Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Streaming Video Collections

About this Guide

This guide is designed by Sheridan library staff to help you make the most of the library's video content. Within this guide, you will find:

  • Tips on finding relevant videos and tutorials for your courses
  • Instructions on how to find and use persistent links and embed codes
  • FAQs about the collections' content and technical requirements

To navigate through this guide, use the menu to the left (or, if using a mobile device, the menu will be above) to select a relevant collection.

Finding Online Videos

The library offers a wide variety of online streaming videos for educational purposes.  There are a number of options to search these collections:

Search a specific video database

  • Search directly in one of our video databases (example: Films on Demand), accessible through the Database A-Z list.
  • Each database is updated immediately with new additions, and offers a variety of ways to discover content (keyword search, subject categories, search by studio, etc.).

Search Summon

  • Search for the title or keyword in the Summon search box on the homepage; from the left hand menu under Content Type select Video Recording.
  • Summon searches across most of our video collections. It is updated regularly.

Search the Catalogue

  • Search for the title or keyword in the Catalogue search box on the homepage.
  • The catalogue also searches across multiple collections, but tends to offer a more precise search than Summon.