Find Sources

Welcome Investigation Students!

You can access a range of sources related your coursework on this guide. If you don't know where to start, try searching the recommended databases for books, articles, and videos. Check out the Research Help page to learn how to build database searches as well as the Citation Help page for APA Style support.

Find Print Books

The Elements of Private Investigation (Print)

Introduction to Private Investigation (eBook)

Transparent Lives: Surveillance in Canada (eBook)

Investigative Interviewing (eBook)

Canadian Law (Print)

Foundations of Criminal & Civil Law in Canada (Print)

Abnormal Psychology (Print)

Key Concepts in Crime & Society (eBook)

While most of our content is online, you may find it helpful to use print books, DVDs and reference works. Our printed materials are organized by call number (letters and numbers), which corresponds to a subject area. The call number can be found on the spine of the book. Browse these call number areas for relevant material:

HM 851 - Security measures - ethical issues.
HV 551.2-639 - Emergency management.
HV 6035-6250 - Criminal psychology and victimology.
HV 6690-6695 - Fraud prevention and investigation.
HV 7431 - Crime prevention methods.
KF 8968 - Financial fraud - forensic accounting.
QA 76.9 - Computer security and data protection.
TK 6680 - Video surveillance.
UB 250-271 - Intelligence.

How to Find Sources on Sheridan Library's Website

Video by Sheridan Library. Visit our YouTube channel to review more tutorials.

List of Databases

Search for resources like encyclopedias, videos, and electronic journals using our alphabetical list of databases:

Access databases with legislation and cases:

CanLII: Canadian Legal Information Institute This link opens in a new window
Canadian federal and provincial legislation and cases.
Permitted Uses
E-Laws This link opens in a new window
Ontario Government
Ontario's statutes and regulations, both consolidated and source law. Permitted Uses
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
International law journals and key legal reference texts, such as Canada Supreme Court Reports, and Revised Statutes of Canada.
Permitted Uses
Lexis Advance Quicklaw This link opens in a new window
Access to Canadian legislation, court cases, tribunals, arbitration decisions, and legal journals. Funded by The Law Foundation of Ontario.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Contains over 15,000 news, legal and business sources. Coverage includes news and current events, government, business, medical, legal and general reference.
Permitted Uses

Access electronic journals:

Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new window
Proquest
U.S. and international criminal justice journals. Part of the ProQuest Central Collection.
Permitted Uses
Gale OneFile: Criminal Justice This link opens in a new window
Gale
Over 360 Journals covering U.S. and International corrections, forensics, criminal law and more.
Permitted Uses
Gale OneFile: Military and Intelligence This link opens in a new window
Gale
More then 600 full-text journals, magazines and reports covering all aspects of past and present military affairs.
Permitted Uses
Gale OneFile: War and Terrorism This link opens in a new window
Gale
Over 200 full-text journals and magazines covering history, social science and current events.
Permitted Uses
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
EBSCO
Over 100 full-text journals covering the field of psychology.
Permitted Uses
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
EBSCO
Over 860 full-text journals dating back to 1908, full-text for more than 850 books, as well as selected conference papers from the field of sociology.
Permitted Uses

Access electronic book collections:

Canada Commons This link opens in a new window
Canadian Electronic Library
Canadian e-books, government documents, and grey literature, primarily on health, government, and public policy from Canadian Public Documents Collection. Includes the Canadian Public Policy Collection and the Canadian Health Research Collection.
Formerly called desLibris.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Proquest
Thousands of downloadable e-book titles covering a wide range of all academic disciplines. Includes the College Complete Collection, made available by the Colleges eBook Consortium Project.
Note: Use Firefox, Chrome or Safari. Edge is not supported by this database. Number of permitted users varies by title. Permitted Uses
EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
EBSCO
Over 250,000 ebooks. Multidisciplinary.
Note:Number of concurrent users varies by title. Download select titles for 3 days.Permitted Uses

Access databases with statistics:

Statista This link opens in a new window
Access to data from over 18,000 sources including industry reports, dossiers, and statistics, including Statistics Canada. Download images, PPT slides, Excel files and more.
Permitted Uses
Statistics Canada This link opens in a new window
Provides statistical information and analysis about Canada’s economic and social structure. Open to the public.
Permitted Uses

Access newspaper collections:

Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Proquest
Over 300 full-text Canadian newspapers from Canada's leading newspaper dailies, including The Globe and Mail, Toronto Star, and more. Part of the ProQuest Central Collection.
Permitted Uses
Global Breaking Newswires This link opens in a new window
ProQuest
A full-text news database, updated 3 times daily, with access the newswire content available globally, including: Dow Jones Industrial News and Canada Press. Part of the ProQuest Central Collection.
Permitted Uses
PressReader This link opens in a new window
Over 2,000 full-page, full color U.S. and international newspapers.
Please note:Globe & Mail content in PressReader is licensed for on-site access only.
Permitted Uses

Journal Spotlight

Use the eJournal Portal to browse for journals by title, keyword, and topic. Get started on your research paper with the following journals:

More Guides

Looking for other resources? Review these additional guides for sources on related topics:

Investigation - Public and Private

Librarian