Accessibility Support

Universal access is a core value of Library and Learning Services.  Our staff strive to ensure that all services and collections are flexible, responsive and accessible to meet the needs of all of our users. For a full list of library services, see Services & Resources.

Accessible features at each campus library include:

  • accessibility to users of mobility devices
  • exterior automated door openers for all main entrances
  • lowered service counters
  • lowered computer tables at the self-service quick reference kiosks (Trafalgar only)
  • headphones available for borrowing (please request from the service desk)
  • designated rooms for registered AL students only

Users have access to quiet study spaces at HMC, Trafalgar and Davis.  The enclosed quiet study space at HMC is equipped with an automatic door opener. The above services are not applicable during campus closure.

Yes - assistive technology software is managed by Accessible Learning (AL), and made available in designated rooms in each Library Learning Commons for the exclusive use of AL students (not applicable during campus closure). These rooms are managed by AL staff and feature height-adjustable workstations and automated door openers. They are available for use during regular library hours.

To obtain swipe access for these rooms or to learn more about the available assistive technology, please refer to the AL website.

Yes. Assistance with photocopying, printing and POS devices is offered by library staff by request for accommodation/accessibility purposes. Please note that library staff cannot, and should not, have access to network passwords – passwords must be entered by the user.

Yes. Library staff are able to assist users in retrieving print materials from shelves on request. Immediate requests will be accommodated as quickly as possible taking staffing levels into account. Whenever possible, users are encouraged to contact library staff at least 24 hours in advance with requests to retrieve materials. Call numbers for books and volume/issue/page numbers for journal articles must be provided with requests. Retrieved materials will be held behind the library service desk.

Yes. For those requiring alternate formats for materials held in the Sheridan Library collection, the library will provide an accessible format of print, digital or multimedia resources upon request.

  • For Textbooks: Contact Accessible Learning.
  • For books in print: Use the Accessible Content E-portal (ACE).  ACE is a repository of books in accessible format that is managed by Scholar’s Portal, a service of the Ontario Council of University Libraries.  ACE provides books in the following formats: colour PDF, black & white PDF, DAISY, plain text and e-pub.  Please note that ACE is accessible to current students, faculty and staff only and may only be accessed by users with a verified perceptual disability. If you require access to ACE or if you are a user who fulfills the above criteria, please contact Madeleine Crew (Access and Instructional Support Technician) for further assistance.
  • For video transcripts: All videos created by Library and Learning Services include transcripts, provided online.
  • For eCor Readings: Library staff can provide alternate formats of eCOR readings upon request.

Questions? Please contact Madeleine Crew (Access and Instructional Support Technician).  Please ensure that all requests are issued to the Library as soon as possible - some alternate format requests may take longer to process than others due to issues with the publisher, physical state of the resource and/or copyright

Virtual research services are available during regular library hours through our online chat service. Students may also contact staff with research questions through email, by phone or through online chat. For those who require more in-depth assistance, one-on-one consultations may be booked with your faculty liaison librarian.

See Contact Us, and Research Help for more details.

If students require any accommodations during their tutoring or academic integrity remediation sessions, they can make a request to their tutor or Academic Integrity Remediation Specialist. The Tutoring Centres may call upon additional resources or supports from AL if needed. All staff tutoring appointments must be booked online. All Peer Tutoring applications must be submitted online.

See Tutoring for types of tutoring, hours, and contact information.

Library staff can help you determine if a library database is accessible by using LEAP

What is LEAP?

  • LEAP is a self-audit tool that library staff at participating institutions use to evaluate the accessibility of library e-resources.
  • It provides a growing repository of accessibility assessment reports that library staff can review to help make acquisition decisions, support library users, and advocate for accessible eresources.
  • LEAP is a College Libraries Ontario (CLO) initiative that is supported by the Ontario Colleges Library Service (OCLS).
  • Completed database evaluations are entered into LEAP repository
  • Library staff can review the assessment reports to determine if a database is accessible
  • Contact your Library's LEAP lead Madeleine Crew if you have any questions about LEAP or want to view an assessment report.

    Contact Us

    To request an accommodation for library services and collections, or to learn more about accessible services at the Library, please contact:

    madeleine.crew@sheridancollege.ca