All Guides: Paralegal: Find Sources

Find Sources

Welcome Paralegal Students!

You can access a range of sources for your assignments on this guide. If you don't know where to start, try searching the recommended databases for books, articles, and videos. Check out the Research Help page to learn how to build database searches as well as the Citation Help page for McGill Style support.

Print Legal Reference Collection

These select resources are available in Sheridan Library's legal reference collection at the Davis campus:

Statutes of Canada
A published record of Canadian law up to 2012. Call number: KE89 .C32. Annual Statutes are available online on the Justice Laws Website.
Revised Statutes of Canada, 1985
Consolidated Statues of Canada that includes amendments to the original act. Call number: KE 89 1985. Search the Justice Laws Website for consolidated laws of Canada.
Revised Statutes of Ontario, 1990
Consolidated Statues of Ontario that includes amendments to the original act. Call number: KEO 185.O56. Search CanLII for the R.S.O online.

These select resources are available in Sheridan Library's legal reference collection at the Davis campus:

The Canadian Statute Citator, R.S.C. 1985 Edition
Contains a summary of cases that have considered a statues, or section of a statute. In print only. Call number: KE106 .C25
The Ontario Statute Citator, R.S.O. 1990 Edition
Contains a summary of cases that have considered a statues, or section of a statute. In print only. Call number: KEO144 .O57 1990

These select resources are available in Sheridan Library's legal reference collection at the Davis campus:

The Canadian Encyclopedic Digest
An overview of subjects in Canadian law. The C.E.D is available in print at the Davis campus, and online online via LawSource.

These select resources are available in Sheridan Library's legal reference collection at the Davis campus:

Ontario Reports (Multiple Series Available)
Available in print at the Davis campus. Call number: KEO117.2 .O5722
Dominion Law Reports (4th Series)
Call number not available. Visit the Legal Reference section at Sheridan's Davis Library.

List of Databases

Search for resources like encyclopedias, videos, and electronic journals our alphabetical list of databases:

Databases with Legislation and Cases:

CanLII: Canadian Legal Information Institute This link opens in a new window Canadian federal and provincial legislation and cases. Permitted Uses
E-Laws This link opens in a new window Ontario Government Ontario's statutes and regulations, both consolidated and source law. Permitted Uses
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window International law journals and key legal reference texts, such as Canada Supreme Court Reports, and Revised Statutes of Canada. Permitted Uses
LawSource (WestlawNext Canada) This link opens in a new window Contains extensive Canadian case law, legislation, and commentary: Canadian Encyclopedic Digest and other legal journals and reviews.
Lexis Advance Quicklaw This link opens in a new window Access to Canadian legislation, court cases, tribunals, arbitration decisions, and legal journals. Funded by The Law Foundation of Ontario.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Contains over 15,000 news, legal and business sources. Coverage includes news and current events, government, business, medical, legal and general reference. Permitted Uses

Databases with Journals:

Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new window Proquest U.S. and international criminal justice journals. Part of the ProQuest Central Collection. Permitted Uses
Gale OneFile: Criminal Justice This link opens in a new window Gale Over 360 Journals covering U.S. and International corrections, forensics, criminal law and more. Permitted Uses
Gale OneFile: Diversity Studies This link opens in a new window Gale Over 260 full-text journals focused on cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community. Permitted Uses
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window EBSCO Over 100 full-text journals covering the field of psychology. Permitted Uses
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window EBSCO Over 860 full-text journals dating back to 1908, full-text for more than 850 books, as well as selected conference papers from the field of sociology. Permitted Uses

Databases with eBooks:

Canada Commons This link opens in a new window Canadian Electronic Library Canadian e-books, government documents, and grey literature, primarily on health, government, and public policy from Canadian Public Documents Collection. Includes the Canadian Public Policy Collection and the Canadian Health Research Collection. Formerly called desLibris.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window Proquest Thousands of downloadable e-book titles covering a wide range of all academic disciplines. Includes the College Complete Collection, made available by the Colleges eBook Consortium Project. Note: Use Firefox, Chrome or Safari. Edge is not supported by this database. Number of permitted users varies by title. Permitted Uses
EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window EBSCO Over 250,000 ebooks. Multidisciplinary. Note:Number of concurrent users varies by title. Download select titles for 3 days.Permitted Uses

Databases with Statistics:

Statista This link opens in a new window Access to data from over 18,000 sources including industry reports, dossiers, and statistics, including Statistics Canada. Download images, PPT slides, Excel files and more. Permitted Uses
Statistics Canada This link opens in a new window Provides statistical information and analysis about Canada’s economic and social structure. Open to the public. Permitted Uses

Databases with News, Opinions and Digests:

Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new window Proquest Over 300 full-text Canadian newspapers from Canada's leading newspaper dailies, including The Globe and Mail, Toronto Star, and more. Part of the ProQuest Central Collection. Permitted Uses
Global Breaking Newswires This link opens in a new window ProQuest A full-text news database, updated 3 times daily, with access the newswire content available globally, including: Dow Jones Industrial News and Canada Press. Part of the ProQuest Central Collection. Permitted Uses
Law360 This link opens in a new window LexisNexis Formerly: Lawyer's Daily Canadian legal news, analysis and current awareness for lawyers and legal professionals.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Contains over 15,000 news, legal and business sources. Coverage includes news and current events, government, business, medical, legal and general reference. Permitted Uses
PressReader This link opens in a new window Over 2,000 full-page, full color U.S. and international newspapers. Please note:Globe & Mail content in PressReader is licensed for on-site access only. Permitted Uses

Journal Spotlight

Refer to the eJournal Portal to browse journals by title, keyword, and topic. A short list of journals is provided below.

Websites

Review Sheridan Library's Evaluating Websites guide to support you in choosing the best online resources. Here are a few suggestions on the web to get you started:

Paralegal

Librarian

Find Sources

Welcome Paralegal Students!

Practice Management for Paralegals (Print)

Canadian Communication Policy and Law (eBook)

Legal Research Step by Step (Print)

Legal Literacy (eBook)

Contract and Tort Law for Paralegals (Print)

Canadian Law Dictionary (Print)

Small Claims Court: Procedure and Practice (Print)

Canadian Law (Print)

Foundations of Criminal & Civil Law in Canada (Print)

Ethics and Professional Practice for Paralegals (Print)

Print Legal Reference Collection

List of Databases

Databases with Legislation and Cases:

Databases with Journals:

Databases with eBooks:

Databases with Statistics:

Databases with News, Opinions and Digests:

Journal Spotlight

Websites

Paralegal

Librarian

Find Sources

Welcome Paralegal Students!

Print Legal Reference Collection

List of Databases

Databases with Legislation and Cases:

Databases with Journals:

Databases with eBooks:

Databases with Statistics:

Databases with News, Opinions and Digests:

Journal Spotlight

Websites

Connect with us