Skip to Main Content

Introduction to Academic Research

Choosing Databases

Much like Netflix, library databases are sites on the Internet, each holding a unique collection of publications -- articles, or books, or videos, or other. Databases are carefully selected by librarians for their relevance to Sheridan programs. The library pays for subscriptions to a wide variety so that all students have equal access to key sources of information for their studies. Watch What's the difference between a research database and Google? (2:34).

When choosing a database, consider:
 

Most databases focus on a specific subject area. For example, some will focus on publications related to nursing, others on engineering. A few databases are considered multi-disciplinary, in that they cover publications from a wide variety of subject areas.

Librarians have created Research Guides aligned to specific subject areas. Browse research guides for your subject area to discover the best databases for your topic.

Read the database description in the Database A-Z list to learn what subject areas are covered.

Most databases will only provide certain types of publications. For example, some will provide ebooks, others will provide journal articles. Some databases will provide a mix of publications -- books, articles, reports, and more.

Read the database description in the Database A-Z list to learn what types of publications are covered.

See: Types of Sources

Most databases offer full-text coverage of all of their publications. However, some academic journal databases will provide citations or abstracts only for some or all of the articles in the database.

Read the database description in the Database A-Z list to see if full-text articles are included.

See: Finding Full-Text Articles


Explore a few databases from your faculty.
 

Animation, Art & Design

Business

Health & Community Studies

Humanities & Social Sciences

Science & Engineering

Multi-disciplinary

See our Full list of Library Databases.

Learn More

Chat with Us if you have any questions about choosing or accessing databases.

Connect with us