All Guides: Community and Justice Services: Find Sources

Find Sources

Welcome Community & Justice Services Students!

You can access a range of sources related your coursework on this guide. If you don't know where to start, try searching the recommended databases for books, articles, and videos. Check out the Research Help page to learn how to build database searches as well as the Citation Help page for APA Style support.

Search the Library

Abnormal Psychology (Print)

Crime in Canadian Context (Print)

Canadian Law (Print)

Canadian Corrections (Print)

Foundations of Criminal & Civil Law in Canada (Print)

Key Concepts in Crime & Society (eBook)

Poverty, Ethnicity, & Violent Crime (eBook)

What are Databases?

Video by Sheridan Library on YouTube.

Resources by Type

Search this database list for resources like encyclopedias, videos, and electronic journals:

Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new window
Proquest
U.S. and international criminal justice journals. Part of the ProQuest Central Collection.
Permitted Uses
Gale OneFile: Criminal Justice This link opens in a new window
Gale
Over 360 Journals covering U.S. and International corrections, forensics, criminal law and more.
Permitted Uses
Gale OneFile: Diversity Studies This link opens in a new window
Gale
Over 260 full-text journals focused on cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community.
Permitted Uses
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
EBSCO
Over 100 full-text journals covering the field of psychology.
Permitted Uses
Sage Publications Premier This link opens in a new window
Sage
Over 600 full-text SAGE journals covering business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine.
Permitted Uses
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
EBSCO
Over 860 full-text journals dating back to 1908, full-text for more than 850 books, as well as selected conference papers from the field of sociology.
Permitted Uses

CanLII: Canadian Legal Information Institute This link opens in a new window
Canadian federal and provincial legislation and cases.
Permitted Uses
E-Laws This link opens in a new window
Ontario Government
Ontario's statutes and regulations, both consolidated and source law. Permitted Uses
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
International law journals and key legal reference texts, such as Canada Supreme Court Reports, and Revised Statutes of Canada.
Permitted Uses
Lexis Advance Quicklaw This link opens in a new window
Access to Canadian legislation, court cases, tribunals, arbitration decisions, and legal journals. Funded by The Law Foundation of Ontario.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Contains over 15,000 news, legal and business sources. Coverage includes news and current events, government, business, medical, legal and general reference.
Permitted Uses

Canada Commons This link opens in a new window
Canadian Electronic Library
Canadian e-books, government documents, and grey literature, primarily on health, government, and public policy from Canadian Public Documents Collection. Includes the Canadian Public Policy Collection and the Canadian Health Research Collection.
Formerly called desLibris.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Proquest
Thousands of downloadable e-book titles covering a wide range of all academic disciplines. Includes the College Complete Collection, made available by the Colleges eBook Consortium Project.
Note: Use Firefox, Chrome or Safari. Edge is not supported by this database. Number of permitted users varies by title. Permitted Uses
EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
EBSCO
Over 250,000 ebooks. Multidisciplinary.
Note:Number of concurrent users varies by title. Download select titles for 3 days.Permitted Uses

Statista This link opens in a new window
Access to data from over 18,000 sources including industry reports, dossiers, and statistics, including Statistics Canada. Download images, PPT slides, Excel files and more.
Permitted Uses
Statistics Canada This link opens in a new window
Provides statistical information and analysis about Canada’s economic and social structure. Open to the public.
Permitted Uses

Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Proquest
Over 300 full-text Canadian newspapers from Canada's leading newspaper dailies, including The Globe and Mail, Toronto Star, and more. Part of the ProQuest Central Collection.
Permitted Uses
Global Breaking Newswires This link opens in a new window
ProQuest
A full-text news database, updated 3 times daily, with access the newswire content available globally, including: Dow Jones Industrial News and Canada Press. Part of the ProQuest Central Collection.
Permitted Uses
PressReader This link opens in a new window
Over 2,000 full-page, full color U.S. and international newspapers.
Please note:Globe & Mail content in PressReader is licensed for on-site access only.
Permitted Uses

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Infobase
Thousands of online videos, archival films and newsreels. Multidisciplinary. See the Films on Demand Guide for details and permitted uses.
Permitted Uses
LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new window
LinkedIn
Online training database containing access to thousands of high-quality instructional videos on a broad range of topics in the areas of computer software, business skills, design concepts, programming, photography, education, animation and more.
See LinkedIn Learning Guide for technical details.

Journal Spotlight

A select list of journals for the Community and Justice Services program are highlighted below. Refer to the eJournal Portal to browse these publications, as well as many others, by title, keyword, and topic.

Community and Justice Services

Librarian