Law and Public Safety

International law journals and key legal reference texts, such as Canada Supreme Court Reports, and Revised Statutes of Canada.
Permitted Uses

LexisNexis
Formerly: Lawyer's Daily
Canadian legal news, analysis and current awareness for lawyers and legal professionals.

Contains extensive Canadian case law, legislation, and commentary: Canadian Encyclopedic Digest and other legal journals and reviews.
Permitted Uses

Access to Canadian legislation, court cases, tribunals, arbitration decisions, and legal journals. Funded by The Law Foundation of Ontario.

EBSCO
Over 100 full-text journals covering the field of psychology.
Permitted Uses

LexisNexis
Canadian legislation, cases, and legal journals. Funded by The Law Foundation of Ontario.
This database has been changed to Lexis Advance Quicklaw
Permitted Uses

EBSCO
Over 860 full-text journals dating back to 1908, full-text for more than 850 books, as well as selected conference papers from the field of sociology.
Permitted Uses

Encyclopedic Digest and other legal journals and reviews.
Permitted Uses

EBSCO
Over 220,000 ebooks. Multidisciplinary.
Permitted Uses

EBSCO
Over 8500 full-text journals; more than half are peer-reviewed. Multi-disciplinary.
Permitted Uses

McGraw-Hill
Engineering handbooks, videos, news, and interactive tables and graphs.
Up to 7 users at a time.
Permitted Uses

EBSCO
Company and industry profiles, SWOT analysis, market research, case studies, and nearly 2,000 peer-reviewed journals.
Permitted Uses

Proquest
Over 300 full-text Canadian newspapers from Canada's leading newspaper dailies, including The Globe and Mail, Toronto Star, and more. Part of the ProQuest Central Collection.
Permitted Uses

Canadian federal and provincial legislation and cases.
Permitted Uses

CBC/Radio-Canada
Access this open archive of thousands of broadcasts from CBC (requires Windows Media Player).
Permitted Uses

Proquest
Include journals and magazines from the social sciences, humanities, and sciences. Part of the ProQuest Central Collection.
Permitted Uses

Credo
Over 600 Encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, and quotations books, as well as images, audio files and videos. Multidisciplinary.
Permitted Uses

Proquest
U.S. and international criminal justice journals. Part of the ProQuest Central Collection.
Permitted Uses

CBC/Radio-Canada
Thousands of programs and documentaries from CBC Canada and Radio-Canada. See the Curio Guide for details.

DOAJ
A directory of open access journals.

Ontario Government
Ontario's statutes and regulations, both consolidated and source law. Permitted Uses

Proquest
Thousands of downloadable e-book titles covering a wide range of all academic disciplines. Includes the College Complete Collection, made available by the Colleges eBook Consortium Project.
Note: Use Firefox, Chrome or Safari. Edge is not supported by this database. Number of permitted users varies by title. Permitted Uses

EBSCO
Search across multiple databases from EBSCO at once. Click the check boxes beside the databases you want to search.

EBSCO
Over 250,000 ebooks. Multidisciplinary.
Note:Number of concurrent users varies by title. Download select titles for 3 days.Permitted Uses

Infobase
Thousands of online videos, archival films and newsreels. Multidisciplinary.​ See the Films on Demand Guide for details and permitted uses.
Permitted Uses

Google
For off-campus access.
To configure Google Scholar to recognize articles from Sheridan's collection, you will need to use this special proxy link, then go to Settings > Library Links and search for Sheridan. IP authentication is necessary for accessing library resources.

All IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines, as well as the proceedings from 125 IEEE conferences, over 1000 ebooks from MIT and Wiley-IEEE Press, as well as all active IEEE standards.
Permitted Uses

EBSCO
Over 970 full-text journals and magazines, 1.6 million images, maps and flags, and 40 reference titles. Multidisciplinary.
Permitted Uses

EBSCO
More then 260 full-text journals and magazines covering military and government issues.
Permitted Uses

Full-text and abstracts of publications by agencies assiciated with the U.S. Dept. of Justice covering all areas of law. Includes Canadian content. Open to the public.
Permitted Uses

Contains over 15,000 news, legal and business sources. Coverage includes news and current events, government, business, medical, legal and general reference.
Permitted Uses

National Film Board of Canada’s online video database. Multidisciplinary.
For faculty access, please submit a ticket to the Library Helpdesk. See the NFB Guide for technical details.
Permitted Uses

Photographs, maps, videos, audio recordings, government documents, and other media from Ontario organizations.
Permitted Uses

Over 29,000 government documents from the collection of the Ontario Legislative Library, with new documents being added quarterly.
Permitted Uses

200 years of Ontario newspapers available online. Includes news article indexing, BMD indexes and clippings, and some full page issue access.
Permitted Uses

Over 2,000 full-page, full color U.S. and international newspapers.
Please note:Globe & Mail content in PressReader is licensed for on-site access only.
Permitted Uses

Search across multiple databases from ProQuest with one search.
Note: Recommend using Firefox or Google Chrome. Permitted Uses

Sage
Over 600 full-text SAGE journals covering business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine. Access to content from 2012 - 2024.
Permitted Uses

A web-based mapping, analytics and data visualization program providing demographic information including census data from Statistics Canada, current year estimates and 5-year projections of demographic data from Environics, household spending data on hundreds of goods and services, and over 1 million Canadian business profiles from Dun & Bradstreet. Data is available at the following geographies: Province/Territories, Census Metro Areas, Census Divisions, Forward Sortation Areas, Census Subdivisions, Census Tracts and Dissemination Areas.
Up to 5 users at a time. Users will be prompted to sign up for an account, but this is not required. Sign in as a guest for this option.
Permitted Uses

Over 2000 journals, 6,000 perpetual purchase ebooks, and 50 reference works from Springer, a leading scientific, technical and medical publisher. Includes peer-reviewed articles.
Permitted Uses

Provides statistical information and analysis about Canada’s economic and social structure. Open to the public.
Permitted Uses

Over 2,000 high quality scientific journals covering science, health, and humanities.
Permitted Uses