Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Streaming Video Collections

About LinkedIn Learning

LinkedIn Learning (formerly known as Lynda.com) offers videos, courses and learning pathways in a wide range of subject areas including business, technology, design and software training. These "how-to" videos are short and easy to follow with step-by-step instructions. Topics include 3D animation, Business, Education, Developer, CAD, Marketing, Video and Photography, and more!

How do I?

Activate & sign into my Account

  1. From the Databases A-Z list, select LinkedIn Learning
  2. Optional step: connect your personal LinkedIn account. You only need to do this once.
    If you wish to skip this step select 'Continue without LinkedIn,' and sign in with your Sheridan Single-Sign On credentials.
    • If you wish to sign in with your personal LinkedIn account, select 'Connect my LinkedIn account', and enter your credentials
    • Sign in with your Sheridan Single-Sign On credentials
  3. Set up your account by adding your interests.

Link a Video In SLATE

  1. From the Databases A-Z list, select LinkedIn Learning
  2. Find the video you are interested in, by using keywords to search for your desired video
  3. Select the video in the results page
  4. Copy the URL in the address bar, and use the copied URL to add a link in your SLATE course page.
    • Note: When students access this link, they will be prompted with log in options. If students have linked their account then they will need to log in with their personal credentials and then their Sheridan Single-Sign On (SSO). If students have not linked their account then they will needs to select 'Sign In' at the top of the page, and select 'Sign in with your organization account' and sign in using their Sheridan SSO and password.

Share Custom Collections and Playlists

  1. From the Databases A-Z list, select LinkedIn Learning
  2. Find the video you are interested in, by using keywords to search for your desired video
  3. Select the video in the results page
  4. Select 'Create New Collection' and give your playlist a title and description.
  5. Using the search box, find videos you would like to add to the playlist. Once you have found your desired videos, select the bookmark icon and click on “Add to collection”
  6. Repeat from step two (2) to locate and add all videos to the playlist.
  7. To share the playlist in SLATE, navigate to the 'Me' dropdown menu and select 'Collections.' 
  8. Choose the playlist you want to share and select 'Share'. Then select who can see your collection using the 'Shared with' dropdown menu and select 'Sheridan College'. Copy the persistent link URL and add the link to your SLATE course page.

 

See LinkedIn Learning's How to Use LinkedIn Learning or LinkedIn Learning Quick Tips course for additional tips and tricks.

FAQ for Instructors

Can I add a video to SLATE?

Yes. You can link to the video using the link provided via LinkedIn Learning (directions above).

Can I stream this for my students while in class?

Yes. Streaming in a classroom setting is permitted.

Technical Requirements

Operating Systems: Windows 7+, MAC 10.5+
Browsers: Internet Explorer 11, Microsoft Edge, Mozilla Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera
Applications: Adobe Flash, Javascript

View the full list of system requirements.

Additional features:

  • Streaming only, content can be downloaded for offline viewing using the mobile app.
  • Off-campus access is permitted
  • Closed captioning available for some videos, upon request for others. Contact eresources@sheridancollege.ca.
  • Direct, permanent links to videos available
  • Mobile-friendly: iOS and Android apps available. For login details, please see our guide to Mobile Apps and Sites.