All Guides: Nutritional Sciences: Find Sources

Find Sources

Welcome Students!

Just getting started on your research? Here are a few suggested topics to search: Additives, agricultural production, biology, calories, chemistry, consumption, diet, disease, food flavoring, food habits, food recall, food security, hunger, ingredients, labels, malnutrition, metabolism, packaging, supplements, and vitamins.

Featured Books

Food to Grow On (Print)

Sports & Exercise Nutrition (Print)

Health, Safety, & Nutrition for the Young Child (Print)

Nutrition Now (Print)

Nutrition for Sports, Exercise & Performance (Print)

Health: The Basics (Print)

Foundations for Health Promotion (Print)

Books are available in print as well as digital format through a number of databases. You can find book titles by searching the library below:

Search the Library

Resources by Subject

This video discusses the history of Canada's Food Guide and explains the current version:

Video by Globe and Mail available on YouTube.

Learn more:

Canada's dietary guidelines (website & PDF report)
This site has information from Health Canada including healthy eating recommendations.
Health Canada's healthy eating strategy (website)
A website from Health Canada that has information about healthy eating and nutrition.
History of Canada's Food Guides from 1942 to 2007 (ebook)
This source contains a history of Canada's Food Guide. Available in Sheridan Library online.
Understanding the human body (video series)
Credo Reference's Understanding the Human Body video series has information on blood circulation, the nervous system, respiration, nutrition, and more. Available in Sheridan Library online.

Food labels contain nutritional facts like a list of ingredients and nutritional claims. Review these select resources to learn about food labels:

Shopping smart (video series)
From Films on Demand database, this video series describes product labels and how one can read them to make food choices.
Understanding food labels (website)
A Government of Canada website that contains information about labels, nutrition claims, serving sizes, etc.
Understanding food labels in Canada (web article)
From UnlockFood.ca, this web article has information about nutrition facts tables, and how to use them.

Learn More:

Nutrition by David M. Haugen (Editor); Susan Musser (Editor)
Publication Date: 2012
"This collection of essays are arranged in a for-or-against sequence, which provides readers with a balanced understanding of issues relating to nutrition. Across four chapters, readers will explore how nutrition has changed from modern food production, what should be done to improve nutrition, what influence societal factors have on it, and what personal nutrition and dietary choices impact health."
Understanding Nutrition by Eleanor Noss Whitney; Sharon Rady Rolfes
Publication Date: 2011
"...This text includes 20 chapters beginning with core nutrition topics; such as, diet planning, macronutrients, vitamins and minerals, and following with chapters on diet and health, fitness, life span nutrition, food safety, and world hunger."--

Sheridan Library subscribes to databases that contain legislation and cases including these collections:

Lexis Advance Quicklaw This link opens in a new window
Access to Canadian legislation, court cases, tribunals, arbitration decisions, and legal journals. Funded by The Law Foundation of Ontario.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Contains over 15,000 news, legal and business sources. Coverage includes news and current events, government, business, medical, legal and general reference.
Permitted Uses

Learn more:

If you're looking for sources about healthy communities, Sheridan Library subscribes to a number of health databases:

Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
Access over 200 journals on complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health and wellness.
Canada Commons This link opens in a new window
Find Canadian ebooks, government documents, and grey literature sources primarily on health, government, and public policy topics.
Family Health Database This link opens in a new window
Contains over 550 publications about family health topics.
Gale Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window
Access nearly 400 journals, 700 health-related videos, articles from 2,200 magazines, and a broad collection of Gale reference titles.
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Search over 80 full-text health magazines, 100 reference books, pamphlets, and over 18,000 Clinical Reference Systems reports geared to the general public.
Public Health Database This link opens in a new window
ProQuest
Delivering core public health literature with centralized access to over 800 publications with over 500 in full-text. Part of the ProQuest Central Collection.
Permitted Uses

Learn More:

Canadian Community As Partner: Theory and multidisciplinary practice (5th edition) by Vollman
Publication Date: 2022
"Since the first edition of Canadian Community as Partner: Theory & Multidisciplinary Practice was published, Ardene has had the pleasure of meeting many public health and community practitioners and students who have used the book to learn and to inform their practice"--
Health Promotion in Multicultural Populations by Robert M. Huff (Editor); Michael V. Kline (Editor); Darleen V. Peterson (Editor)
Publication Date: 2015
"Edited by Robert M. Huff, Michael V. Kline, and Darleen V. Peterson, the Third Edition of Health Promotion in Multicultural Populations offers both students and practitioners an indispensable resource on assessment and implementation guidelines for promoting health and enhancing behaviors that optimize health in any cultural community"--

Nutritional Sciences

Librarian

Find Sources

Welcome Students!

Featured Books

Food to Grow On (Print)

Sports & Exercise Nutrition (Print)

Health, Safety, & Nutrition for the Young Child (Print)

Nutrition Now (Print)

Nutrition for Sports, Exercise & Performance (Print)

Health: The Basics (Print)

Foundations for Health Promotion (Print)

Search the Library

Resources by Subject

Learn more:

Learn More:

Learn more:

Learn More:

Connect with us