make Movies: CatalogA searchable list of over 700 films by and about women. Search by subject, geography, decade, or filmmaker.
