The following articles provide practical tips on how to create AI-resistant assessments.
Baird, M., & Clare, J. (2017). Removing the opportunity for contract cheating in business capstones: A crime prevention case study. International Journal for Educational Integrity, 13(6), 1-15. DOI: https://doi.org/10.1007/s40979-017-0018-1
A fascinating case study of reformulating a business capstone project. There was an extremely high rate of contract cheating in this capstone. After reformulation of the capstone project, the rate of cheating dropped dramatically. The project was designed to be resistant to contract cheating, but their suggestions also apply to AI use.
Birks, D., & Clare, J. (2023). Linking artificial intelligence facilitated academic misconduct to existing prevention frameworks. International Journal for Educational Integrity, 19(1), 10–20. https://doi.org/10.1007/s40979-023-00142-3
Provides a comprehensive list of suggestions on how to prevent and detect unauthorized use of AI before, during, and after assessment.
This list of suggestions is in chart form on p. 7.
Bearman, M., Dawson, P., O’Donnell, M., Tai, J. and Jorre de St Jorre, T. (2020) Ensuring academic integrity and assessment security with redesigned online delivery. Deakin University, Melbourne.
Useful flowcharts on p. 7 and p. 8 on how to redesign take-home exams to ensure academic integrity.
On p. 8 and p. 9 the authors present a way to reformulate multiple-choice questions to make them more secure.
Hodges, C.B., Kirschner, P.A. (2024). Innovation of instructional design and assessment in the age of generative artificial intelligence. TechTrends, 68, p. 195-199.
Provides a list of suggestions to harden assessments against AI use on p. 197-199.
Logan, D., & Sotiriadou, P. (2020, March). Interactive oral assessments: A viable solution to mitigate potential reverse effects of global threats to the higher education sector. Griffith University. Interactive Oral Assessment Resource.
Provides useful resources on how to set up and run interactive oral exams.
Provides a timeline of actions to create and run interactive orals.
Provides hints and tips to scale up interactive orals for larger classes.
Mulder, R., Baik, C., and Ryan, T. (2023, July). Rethinking assessment in response to AI. Melbourne Centre for the Study of Higher Education. The University of Melbourne. https://melbourne-cshe.unimelb.edu.au/__data/assets/pdf_file/0004/4712062/Assessment-Guide_Web_Final.pdf
Provides 7 practical strategies to harden assessments against AI.
Provides illustrative case studies of how courses have AI-resistant assessments.
Provides templates on assignment design that can be used at Sheridan.