Page 1+ User Guide

Page 1+ is a one-stop search engine that gives you easy access to the Sheridan Library's collection. Using Page 1+, you can search ebooks, print books, databases, course readings, streaming videos, journals and magazines. Page 1+ can also be used to search SOURCE and the eCampus Ontario OER collection.

What is not searchable in Page 1+?

The majority of our digital collection is available in Page 1+. If you are looking for specific databases, view the full collection on the A-Z Databases list and browse by title or subject.

If you want to know if a specific database is searchable please feel free to submit a ticket and we will get back to you.

To log in to your account on Page 1+:

1. Go to Page 1+
2. Click Sign in in the top right corner of the screen
   • Use your Sheridan username and password to log in
   • Please note in you are already logged in elsewhere (i.e. SLATE) you will be automatically taken into your account
3. Click Your Name in the top right of the screen, and select Library Account from the dropdown menu

From your Library Account in Page 1+ you can see your loans, requested items and fines.

See Borrowing Services for more details.

To place a hold on and item in Page 1+:

1. Go to Page 1+
2. Click Sign in in the top right corner of the screen
   • Use your Sheridan username and password to log in
   • Please note in you are already logged in elsewhere (i.e. SLATE) you will be automatically taken into your account
3. Look for your title, and select the record
4. Scroll down and select "Request"
5. Fill out the pop-up form with where you would like to pick up the item
6. Click send request, the request should now appear in your account

Please note: You will be notified by email when your request is ready for pick up.

From your Library Account on Page 1+ you can see your hold requests and the stats of your requests.

To renew items you have borrowed from the library in Page 1+:

1. Go to Page 1+
2. Click Sign in in the top right corner of the screen
   • Use your Sheridan username and password to log in
   • Please note in you are already logged in elsewhere (i.e. SLATE) you will be automatically taken into your account
3. Once logged in select "My Loans" from your account menu
4. Select all items you want to renew and click "Renew"
5. Your items should now have a new due date

Please note: You will not be able to renew items if someone else has placed a request on the item, or you have reached your renewal limit on the item.

Renewal periods vary by type of item:

• Books can be renewed for 14 days. You are allowed to renew books twice
• Periodicals can be renewed for 7 days
• AV material can be renewed for 2 nights (but only once) if there is no booking for the item

• Begin with a keyword search and pre-filter your results by selecting one of the search scopes in the drop-down menu (i.e., articles, course reserves, etc.)
• Page 1+ will automatically search across multiple library databases to find books, journals, newspapers, videos, and more.
• Use the filters on the left side menu to limit your results by resource type, subject terms, campus location, data source, publication date and more.
• Check under Availability to find library materials that are physically held in the library, or limit your search to just online content.
• For more search tips check out Searching Page 1+

Page 1+ supports the following browsers and phones:

*For all browsers, you must enable JavaScript, and SSL 3.0

Desktop devices:

• Chrome
• Firefox
• Safari
• Microsoft Edge

Mobile devices:

Page 1+ has a responsive design that allows it to support any screen size and resolution and is compatible with the latest official versions of iOS and Android

See Supported browsers and mobile devices

When viewing search results it's important to keep in mind what kind of resources you are accessing. You will be able to tell what type of resource it is by looking at the first line of each result.

Common types of results include:

• Books (online and hardcopy)
• Articles (online)
• Video
• And more!

You may notice some other features in your search results, to learn more about those features look at our interactive guide.

Yes! There are several special collections you can search with Page 1+:

• eCampus Ontario OER collection
• SOURCE
• Library Guides
• And more!

To see resources from these collections, search your topic. Then using the Data Source filter on the left side of the results page, select the collection you are interested in.