FactSet - Getting Started: Start here

NOTE: Use your Sheridan email (for example, username@sheridancollege.ca) for registration or look up your FactSet username. UPN address (for example, username@shernet.sheridancollege.ca) is NOT your actual email and you won't be able to receive any emails at the address that contains shernet portion.

FactSet is a research database that provides global company and industry data, analytical tools and data feeds.  It is used by finance professionals worldwide, so using it will help you build a database skill that can be added to your resume.  

Coverage includes:

• Financial data on 79,000+ global public and private companies.  Historical coverage for developed markets dates back to the 1980s.  Emerging markets coverage starts in the 1990s
• 3,000+ financial data items for companies in 116+ countries
• Historical financial data on 5,000 global indices, as well as fixed income, commodities, alternative investments markets and more

Campus-wide access to FactSet for academic & noncommercial use by students & faculty has been made possible by the Sheridan Library with support from the Pilon School of Business. 

All Sheridan students will use "FactSet Web" which is accessible through the web.

Sheridan faculty and staff can choose between the "FactSet Workstation" software (includes an Excel Add-In) or FactSet Web.  If you select the software, installation instructions will be emailed to you from FactSet.

Step 1: Register

• Sheridan courses using FactSet will have IDs set up at the beginning of term  
  • Not taking a course that uses FactSet? You can still request an account using your @sheridancollege.ca email address at https://advantage.factset.com/academic_idrequest
• Completion the registration form. After 5-7 business days, you will receive an email from FactSet with your login information

Step 2: Login

Login Instructions

The FactSet Web application launches in your web browser!

• Open a web browser and navigate to https://my.factset.com
• Click on Register on the right side of the screen and input your factset.net ID. You will be emailed a one-time passcode that you will need to set your permanent password.

Watch a video demonstrating FactSet Web (6m,2s)

Need help logging in?  

• Refer to the FactSet Web email that is sent to your Sheridan College email address (not your SLATE email.)
• Contact the 24/7 Helpdesk at 1-877-FACTSET (1-877-322-8738) and press 1.

Students should work with FactSet for technical help -- they are the experts! 

Contact FactSet for tech help  -- they are the experts!  

Call the Help Desk 1-877-322-8738

Still unable to access your account?

• email Sheridan's PSB Technologist for troubleshooting
• use the computers in the Learning Commons at all campus Libraries to access FactSet